Memories are food for the soul.

26 54
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

As a teenager, and for as long as I can remember since my childhood, I always liked children. When I was about 16 years old I learned that I had a newborn niece and her mother brought her home for us, my mother and siblings, to meet her.

It so happened that my older brother had an argument with my father and didn't want to hear from him anymore, so he stopped visiting us for a long time and that's why we didn't meet the baby girl until she came to our house.

As the things of God are perfect, it so happened that all of us had to move out of the house where we had been living for many years. My dad found it necessary to look for a house given from the government benefits and was given an option to buy and pay for a new house in parts.

That is how we moved to the house where I currently live, my mother's house, but of course without any of my parents in this day and age because they have been dead for many years.

When we were living here we found out that our older brother and his wife lived extremely close to us. How wonderful! I would have my niece nearby and then came the other one, then another one and then finally the final one.

But there were two first nieces and nephews up to that point, they were spoiled by everyone in my house. Whenever I went out they were always with me and whenever I left my job for the day I always looked for them at home so they could be here with my mom and my siblings.

From unsplash

Then I finished my first career as a professional and almost at 18 months I bought my car. These kids came and went for rides all the time, by that time my older sisters also had their children and my car was full of nephews and nieces.

I think I always had a total of 5 nephews and nieces with me, the youngest ones stayed with their mothers and those who could stand the hustle and bustle came with me. We would go to the beach, to the river, to the night walks along the paths that were on the shores of the beaches.

Because this is a coastal city, the shores of the beaches had paths for people to come at night to walk with their families. It was totally known by all the tourists and residents who came to ride skateboards and bicycles and it was the most awaited thing for the kids in the evenings.

My nephews could have that pleasure with me, they could come in the evenings for a walk on the beach and in the daytime to enjoy the warm beaches. Those were very pleasant times.

But then other responsibilities came to me. I had to go to continue studying and the routine changed, I only came back on vacations and had to work to save some money, stress took over my life and the responsibilities increased more and more. My character was changing without me realizing it.

I was no longer enjoying myself the way I used to, all this work and the constant thinking about how to provide the money to support my second college career changed the way I was.

The kids grew up, they got older and I had more personal expenses and couldn't spoil them like I used to.

Now I was always upset. Occasionally I enjoyed things and little by little I neglected the family togetherness. It seemed like this was my responsibility but I didn't realize it. As the years went by I just wanted to be alone.

I had a lot of resentment against everything and everyone and so I went from being a sweet girl to a girl who was always worried and annoyed with everyone. As if the world was to blame for my decisions.

I realize now the mistakes I made, but now it is too late. I fostered family disunity for many years of my life. I was blinded by the weariness of my frustrations at not being able to achieve my goals fast enough as my mind wanted them.

Everything I wanted I got with a lot of sacrifice, effort and persistence, but along the way I changed my personality and lost my perspective of what family meant.

I wanted to be with my friends and I despised family. As if they were to blame for my decisions. I didn't know it at the time as I pointed out earlier, so I was blinded by resentment of always fending for myself and not having the support of my family.

But I didn't see clearly. For many, many years I was staring into the dark and seeing nothing, but then what had to happen happened and God shook my life so that I turned my eyes towards Him and He gave me a second chance.

I learned to read His word and know the meaning of it and so little by little, like a newborn child, I took small steps until I understood what I know now.

Life without family is nothing. Roots are everything. Encouraging the union was my next evolutionary process and I am making small steps but with a lot of interest in the task.

The difference is that families got used to not being together and now, due to the difficulties of this country, all the members of these families are separating and going to other places, outside the country and now we can only pray to God that we can see each other through the media in the networks.

My nephews and nieces, men and women all, each one now has their own families. They have all forgotten that their first years of childhood were spent with me… Few remember me and maybe they even forgot me, but now my memories are stronger than before because of my age. Now I remember them very much and I live with much happiness of their experiences with me.

I have my son with me. I was also a mother with a lot of character that I directed towards him, but that is another story. At the moment we are together, we are best friends and we love each other. Until God decides otherwise, we will be spending this time we have together, as family.

Someday he will be starting his own family and I hope it will be close-knit just like mine should have been.

Thank you for your reading and comments. I am really pleased to read your opinions on this matter.

21
$ 14.90
$ 14.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @lerkfrend
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 9
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, very beautiful memories. In the end those beautiful memories are the ones that, as you say, feed the soul. I enjoyed reading you. Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment and for stopping by to read my memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my beautiful friend, how are you?

Sometimes for wanting to improve, for wanting to progress and evolve, we forget to live, to enjoy but above all to love, however, we can not blame ourselves for wanting to progress, for wanting to grow, unfortunately here not only you, you were to blame, because the one who has a good heart understands the situation of the other, and looks for him, gives him a second chance, it is unfortunate that they forgot the good aunt they had, I wish I had had an aunt like you, cheerful, funny, spoiled, haha, no one knows what he has until he loses it, however, life gave you a second chance to amend what happened in the past and I send you that great companion that today is your son, I send you a big hug, never change please, take care of yourself.

$ 1.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear friend for your kind words. You have filled my heart with much tenderness and my eyes with tears. You are a very special person and I realize that you take your time to read and understand the written message. What you said at the end is what my son says to me all the time. "mom never change". Thank you and receive my virtual hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a pleasure for me to read you, dear friend, I understand what you go through and what you feel, because we all have a sad family story, something that makes us understand and understand what we had, but we are always given a second chance, you are a spectacular woman, who has given her best to achieve every dream and goal, I admire and respect you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

... and life happened. Maybe someday, you will still have that chance to reconnect with your nephews and nieces. But I know you will always cherish that time spent with them a long time ago.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They will always be my fondest memories. The memories I lived with them in their childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

reading this made me also realized how happy we were back in the days when we could still spoil our nephews and nieces. Today, being a mother already, although we still have the kids around, I can't give them what I was used to do because I already have different priorities.. indeed, it is great having a close-knit family relationship

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I share your opinion. It is very nice to have a united family. And how great it was to spoil the nieces and nephews, it was the best thing as a feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, God's ways are perfect. How wonderful that you happened to live so near to your brother and catch up with each other, now bigger and happier family. Sad that everything changed, well because of priorities, completely understandable, and soon in God's perfect timing again there will be some catching up to do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, my dear friend. Everything in God's hands is the best and most reliable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have two kids and is really a mixed emotions.. it's really fun to be with them but sometimes your patience will be of a great test.. but overall it's so nice and fun to be with them, and it's such a previlige to have them..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's very different being an aunt than being a mother. The feelings are different. The nieces and nephews are other people's children and your responsibility is different even though your love is very great. Your children are your greatest loves. They are part of your own life and existence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My niece and nephews and I always spoiled them with gifts and love. However, there are also times that I would discipline them, especially if they do something unpleasant. Kids are amazing and I love their energy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I completely agree with you. It is nice to be with children. We rejuvenate ourselves with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really nice to the feeling when you make the kids so close to your heart happy. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childrens are the most carefree souls, it's so nice to get back on that stage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Children are souls like angels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a tita of my two handsome nephews and they were spoiled with my love and ofc foods, I treated them as if they are my babies hehe. I miss them so much 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are very much loved by their uncles and aunts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanted to always spoil my nephews and niece but since I don't have stable job yet I just give them something during special occasions. But I always make sure I am with them in times of needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They will grow up to be adults too. The only thing that will remain will be the memories they have lived.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww that's some kind of something. I am also spoiled by my uncle LOL, from the beginning of my first education to University he supports me for my expenses and I won't forget the for the rest of my life. All happened to I owe this to them..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good thing. That's being grateful son. You will always have open roads when you are grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago