Youth versus the maturity of the years.

31 58
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

It cannot be said that over time we do not change. We change for many reasons, we change because life gives us experience and experience makes us see things from other angles, angles that were imperceptible to our eyes because we had not experienced anything like it.

This means that many of our responses to our environment are rooted in our previous experiences. That is why we often change our minds about unknown subjects but we had our point of view even without having our own experiences.

We change because we grow older. The tranquility of age makes us see in more detail what is going on around us, our speed of movement changes and our gaze is now not only to the front but also to the sides. We see the experiences of others and we think that we can also live those experiences.

from unsplash

Because when we are young we are impetuous, vigorous and we think that nothing can happen to us until it happens, we are called young rebels because we like adventure... and it’s my adventure what I want to talk about today.

When I was young I was very adventurous, back when I was 16 years old. I wanted everything in my life and I told myself that I could achieve anything if I put my mind to it.

When I bought my first car at the age of 20, the other part of my adventurous spirit began. I drove everywhere, all you had to do was tell me where to go and off I went. My mind did not take into account the possible accidents that every moment of existence brings. My gaze was fixed on my destination and the consequent victory of the event.

The first time I traveled alone by road, and I did it alone, I drove to the capital of my country, there I would meet a friend who would help me work out the details of my stay in that city.

I traveled for 3 hours, on a road that was busy with all kinds of cargo vehicles, urban transport, anything you can imagine that can be found on a national road and then on a highway. I drove like a person who had mastered the art of driving and my reflexes were good, my speed was always over the limit, my vehicle had a speed limit of 140km per hour and I always exceeded it.

Then I went driving further afield, the city just beyond the capital allowed me to travel for two more hours and so I did, a 5 hour drive because I was trying to get into a university for 4 years and I never got an in. It was too many trips, by myself and with my music. I love to sing, even though I don't have a good voice and I sang the whole trip I even whistled complete melodies.

I traveled alone to other destinations and as a last resort to study at the university.  I drove for about 18 hours on the road. I didn't know the way, but a friend or rather, the father of a friend, described where I should go until I reached the Venezuelan Andes.

As I have pointed out before, I smoked. So during my travels I only smoked and stopped for gas and coffee, I didn’t like to eat on the roads.

And so I traveled my country, many states, traveling alone from one side to the other. On a few occasions I had accidents, but with God's grace they were never serious accidents.

I learned to correct certain defects in my vehicle, to recognize sounds of malfunctions. I learned to change a rubber tire, I learned to check my battery to see if the fault was due to sulfated cables, I learned to check the oils in the gearbox and engine. I learned that every time I took my car out of a car wash he would choke, or it wouldn’t turn on because of the water that could get into the engine after a bad job by the engine washers, this happened to me many times. The car doesn’t respond to the ignition, no matter how hard I try it makes a sound as if to try starting and it cannot. It's what we call engine choke here, I learned to be patient and wait.

I learned to put water in the radiator when smoke came out of the car, wait for it to cool down and then put the bottle of water I always kept for these cases.

I learned to check the oil level of the vehicle since it was always consuming a lot of oil and I had to have several containers of oil to put in when I was far from an oil supply.

My boldness made me learn everything I could to be able to travel wherever I wanted. Once it was already 10 pm and I was driving almost an hour away from the city where I would stay.  It so happened that there were no lights on a long stretch of the national highway, I didn't see the signs and went the wrong way. Instead of taking the right side of the road, I took the left. But as I started to climb I realized that I had made a mistake and was taking the downhill track of some road. Everything was very dark and I braked quickly to back up, before a vehicle met me in front on its normal track.

But when I braked suddenly the car turned off. My God... I got out quickly, asking God for help in that darkness. Thinking about the battery terminals, I quickly went to look for the wiper, a small device with a hole in it where it has many soft but sharp irons that when turning on the terminal scrapes it and cleans it, I opened the hood of the car, removed the cables of the battery and I passed them the raspaborne very quickly. I put the cables back on and immediately the lights came on, I realized that the car would start and it did.

I closed the hood of the car, and quickly backed the car out of the lane until I got back on the lane I should have taken and continued on my journey.

And this is just one of many accidents that I experienced and solved in my travels alone on the roads of my country, in times when it was possible to travel, because now it’s not advisable either to travel alone during the day or to travel accompanied at night. Those were other times.

But what I want to point out is that from my 20s until I was about 40 years old, the world was for the daring, for me, I could do anything! They were fast activities, what I couldn’t solve, for me was a stressful moment but I put all my strength into everything.

Now I see things from a different angle. I no longer have that boldness, now I think more about things before I do them. I take on challenges but I try to control the variables, something I didn't do before.

from unsplash

And that is why I allow myself to say that the experience we achieve in life makes us change our way of seeing, feeling and doing what was different before.

I look back and I see my life go by as fast as the pages of a movie, one after another, so fast and the years make you slow down. Now I have a mind that, although it works all day long, it slows down, it looks at things better. I'm still the disciplined woman with my chores and my schedule. I am never late unless… I never keep my patients waiting for hours to be seen unless...I never stop to make a fuss unless....

I was a very daring woman in my life and maybe that is why even in my 60's I work Monday to Monday, I am happy, I am at peace, and I keep going but in slow mode.

Many thanks to all of you my beautiful readers and sponsors of read.cash, I love you all!

15
$ 19.39
$ 18.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.06 from @CoquiCoin
+ 14
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I loved this article, friend. Those were other times. I also used to travel by road, usually with a friend, but it was me who was always driving. I went to Merida, Los Llanos, Puerto La Cruz so many times. And I was daring, I didn't care about the time or the distance. Now that is impossible. And of course, age has made me more cautious. I think the turning point to be more cautious was the birth of my son.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I believe that my adventurous spirit has not diminished. Circumstances are different and now I don't have a car. But I am planning to buy one. I want to show my son the places I have visited. But now I have to wait for this whole environment to change.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you can do it, friend. Right now one of the biggest obstacles is the issue of shortage of fuel. But let's not lose hope for better times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's what I mean. I'm not giving up hope. It's hard for me to think about giving up and leaving my country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got to have an amazing memories. And truly, maturity allows us to look at the other angles of life. And good thing, you got to experience such things before hitting the maturity in life. An experience to remember.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are so many experiences that we gain in life that make us reflect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brilliant , good idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! You have lived your life to the fullest I believe. I love those adventures, driving long hours and far was amazing. Amazing memories!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, they are, my friend. Lots of amazing memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh My G, you are just so brave and independent. I can't ever be like that even if I want to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh no, of course you can. We can all be what we want to be. That's what being bold is all about. Having something in mind and then going for it. Without fear. You have a very productive mind. You can dream the impossible and you will achieve it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are indeed a bold young woman back then :) And I think it is good to be so independent because we tend to see things differently and we don't feel afraid when things go sideways. And perhaps now, you wonder where did all those boldness come from :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. That's what I want to say now, from the stillness of my current life. There was a lot of adrenaline in me, in those days. Now it's time to remember and to be amazed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I can relate somehow :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're alike me. Sometimes i went unknown places for finding myself or you could say rethinking my life. And yeah our life realizing everything gradually when we are about to become adult.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And because of that adventurous spirit, your life is never dull, and you have a chest-load of memories to look back to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. There are many stories in my saved brain file. The stories never end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the experiences that build who we are right now. As of now I'm still a young gathering a lot of experience t become wiser in life. How I wish to have a car too and travel anywhere I want I will buy one or two not now but soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can make it. Put that in your mind. And work hard to achieve those desires in your mind. Nothing is impossible if you fight for it. I wish you success in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish to have a car and travel to different places too. You've been so independent at a young age.. i admire you

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I had no choice my friend Jane. We went through so much hardship in my family group that I had to take responsibility for my life very quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll tell you a secret, I don't know how to drive, I have a car but I don't drive. I did it as an investment, I admire you for having made that trip alone on that busy road. That's how young people are, I also lived many experiences that made me mature and become a better person.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The memory makes me see how daring she was and I didn't see the danger. Too bad you don't drive. I love to drive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing comes in hand with learning. We become better judges of our environment and situations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was amazing mam,😍at the young age you already had your own car .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as life continues, every teaching becomes an experience for us, there is a lot to learn and experience, as long as everything goes well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was younger, I didn't really like doing those crazy things, like the ones you show in the photo. I only think I have jumped into a river from a very high altitude, but only once. I realized that for these crazy things, it could cost you your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experience has always being the best teacher. Just take a look at the old and the aged people, the level of wisdom that emanates from their heads are as a result of their huge experiences they have acquired over time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very well said my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago