Bias Check: EXO Edition

4 26

While I can’t think of ideas what to publish next, I thought of posting something fun. I have mentioned many times in my past articles that I am a Kpop fan – a big fan, to be exact. 🤣 And now that I have recently stanned a new boy group, it feels like I have a growing family (figuratively speaking). 🥺

So here, let me introduce to you my Kpop boys! 🥳 I will post one article per group and start from the very first group that I stanned up to the most recent. But I will focus mainly on my bias/es (as in your favorite member) for each group, and the reasons why they are my favorite.

Just a side note: Having a “bias” is common in Kpop world, though we love all the members equally. ^^ Most kpop fans have a bias of their own, but there are also those who are “OT stans” as we call them, which means they bias all the members of the group, or in short, they can’t choose a bias.

Without further ado, let me start!

EXO

EXO is the very first Kpop group that I stanned, they are my first love in my “fangirling” journey. I started to stan them way back 2015 when our classroom was dominated by Kpop songs that time and most of my friends are Kpop fans themselves. To make it short, I was influenced by them, but in a good way!

EXO was originally consisted of 12 members but three already left for reasons I will not disclose here, so they are 9 members now: Suho, Xiumin, Lay, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, Chen, D.O, Kai, and Sehun – though only 8 of them were actively promoting in Korea because Lay is Chinese and he can’t stay in Korea for political reasons. Their fans are called EXO-Ls because there were two units before: the EXO-K (Korean) and EXO-M (Mandarin or Chinese), so in the middle is EXO-L but I think it is also a shortened term for EXO-Lovers. Some of them have debuted as soloists also and some form a sub-unit. Lay is actively promoting in China as an actor, model, and singer and he have released albums as a soloist.

This group also have gone through a lot especially when three members left from their original line up. Many fans, especially those who bias the three, left the fandom and stopped supporting them. They had to face the criticism of the public, and there was one time Suho, their leader, had to get one of their music show wins alone, because that's when the first member left and they can't face the public with such news. So he had to go there and perform only by himself. 🥺 They were also robbed of an award at a famous music awards show in Korea, aside from the poor treatment they received that night. They stopped attending the said award show after that. Given they are my first love, they're my first heartbreak as well. I never imagined any member would leave the group; they did not leave altogether even, they left one by one. That's the reason why I took a rest from fangirling for two years and I went back again on 2018, which is also the year I started "stanning" the boy group that would be in my next article.

As of now, three members are fulfilling their mandatory military service, three are already discharged and two more will be enlisting soon.

Bias: Chanyeol

Let’s now talk about my bias, his real name is Park Chanyeol and he is the main rapper of the group. I was still young back then and he was the member that I noticed in one of their music videos and I grew fond of him since then. I started to find him on other music videos then eventually looking for fun facts about him on the internet. He’s one of the loudest members of the group and they are called the “beagle line”. One of his nicknames is “Happy Virus” because he always wants to spread happiness. For me, he is the most talented member because he can play a lot of instruments like guitar, bass guitar, drums, piano, etc. He also played part in writing and composing some of their songs. He is also an actor and a model. And oh, he is one competitive man! But that’s only when it comes to games and such. He is a humble and precious human being. He has two dogs (Toben and Zzar) and has a Youtube channel (Studio NNG) where his produced songs are released, and where his vlogs are uploaded every 27th of the month as a gift to fans because he is currently in military service. Just a random fun fact, for his birthday events in the past, he gifted the fans with bracelets he personally made himself and also with perfume that he is endorsing. I miss him! 🤧 But he will be discharged later this year and we all can't wait. ^^


That's it for my first article in my Bias Check series. LOL.

Will post part two of this tomorrow for BTS, and the coming days would be for NCT, EHYPEN, and SEVENTEEN. I didn’t expect it to be this long. 😭 But thank you for reading until the end! I hope you tune in for part 2! ^^

-glossyberrycraze

5
$ 2.54
$ 2.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kushina
$ 0.01 from @SilverBack
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I'm not an EXO-L but I listen to their songs. They have many good songs in their discography

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He is familiar, did he star in a chinese series? Like the title is I marry an Antifan? I am familiar with Exo but not the members. I am a BTS army and I think they are friends with them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes he was in that movie po hehe. I am an ARMY too! BTS would be in my next article tomorrow. 😊 And I agree that they are friends, though the fandoms of both are not haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Army!! My bias is Jungkook, Bias wrecker is Suga, Bias wrecker wrecker is Jimin!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago