The star of my dream.

37 71
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Years ago, many years ago here was a girl who liked to dream. She would curl up at night, very close to the oil lamp and stand on her terrace looking up at the sky. She counted the stars. She knew their names, each of them… or so she said, because those names were the ones she herself gave them.

Mia was a lonely child. She lived in the forest with her grandmother, her parents couldn't take care of her, so as a baby they talked to her grandmother and asked her to look after her for a while. While they somehow settled in the village and tried to get a better standard of living.

From unsplash.

This never came to be however, because one day, once they were deep in slumber and very tired, an accident happened in their home and they could no longer wake up, they were now gone.

The morning after, the grandmother was told that her daughter and husband had died, so it was then that she took on the responsibility of raising Mia.

They loved each other very much. Mia couldn’t go to school very often, she had to help her grandmother with chores, milking cows, collecting eggs from the chickens and other chores that came up.

Mia was a very cooperative child. She was only 9 years old and the only thing she loved more than the stars was her grandmother.

One day while she was looking at the stars from her room she noticed that one of the stars came out of its place, it was the one she called Carina... she came down from the sky.

What happened? Why was Carina gone? Who would take her place now? ...And with these questions Mia turned off her lamp and fell asleep.

Very early in the morning, so early that the sun still had not come out, Mia woke up and as usual she went to the stable to see her cow Maria and milk her. But something was going on and the cow was so very nervous that she wouldn’t Mia milk her. 

That's when Mia noticed two little feet sticking out of the lump of straw right next to Maria, cautiously Mia approached the spot and saw how a naked girl, with skin whiter than cream, had fallen asleep in the straw.

Mia moved even closer and called out to her... To which the girl woke up and was frightened, covering herself with the straw and shivering from the cold.

Mia tries to reassure her, so that she’s not afraid.

She takes off her coat, putting it on the girl and asks her what her name is.

“What’s your name, why are you out here all alone?”

“I don't have a name, but you can call me Carina.”

"What? What do you mean you don’t have one? We all have names..." said Mia.

And so they began to a series of questions and answers to each other, while Mia thought they could go to the river to see the plants and flowers, continue walking and enjoy the forest. Carina agreed.

It all seemed so strange to Carina, so many trees, so many flowers, scents, sensations. She was completely enraptured by the exuberance of the place. Already tired of the walk. Mia asked her where she was from, but Carina just shrugged her shoulders and said she didn't know. She just remembered that she fell asleep very early and when she woke up she was there looking at Mia in that cold place.

From unsplash

Mia couldn't understand how a girl almost her own age could be in the woods and not remember anything about her life, but that didn't stop her from playing.

They spent the whole day like that and when the sunset came Carina told Mia that she had to leave.

Mia was saddened and told her that she had no friends. Only the stars accompanied her at night, to which Carina replied that she did have many friends and at night they all gathered in the same place to have a good time.  She then added:

"When you feel sad just look up to the sky and call me! I will be there to listen to you."

And Carina ran away. While Mia eventually realized that she was running without even knowing the place she decided to go after her, but her bad luck had her falling to the ground.

It was then that she fell of her bed and realized that she was asleep all along. It was already morning and the stars were no longer visible in the sky. An smiling Mia realized that she had dreamed of the lost star, with the little star Carina that the night before was lost in the sky. Smiling, she went about her daily activities.

Meanwhile, in the sky a star was rearranging itself in the group again. Carina, the lost star, would shine her light in the sky again that night for Mia.

Many thanks to all my dear readers and to all my sponsors.

With a special recognition to my new sponsor @Diana and to my dear @Bloghound for greatly renewing their sponsorship.

22
$ 16.63
$ 15.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

quite heartbreaking but still loves the bonding between Mia and Carina.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It has a background. She has no friends but she can get them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola Gertu, como estas, te escribi en el discord, por fiss cuando puedas me escribes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not in any discord. I have never liked them. Nor do I know where it is. Hehehehe. Pardon me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings Such an interesting story of Carina and Mia. So creative...❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely story, my friend! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an interesting story. I wished Carina could be Mia's friend who they could always play and gist together. Mia is always lonely and needs a friend but it's a pity Carina was the star up in the sky.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes things are not entirely favorable for us. She learned in that dream that she can have friends. If she goes to school and interacts there she can meet her Carina in person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could be a great writer like you sister. It is very impressive and well explained. The choice of words and smooth reading made your article more interesting. Those who lost their beloved one's and Faced a lot of difficulties in their lives are have good heart. Caring comes with passage of time. Here Mia character is very interesting and she care for others. As she helped that girl and gave her coat to her. Pretty impressive sister:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You haven't written anything yet? It's good to start reading what you have for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am going to write my first article tomorrow insha'Allah. I hope so it would go well. First impressions is last impressions so lil nervous about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you do, please tag me. I will stop by to read you. Write from your heart. It's the best I can recommend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually thought the story was real,but when I got to the ending that is state that it was a dream lol,nice write up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It usually happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Almost like the Gift of Acabar book I previously wrote about. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't really know the book or the story. This came to me last night as I started writing about a children's story. And little by little one idea after another came to me. The initial idea was for him to find friends in the forest but the plot itself gave me other ideas. It wasn't planned at all. And I haven't read anything like it either. I'm sorry if it's similar to something you've written before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, it was not I who wrote the Acabar story. It is a book I read and loved reading. And it was about a star who came down to help a little boy, who ended up sacrificing his life to save his community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, so it doesn't look like mine hehehe. This was a dream of the child only. And at the end the star appears again in the sky. It is a story for children. Hehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The very best kind of stories...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So simple and sweet story. Enjoyed reading it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, it's a simple story to tell a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woaaahhh! This is an incredible story , ate Gertu ! 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a children's story I came up with last night. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting story ma'am. Reminds me of a movie whose name I can't remember.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a story that came to my mind little by little.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story to use as a children's story. Congratulations

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, it is a children's story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

interesting story inspiration 👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I take off my hat friend. Excellent. A huge virtual hug. PS: Finally, what did you do with the internet?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's just a children's story that came to me out of the blue. The fourth internet company has come. Now there is a house across the street from mine that put up an antenna and suggested that I stick to their antenna. I agreed. It is more expensive than any other but this is all I have left. They are due to come today to make the connection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats great! 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the story😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago