Why do we lie?

35 68
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Why we feel so attracted to tell lies? Lies are a type of tool we use every day to free ourselves from responsibility, while it is true that we all lie, it does not mean that it is a good decision to choose to lie instead of speaking the truth.

Many times, we are tempted to speak lies to cover up our inabilities or irresponsibilities in life. Being late for an appointment, failing to fulfill a responsibility, having to tell a lie in the face of someone's questions in order to know the truth.

For Christians, lying is a sin. It’s one of the commandments of the law, not to lie. There are no exceptions to get rid of the sin, there are no small exceptions that say you can only lie when you are justified or when you tell a lie that we call pious for our convenience. No, the commandment says you shall not lie.

There are no ways to get out of having to tell the truth and yet in the face of this great truth of the commandment we dare to lie on a daily basis. We dare to find ways to justify ourselves to tell lies.

It’s part of being human to lie, but in some it is a disease. Yes, Mythomania is the act of lying in such a way that the person lives in their world of lies as if it were real. They feel the need to lie compulsively.

Is lying necessary? No, it is not necessary. Telling the truth is the thing that leaves the best sensation in the body because at the very moment you tell the lie, the body already begins to feel the weight of consciousness. So why don't we take it back at that very moment and tell the truth?

From unsplash

Because we have pride, to say that we lie is like lowering ourselves to an inferior level and we do not expect to do such a thing because there is nothing better than the feeling of being superior to others. Feeling that we have the power, the power to lie, to win, to have superiority over others.

We do not realize that the lie has short legs and that at any moment the truth has more weight and comes to light. That is when we are discovered and we look like liars.

There are so many ways to lie, when we promise something and we don't deliver, we lie, when we say we will do a task and we don't do it, we lie, when we make an appointment with someone and leave them waiting, we lie, when we say we have an award or recognition and it is someone else who won it but that makes us feel better with others, we lie.

It’s a feeling of momentary gain to lie. Why then the weight that the lie itself brings to our body is worse than having told the truth.

I know mythomaniacs that throughout my existence have passed through my life. They have even been my friends and I have realized that lying is part of their superficial life and the worst thing is that as it is a disease, they cannot get out of it and they weave a kind of spider's web that they do not know how to untangle, until it falls under the weight of the truth.

I think we must get out of the habit of telling lies, with words that tell a truth that does not hurt but that in the end is the truth.

Sometimes people come to my house at times when I am practicing something important to me, to the point that I tell my son that if someone calls me tell them the truth without lies.

He does NOT have to say that I am asleep or that I am not there, neither should he say what I am really doing, he should only say in good words that I am not available to receive him and that I am excused.

Sometimes people come to my house to ask for information and I am taking a bath. I tell my son that people do not have to know that I am in the bathroom, they should just say that I am very busy and I cannot go out to greet them.

These are ways of excusing myself that are not lies. The lie hurts more than the truth and I always told my son that I may resent a truth but, in the end, I appreciate him telling it to me but under no aspect do I accept to find out that my son lied to me to save the moment.

Maybe he does but I don't find out. I try as much as I can not to break my word to him and not to lie, nor teach him how to do it.

The lie I told my son was that St. Nicholas was real and to this day he admits that this is his biggest disappointment with me. I couldn't help it at the time and I didn't know the significance of my lie, but I should have told him that I was bringing him the presents on behalf of Santa. It would have saved me those tears I made him shed.

There is no justification for lying.

I am @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world

22
$ 4.44
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
+ 19
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Lies are often done to cover themselves from reality.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is one of the truths.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since I was a kid, I grew up with many lies. Like the existence of Santa Claus, you need to sleep always so that you will quickly grow up into a great adult and so on. I think there are reasons why lies exist but depends on the intentions especially if we really deserve to know the truth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lying is never necessary, only we make it part of our life to save the moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have so many reasons why we lie, but as much as possible. We have to be honest or twists some truth to escape lies. I don't know if it happens to you, that you twist the truth?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wouldn't say twisting the truth, but it has happened to me that when someone comes to my house to ask for something that I have in scarce form and that I will use at that moment I can't tell them that I don't have it because I would be lying. The only thing I can think of to say is. "right now I don't have that product to share." It's not a lie because I need it to make a meal and it's the only amount I have left, like sugar, milk, coffee. It has happened to me, I don't lie to them but I also don't tell them that I am about to use it at that moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even white lies are bad as well.. Even if it will save our ass, the word lie is still a negative one 😅..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, a lie is a lie, good, pious, small, white or whatever we want to call it. The commandment is "thou shalt not lie".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we lie because we want to protect someone either ourselves or others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We lie because we don't mind offending God but we do mind not offending man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I laugh at the last part hahaha. Lies are our temporary saviour but they destroy us later on. As much as possible I try to tell the truth no matter how it hurts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is what we should all do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not good to lie, when a Liar lies he/she is saved from the moment, but definite committed sin against God. And God says he will Judge every liar, so it's good we always the truth no matter how tough the situation is.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it is what in theory we should do, but why is it easier for us to be at enmity with God than with man?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People tell lies to feed their pride and are afraid to be left behind in a corner, sometimes I tell lies for some reason or there are things and situations that I need to cover up for the sake of others.but I know lies is not a good thing we should talk honestly and with sincerity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We find it easier to lie than to tell the truth, that's true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once having a big lies because I really need to it.Anyway ,thanks for this maam I got an idea what for my topic now 😅I will share some lies I made

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think it's great, please tag me to read you. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People have normalized lies like it's nothing and they do it without feeling guilty cause they feel like everyone does it every day too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, they make lies their truth. I can't allow it in my life, I don't tolerate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There really is no justification for lying, and I have always tried to stay o the path of truth-telling every time, We have painted lies white to make us feel better whenever we tell it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we fill ourselves with lies in order to feel better about telling them, and we sink deeper and deeper into them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lie is a very big disease that one can't get out of. The moment we lie to cover up something, we end up adding more lie to it until it becomes one with us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lies are always an enemy to which we easily ally ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's is true ma'am. Alliance with lie drain us quickly in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every human beings lie to save themselves but the truth is, lie is a lie whether a small or big one. When we lie, our consciousness sends the signal that would hit us and if we don't do anything to get out of the lies, we would be ashamed if the truth eventually leaks out.

I had to lie to my Aunt a few weeks ago as I thought I would save myself out of the issue but I couldn't rest. I was thinking and blaming myself for doing that when I could have just said the truth but I had to cover up the lies with another lie just to clear the first one away. But I still lied though.

We just need to approach things with the truth because no one will hold us because of that but we humans are only scared of the aftermath when we say the truth. May God help us all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, God help us because we are terrible sinners.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lying is forbidden by our religion but still sometime we do this sin knowingly. But lying is always an worst decision in life. We should try to be truthful in everything in our life. Truth always brings happiness and blessings in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To tell lie is a big sin in our religion as well. We should not take support from lier. We should speak truth as truth is reliever and lie is a sinner.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It will always be a sin in any form.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I lie to calm a particular situation from growing wild, deep down me I know very well that such life isn't good enough for me. But I have no other choice than to lie.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are always options to tell the truth, we just choose what is easiest for us so we don't get into trouble right away. The problem comes later when it is discovered. It is one more sin that falls on us besides the problem when the truth is discovered.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes lying is simply necessary to save ourselves from trouble.

There's lying and there's bending the truth!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We are saved by a lie of man but indebted to God.

$ 0.00
1 year ago