"The cat lady."

40 57
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

It was an ordinary afternoon, but it wouldn't be long before it began to be very special, at least for my son.

My son came into my room, very animated, and said…

"Mom there is a cute kitten outside, if you could see it."

I was busy writing my posts, but he still asked me to see the little kitten. I was done with my read.cash comments after a while and closed my page. I went to my front porch and there was my son, sitting on my front porch door and petting a little kitten with big round eyes and of tabby breed.

The little cat looks up at me, looking scared. I was not surprised that a small cat came to my garden, in fact kittens always arrive and then the next day they are gone.

But this little one was not like the others. My son was in awe of him, he says the kitty wouln’t stop crying until he brough him inside. That's when I allowed him to come into the house so that we could feed him.

My son left his computer for many hours to devote himself to give affection to this little cat. It was officially ours, the only thing missing was for the little one to adopt us and stay at home.

My son's love at first sight with this kitten was so great that that night he introduced him to his room and gave him all the comforts so that this little scaredy cat, barely two months old, wouldn’t want to leave home.

We gave him two names. My son likes Coco, but when I got a better look at his little face I noticed that he has this kind of “M” on his forehead, these tabby cats seem to always have one, so I told my son that I would call him Meme.

Our little Coco was then called Coco “Meme”. From there I have given him many more names but he gets along very well with his name Meme.

The kitten was nervous for many days, he was very afraid of my son's feet and mine. I think where he came from he didn't do very well with footsteps, or maybe someone kicked him, but Little by little he got used to our house and to us.

He is a very curious cat. Much more than Copito was when he was little, Meme dared to climb on a fig plant to try to reach the birds… and then he meowed, waiting to be taken down from there. Of course he didn't catch any birds, since he is a very small kitten.

In the garden there were a lot of geckoes, they don't bother me because they eat the insects that can affect my garden, but now it so happens that I don't see them as often as I did before, and I presume that this naughty little cat has something to do with the disappearance of the lizards.

Gradually he became more comfortable at home, but his adventurous spirit makes him chase other older cats when he sees them passing in front of the garden.

There are a lot of neighbor cats here. This Meme had to be the product of some pregnant cat who eventually had her many kittens, and the owners probably put them out on the street. As they know there is a cat here they decided to leave this little tabby at the gates of my garden.

Meme's first few days at home were very distressing for us. Meme would go into the garden and go through the fence and stay outside exposed to people and children, who tend to be very mean around these parts.

My son would go out every now and then to look for his Coco outside and carry him back home. I told him that this cat already knows that he is welcome in this house, that he will go out and then come home whe he wants.

That's how my son was going back and forth from the house to the street and from the street to the house to look for Coco. It's been two months now and Meme has grown a lot, he should be about 4 to 5 months old now.

He is very intelligent. When he wants to eat he makes a very soft, almost imperceptible meowing. He announces that he wants to eat and then when he has caught my attention he steps in front of me and directs my footsteps to the location of the food.

He stops in front of the refrigerator door, always looking back to see my position. There he makes his little meow and waits for me to open the fridge and take some of his cat food. When he sees that I have his food in my hands, he runs away before me and walks back to his food container, which is far away but he always does it with his quick steps and catches my attention. He stops at his food container and waits there for me, until I give him his food. He repeats the same thing again, he never tires of directing my steps towards his food. I think it's just in case I forget the way.

He is such a mean cat that, instead of staying in his food container eating, he goes in search of Copito’s food, taking it away from him, who is already an 8 year old cat. My darling Copito lets him, he allows this little cat to eat and to leave him with nothing. Copito waits patiently, until little Meme gets tired of eating and then Copito takes action.

Meme chases Copito everywhere. Copito is already very tired, injured, and wants to be alone and rest, but that is not what Meme wants. He chases him wherever he is lying down. He doesn't leave him alone and doesn't respect his sleep.

When Copito is fast asleep, Meme appears and jumps down from whatever height he has reached and lands on Copito's resting body. Meme bites his tail and runs, then turns and pretends to fight. He arches his body and raises his bristly hairs in struggle and Copito looks at him, turns over, and just wants to rest.

 Then the fighting meows of these two cats appear, once my poor Copito gets tired of Meme's madness. He has a lot of patience with Meme.

Sometimes I have to call Meme's attention, to get him to leave Copito alone. These two cats are our children, they look like two siblings at home.

But eventually I will take Meme and Copito to the vet to be neutered. We don't want the same things that happen to Copito to happen to him.

 

I never in my adult life thought of having cats. I always had dogs, but fate changed my perspective when Copito's mom came to my house one day and decided to leave her children for me to take care of them.

Since then we have not been separated from Copito and now we have Meme. I hope no more cats arrive… I don't want to be called later "the cat lady” on the street…

All pictures belong to me, taken with my Redmi note 9.

Thanks to my dear readers and sponsors!

17
$ 14.14
$ 12.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @lerkfrend
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 13
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

That's a cute name hehe, the "M" mark maybe meant money, who knows that will be your lucky charm Ms. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My cats are my amulet. They are soothing to look at and to have around the house. Except when they fight. They look like little kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coco and Copito rhymes well, but, I can see the M on her forehead, so Meme sounds good for her...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, he is my , My eme, Meme.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awwww the kitty looks so adorable with those big eyes like it was asking you guys "can I stay please"... I think the kitten adopted you guys insteado f the other way 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's lovely my little meme.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love cats so much ma'am.🥰🥰 but I have bad memories with a cat when my cat died.😭 I almost cried everyday.😭

Meme is so cute ma'am. I want to see meme there..🥰🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've seen my animals die before. That's very painful. But I don't want to remember it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Copito is surely the grumpy one while Meme continues to be the ball of sunshine in the house 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If poor Copito is the one who has to put up with Meme's youth and his antics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, meme found love in your home. So lucky he found you and your sone. He really looks comfortable now with you he's cute same with Copito 😙😙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

These two kittens are the ones that adopted my son and me. We really can't be without them here anymore. We always call them if we don't see them for a while and we look for them all over the house and garden. When we see them we go back to our activities. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, my friend,

Now that my daughter brought her cats into her home, I appreciate the good companions they become.

Like you, i have never had cats before. As a child, I only remember my parents' dogs. You have copito and Meme for your son, and I for my daughter, Teo and Plomito.

If living with three dogs and two cats in an apartment is a very rewarding challenge.

Thank you for sharing part of your life with us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow you have cats and dogs, that's a challenge. I have cats and a turtle. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you have cats and dogs, that's a challenge. I have cats and a turtle. lol.

LOL. Well, the turtle doesn't fight cats. Here there is a permanent tension between the little Yorky and the Ecuadorian cat for whom he dominates the territory. Sure, they think they can override my authority.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cats are supposed to be channelers of the energies of a house. But if there are differences between them I don't think they can concentrate on channeling anything but their fights. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cats are supposed to be channelers of the energies of a house. But if there are differences between them I don't think they can concentrate on channeling anything but their fights. lol.

I think this time I will have to channel them myself. LOL. Happy Sunday, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like dogs more than cats.. But that one is cute 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When you find what is special about them, they all seem beautiful to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, there are different types of questions. Among them, the cat is my favorite.Cats are very beautiful to look at.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think its a blessing in disguise for copito, being a old cat alone in the house is sad. And so meme saw it and wanted to accompany copito for the rest of their lives. Cute name meme hahaha. Looking at his roundy eyes is adorable. Thank you for sharing your cats storyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know you don't like cats. lol. I didn't like them either until Copito adopted me 8 years ago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a cute Meme. And yes, he seems to have an M on his forehead. Poor Copito must live exhausted, XD. The older cats get tired of the naughty little ones.

Thank you so much, my friend, for renewing my sponsorship! You made me happy today!♡

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you could see how my poor Copito suffers hiding inside the Meme's house. It's horrible how naughty this Meme is. lol.

You're welcome, it's a pleasure for me to be one of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My aunt had a cat that already died as an old one. And the poor cat was very overwhelmed with a young kittie gifted to my aunt. The poor cat lived very stressed as your Copito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope my Copito doesn't die because of my Meme's craziness, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, craziness doesn't kill. But the poor guy will only try to ignore it, but if Meme is so naughty, will continue to insist. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's what it does, believe me. We have to act as mediators from time to time with Meme. Those captivating little eyes of his don't allow us to be too rough with him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Meme is a smart naughty cat :) It made me smile reading the part where he teases Copito for a chase :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is that Meme chases him inside the house and also in the garden. He doesn't give poor Copito a break.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poor Capito, Meme must have a lot of energy doing that for he is young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They act like children, one hides and the other finds it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, they're amusing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So cute😍🥰my son also love cats💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a cute and lovely cat. I love cats and I would like to have one. There is one in our back garden sometimes, but he is not ours.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are no abandoned cats there like here. Here cats have always arrived from the street but the next day they are gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We live in a complex with 60 flats do yhis cat must beling to one of these flats. He always hanging around in the communal garden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago