Ginger plant.

29 107
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

This plant belongs to the Zingiberaceae family. Its scientific name is Zingiber Officinalis. It has a time for its harvest. It obtained its rhizome, which is not the root that is well known in all culinary arts. In Asian food, it is never missing in the dishes. And in my kitchen, it is not missing either. This spice together with turmeric makes an infallible duo in my dishes.

Ginger as a rhizome is widely used in meat dishes, marinades, sauces, cookies, and drinks. The good thing about consuming this rhizome is that it can be used both fresh and after being dehydrated and used as a powder. It can also be used in paste.

I prepare my paste which I use after I get the rhizomes. I wash them, remove the shell and proceed to liquefy them with a little oil and the juice of a lemon to prevent rapid oxidation. I then store the paste in previously sterilized glass containers. I also use it fresh for a few days after harvesting.

It is a plant with high content of calcium, iron, phosphorus, proteins, and carbohydrates. In addition to its high liquid component. This, together with its special flavor and aroma, makes it very useful in home and gourmet cooking.

Its use has been scientifically proven to combat coughs, sore throat, fever, stomach upset, flatulence, flu, herpes, inflammations in any part of the body, headaches, and many more. It can be consumed with meals or boiled as tea or in aromatic infusions.

The plant has elongated green leaves. On an erect stem whose leaves grow on each side of the stem. It can be grown both in the ground and in pots. It has its estimated time for harvesting the rhizome.

Its reproduction is done through the collection of small rhizomes, alone or with the germination of stems. They are placed in the pot and after a few weeks, we will have a new plant whose growth is slow. A small rhizome will give rise to a large number of new rhizomes in about 8 months.

The plant grows very well in semi-shade and with the humidity of the substrate. It can also be used as an ornamental plant as its tall leafy green stems grow as a good-looking shrub in pots.

I highly recommend all friends of plants and gardening to have this plant in their gardens. 

all pictures are my property taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

I am @gertu13 from venezuela to the world.

 

19
$ 4.05
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 15
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Wow ginger. I actually drink ginger sometimes and it really treated my heartburn. It has soothing abilities and ginger is healing. Though it is spicy, I didn't boil once I drink. I only ground it.

I would love to have a plants ginger in my garden.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like it too. Every year I plant new plants.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ginger is most important ingredients in our kitchen. Getting know lots of the things about ginger plant from your article. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very well! Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

La planta de jengibre es medicinal, en tiempo de pandemia la utilizaban mucho, es muy buena para la garganta y cocina, en casa tenemos en un matero, facil de sembrar

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's very good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ginger is very useful plant,use for food and produce as a herbal medicine.I love to put a lot of ginger in cooking fish paksiw and tinola

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ummm very tasty!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a very useful plant and its medicinal as well. My brother tried planting one and it didn't survived I guess my brother was impatient hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have to be very patient with her. I imagine that not everyone does well with this plant.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asian foods requires this. You are exactly right. Here it is added to any of our meal daily. It gives a fine aroma when added in curries. Dry ginger is good for throat infection. It can be consumed by boiling with black coffee and adding black pepper and cumin along with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much. This last I did not know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ginger is a great spice, have a awesome taste. I began with one plant, and now i have +5. It's easy to grow and reproduce, have great taste also on tea, and it's great for our health, what else can we ask for!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you are absolutely right. It is a plant with a wonderful rhizome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I am seeing the plant. Hehe. Never knew ginger works for all those. I am in awe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You learned something and it is a wonderful plant to know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It feels like you have your own groceries in the garden Ms, Gertu hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it is true. I am very happy and thankful that I have many plants to consume in my pots and in the soil as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister I love to eat Ginger Plant. We have plenty of these plants in my garden. I am happy to see you are enjoying with this plant.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Its taste is very pleasant. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is actually my first time seeing a ginger plant. All I know is the fruit itself when I chopped for the dishes I cook. It is good for the health as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, she is very nice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use ginger daily, added to a smoothie I make. If I have a bad cough, I boil it and make tea to help loosen phlegm. And if you don't want hot oil to splatter when frying, add a piece of ginger onto the pan of hot oil.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you friend for this fabulous tip on ginger in the fryer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had planted a ginger in a pot and it grows well also, but its just the ordinary ginger

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It doesn't matter, the flavor is delicious even if it's just the Creole. I used to have a small fel before now I have this bigger one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have this plant before but not anymore. It is not missing in my kitchen too. I often use this in my dishes. And I also use this in curing illness in my cats. What I do is squeeze out its juice and add a little amount of brown sugar and force feed it to them by syringe. It works every time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

to cure what diseases of cats? I don't really know that usage

$ 0.00
1 year ago