Thinking about the past in a present situation.

29 71
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

There are many situations in life that you have to experience to feel what it means, one of the things that I’m realizing is the fact that our mind over the years remains more or less stable. I mean that the mind undergoes just a few changes that can be minimized with some exercises but the body… that's the problem.

As the years go by, the activities that we can maintain become less, our mind tells us that we can do it but our body comes to a time reminds you that you can’t. He tells you in different ways that he cannot bear to do this activity anymore.

From unsplash.

As the years go by, our physical body asks for routine changes, because it begins to establish limits even if our mind does not accept it.

This week has been very hard for my body even though my mind doesn't accept it. I worked for many years giving my 100% in patient care, now I have a very special situation because my brother is very ill with pneumonia and, in addition, his asthma doesn’t allow him to improve as fast as I would like.

He is the only brother that remains for me both alive and here in my country, so I assumed his care as a patient. It has been a very hard week, little by little my body has become dull. I do the same thing every day but at night when I return home I realize that my exhaustion is both physical and mental.

I get to his house in the morning, I leave my house at 10:30 a.m. and start working with him at 11:30 a.m. giving him an injection in his gluteus, then he has to help him with his respiratory physiotherapy and measure his oxygen saturation level, which ranges from 80 to 90 rpm.

At night he had to prepare two antibiotics, a third generation cephalosporin and a broad spectrum quinolone, both intravenously so it was a very important procedure and with all its aseptic and antiseptic maneuvers. There were no problems for this treatment which was completed in two hours.

 In addition, he had to comply with the anti-COVID protocol, since here any respiratory pathology is treated as COVID… even if the preliminary results are negative for it.

Every day the same task for 7 days, today is my last day with the administration of the treatment but my body no longer wants to respond to the routine. I can't wake up like before, I went to bed last night at 12 at night and at 10 am I managed to wake up and that never happened to me. I generally wake up at 3am or 5am at the latest on some very extreme occasions at 7am.

I can only think that now I respect more the memory of my mother when she spoke of her past. She went back to that time and lived it in her memory as we all do. I never thought about this detail while she was remembering and narrating it. Now when I recall my times when I was running in an emergency in the hospitals where I worked, I don't know how I could have so much energy to work for 72 hours straight and barely sleep 3 hours during each night shift.

If we could have the experience that we have when we are older and not wait to live it to realize so many things that happen in the body.

My mind plays many tricks on me. Sometimes I think I can still do things that my body can't tolerate anymore and just when I'm doing it I realize I won't be able to. Sometimes my mind thinks that I can climb a tree to take a fruit because when I was young I did it many times. I even climbed a bit and then asked myself during the fact ...what am I doing? How can I get down now? And I think of the kittens we see in rescues, they go up to the top and then they think about how to get down and that's how it happened to me.

And I comment on this because it’s the same thing that happens to me now with direct attention to my brother. I don’t doubt that on another occasion I will help, it was always like that with the illnesses of my family, I always took care of them, my parents, my brothers, my son. But my mind is already on the memory that I always did it but my body was left behind in the process. I no longer have enough physical strength to endure the effort.

Today I am here writing my experience and feeling that my body is exhausted. I hope my brother continues to improve now that the critical phase has passed. He still has severe shortness of breath but is recovering. There are still a few days to receive therapies but he no longer needs intravenous medication, now comes his respiratory physiotherapy and oral treatment.

11
$ 7.44
$ 5.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.60 from @oivas
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
+ 7
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

How is your brother now though? Has he been healthier? And i do think the lack of movement does affect your endurance. Maybe if you can get around more, your body would adjust to it too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I made a mistake and posted the answer as my own comment. please read it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My brother is doing great. He is back to work and taking care not to relapse. I am fine. I am more eager to write my experiences now. My physical body is already exhausted by all the effort between my 60 years of living and working, but my mind is too active to go with my body, hahaha. The pandemic is keeping me cooped up at home more and the 2 or 3 hour walks I used to do are now only half hour walks. (for @hanzell.)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you can try to stretch a bit at home to keep your body going? It's great that your brother is all better now. I think your active mind is meant to stay here to write articles now 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also believe so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Take care and stay healthy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try whenever I can and am doing it now. Thank you for your upvote, I am very excited that you are visiting my publications, thank you very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read this yours article some time ago

https://read.cash/@gertu13/how-my-coin-collection-started-821fdce7

and bookmarked it. Since then I wanted to write an article about my coins, but never got around to it. But I forgot to subscribe to you, so I missed many of your articles. Today I read something after the fact. In coming days I will continue to read. I like your articles very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, yes, yes, I remember that message you left me about my coins I even replied that I had other coins and I would share them later but I never saw it again. I believe that I affiliated it from that moment. Thank you for your words in saying that you like my articles, honor that you do me. I am a fond of writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome back dear and I am glad to read your brother is recovering. It takes a toll to care for someone and especially when we are not 100% well ourselves. We do what we can and remember to rest too dear and to take good care. Only when we are well that we can care for our loved ones. Sending hugs and love to you, your son and your brother.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Hello my friend. Thanks for coming. You know friend?... What happens is that I always did it that way, I mean I always treat my patients as I would like them to treat me. A long time ago I could go up to a month without becoming so weak but the years have passed and my strength is exhausted. That's why I was so tired. I had a week coming and going. The doctor already evaluated my brother again and left him another treatment but in tablets. I am happy because my care paid off and my brother will be with us for another time, God permitting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life brings a small packet of the gift at every moment of our life. But as you know gift always brings love, happiness, the gift from life contains all kinda emotions, all kinds of hardships agony, but to brings happiness, blissful moments. In this circle of life how worst it happens, we must go on and on. This is the law of life.

Glad to have you back.......

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this article resonates with me. i've been thinking a lot about our perspective on ourselves and what it means for our capabilities. i'm glad to know that you could help your brother, please also take care of yourself. sit with your plants or your cat and relax, but i'm sure you know this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, you touched my heart with your words. Thanks for those beautiful words. Of course I know how to relax but if someone tells me that way, my heart cries with emotion. God bless you and prosper you in all your projects.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Glad to have you back.... Please take care.... Extra care....♾️🕉️♾️

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I do it, I take care of myself here, I'm already resting writing what I like and sharing with all of you. It is simply wonderful!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Another last one ...writing is good therapy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it's true, writing is great and I found out not long ago. I started out making some garden items and look where I am hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should start a business together 😏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't forget to take care of yourself too. Our body will automatically remind us that we need to rest. I am giving you 50% of what @morning_star tips me which comes from the good karma community by @TruSuccessXpert

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, thanks for the advice. Today I began to rest. In fact, I already removed all the artifacts that were attached to his body from my brother to receive the treatment through the vein. He is already much better and I am at home writing again. Thank you for sharing your good Karma with me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome. May you have a wonderful rest and hope that your brother will get much better soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, in fact he started walking again today without difficulty breathing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is good news. I am glad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi @gertu13, I am forwarding you the goodwill of Good Karma in the form of 0.55$ tip, that you can pass on further. Let the goodwill reach more and more people and thank you for passing the torch to me the last time. Thank you!

And spread the BCH to more people. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you friend for sharing your good Karma with me. I will go for more people to share.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It seems like a need for relaxation and calming the mind

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's it. Strees are physically and mentally exhausting. But he is already recovering and I am back to my writing. This is relaxing and clearing my mind hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago