The cat in the dark.

37 62
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

He is an ordinary cat, he has the features of a tabby cat. Maybe you don’t know but it’s one of the ancient Egyptian breeds and his features remind me of the big cats, that's why they give this name to the breed. I can imagine where the Egyptians got their eye makeup from, because the lines in the eyes of these cats resemble the makeup of the Pharaohs and Cleopatra.

From unsplash

But well, I don’t come to tell you stories of the antiquity but of the present. This cat is very restless during the day, he has a lot of adrenaline and drives crazy anyone who wants to keep up with him.

He lives in a house in the suburbs. It’s a small house inhabited by an old woman and her little grandson, who is the owner of the little cat...  Or rather the cat is the owner of the little boy Peter. He cat appeared one fine day in the backyard of the house, dirty, sad and disheveled.

Peter felt very sorry for the cat and took care of it, he introduced him to his grandmother and got her permission to keep him at home, but this cat is not an ordinary animal. He is always attentive to every sound in the house, with his eyes wide open and his ears moving in different directions.

At nightfall the little tabby cat moves through the most intricate places in the house. Until he reaches the old cellar, there the sounds make him ruffle his fur. Peter has been watching him, it’s as if he is preparing for a fight with another cat of the same gender.

But what Peter doesn't know is that when he turns off the lights in the house and goes to sleep the most terrifying part of the story happens. It’s precisely in the basement where a series of creatures of very strange shapes begin to appear.

They come out everywhere, move around the basement and want to climb into the house, but the dim lights they observe in the corridors of the house don’t let them get any further and, to complete the bad luck of these fearsome little creatures, they now also have this nocturnal beast that won't let them go upstairs.

The little tabby cat at night undergoes a transformation, just as it approaches the basement his ears grow as big as a rabbit's, his eyes become the color of fire, the fangs that once did not protrude from his cheeks now look like sabers and the claws in his paws are as long and sharp as daggers.

And so he walks stealthily through the basement, trying not to be discovered. He watches the figure of the little monsters very closely and pounces on them and with his huge claws he takes a single swipe and kills more than one of them. The little nocturnal monsters no longer even want to stick their trunks out of the hole where they hide.

From unsplash

At night these little repulsive beings try their hardest to reach Peter, and in their eagerness to reach Peter's room they went looking for the best way to outwit the little light that comes out of the room. These are child-eating beasts! Peter was only saved on several occasions because he is afraid of the dark. On many occasions he heard sounds within the darkness and told his grandmother to allow him to have a small light on in his room, to which his grandmother agreed.

The little tabby cat is nothing if not an advocate for children and, seeing the danger that Peter was about to face, he decided to transform himself into a small and defenseless kitten and in this way he now protects the boy from the beasts that took over the basement.

Every night this transformed kitten fights against the small nocturnal beasts and wipes out the entire population of the repulsive child-eaters.

The beasts decide to leave the basement of Peter's house. They go down the drain, as far away as possible from this place that they once found as a perfect place, but not anymore.

They would go in search of another home, of another child, of a house where the light at night is not left on so they can commit their terrors on the poor defenseless children, who no one believes in and don’t leave their little lights on. Hehehehe.

I hope my dear readers that you liked my children's story… and I hope you don't tell it to your children. Just in case, always leave a little light on their rooms!

Thanks to all my readers, commenters and great sponsors. I love you all.

25
$ 15.73
$ 14.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

We had always had cats, I think they defended the boys very well, haha. Excellent story. Congratulations

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I'm glad you like it. I have two kittens at home too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I did not expect to read such a magnificent fantasy short story. I enjoyed it from start to finish. Every time I see my daughter's cats, I will suspect them, perhaps they are also protective beings of things that we do not see at night. Greetings, my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't expect to receive such praise. Thank you very much. Just leave a little light on in her room, hahaha. Gotta help the kind kitties.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was so cute at the start, but I feel fear about the end of the story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

But he is a protective kitty for children. So don't be fooled by those kittens with innocent faces.jajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahah true. They must be hidden in that innocent mask. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He also looks like a sphynx in the picture! That was a scary "childrens" story :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I think so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the turn of the story and how it unfolded. When I started reading I could never think that I would reach that end, hahaha, everything was so tender and suddenly terrifying, hahaha it was great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It occurred to me along the way. I write and the ideas come. Sometimes romantic, sometimes criminal, and sometimes terrifying, hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They all look very good, I love them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good child story, a little scary hehe but cool

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis, I think it's a bit strong for a child, hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I always keep a cat beside me whenever I am sleeping. This basically for children but it somehow scares me huhu.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I'd be scared too if they told me one of these bedtime stories. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A unique story about cat tabby.dang I wonder how cool tabby is when he's transforming just to fight those monster who wants peter. The story kinda creepy not for a child but it's actually cool one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think if you tell this to a child they will love their cat more but will never want to turn off their room light. Jijiji

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, if it's not for the Tabby cat 😱 definitely not for a kid. They'll be traumatized if they read ir 🙈🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love cats! They're lovely and cuddly. A cute story anyway..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love cats ma'am. I have a cat in our house and I missed him a lot. I love white color and somethin' light orange but I'm really scared with the black cats, that's my weakness when it come to cats ma'am.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't like dark cats either. They repulse me. It's not fear but the opposite feeling to other cats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am were the same that's why I don't want to see a black cats especially during night time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The tabby cat is a savior to Peter. He never knew anything. If he hadn't brought the cat home, he would have been killed when he turned off the light to sleep.

But I will pity the innocent children that the beast would kill because there wouldn't be a tabby cat like that to rescue them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's something not to read to a child. It would make an impression on him to turn off his light. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cats are one of my favorite animals. There are other animals. Cats are the most cute of them. And they are very beautiful to look at. I want to bring it closer when I see it. I have it at home. But as you said, when a cat sees a cat in the dark, people get scared. I like the story of your cat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have little knowledge about cats i think Iranian cats are more attractive and beautiful. They have a more fur on their body. Their blue eyes attract us from far. I had a cat but i lost her. This is long story so i can relate with it can write articles idea 😊😀😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think it's great that you want to write about your cats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure maybe in very next article i would write about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry, I don't have a child to tell about it haha. You seem to like children's stories.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

When I was young I used to tell my nieces and nephews bedtime stories. I remember it now. And every night I had to tell new stories a lot so they wouldn't repeat themselves. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tabby cat are so scary they are part of the reasons why I don't mostly like cats.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are adorable. They have a cute little face and are the friendliest cats. And they love to receive affection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago