An afternoon at sea.

47 70
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I like sunsets. The colors seen in the firmament are not surpassed by human creativity.

Here I am at the beach, where I would see a sky as beautiful as this one, so full of color. I walk along the soft sands. As the waves of the sea hit my bare feet, the breeze does its thing. It brings me the murmurs of the sea, music to my ears.

It comes and goes, comes and goes, so is the swell of the sea. Leaving its trail of foam as it breaks its waves on the seashore.

It pleases me to see the fishermen arranging their ships to set sail. They are already leaving, they go in search of their favorite places on the high seas and there they will find the places where they usually see the shoals to then cast their baits.

The fisherman's life is not a quiet one. Night after night they take their vessels out to sea, sometimes defying the elements of nature, when there are winds, when there is turbulence, then it’s better not to go out fishing because it’s very risky.

And it's a double risk, you go with your mind on bringing in your bounty but if nature punishes you for wanting to challenge her tempest, then, you may return home with nothing in your boat… Or you might not even return at all.

The fisherman leaves with his mind set on the positive. He goes out thinking that it's a good day to set sail and that the shoals will be waiting for him in that place he already knows.

How can a fisherman find the signs in the sea? Each one knows his job, knows his sky and knows his land, they go looking at their stars and look at the islands they leave behind, they find a favorite spot and there they prepare their place.

They carry their lamp to leave lit while they throw their bait, nets or hooks, and now they wait, maybe it will be a lucky day and bring lots of fish to the table… Or maybe it's a heavy day and they just bring one catch to count.

Even on such dark nights when the weather suddenly stalks them with its stormy winds, even when they may become disoriented and may even dare not to return. The fisherman's life is not easy.

I used to believe that the fisherman was lucky to go looking for food that is already being raised by the sea. They don't need his food, nor care for the fish to grow to the biggest size you can imagine.

The fisherman of my land is a very peculiar man, the fisherman is a man that prepares his body for his task, a man of tanned skin and thickened by the sun and the sea. He is known wherever you see him, by his demeanor and the way he speaks, affectionate, talkative, friendly and a drinker.

He is a bit like the farmer who put seeds in the field and after all his care, it eventually becomes his own turn to harvest.

The fisherman learns the paths by looking at his stars. He learns to find where the fish are usually to be found, he is guided by the moon, by the stars, by the sound of the sea... There are many details he learns in the course of his life.

And even if he does not feed the fish and does not have to take care of them, he is sure from everything he observes that there is a month, a week, there is a sign, there is something in the environment that makes him sure that he will find something to bring to his table.

He expends fuel, he consumes his energy, he throws his adrenaline into the depths of the sea with the hope and dreams of a great catch that will give him sustenance and something more for him and his whole family.

And as I walk along the seashore I watch all the ships set sail. With the commotion that the fishermen make on the seashore… and suddenly all is silent, they're gone. Neither heard nor seen.

So long fishermen, may the virgin of the sea take you to a good course on the high seas. May she return you to your places with the marvelous booty that are the fish of the sea.

My dear readers, this is where I bring you my imaginary walk along the beach. These photos are from one of the beaches on Margarita Island. A beautiful and enchanted place for all the beauty of its people and its sea.

I hope I have not bored you with an account of the daily routine of the small fishermen.

All photos are my property.

Thank you for your reading and precious comments. Thanks to all my sponsors, for always being there.

27
$ 11.35
$ 10.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 20
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I wish we can hang out in the beach too soon. It's really fascinating to see sunset in the ocean..😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is beautiful the sunrise and sunset on the sea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you've successfully fed your eyes well with the most exquisite of beautiful views

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have been living near the sea for many years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our life is not easy , our life never fails to give us both challenges and opportunities. Though I'm afraid of sea actually I have water phoebia but yet I keeps wishing to walk in sea shore where I can find eternal peace and joy. We all need to work hard for our livings, I know some people who are doing this particular job and I have heard from hem that sometimes they went to sea putting their life at risk just to earn their livings. Your photos are mind-blowing as I fell in love with these at my first sight as I'm a sunset lover. Have a great day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your words, my friend. Yes, we all hope that we can walk again on those soft sands. I too wish the fishermen suffered less challenges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss the beach and the sea. I miss watching fisherman preparing their boats to go to the sea or bringing home their catch.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Different times we are going through. But let us have faith. Let's take care of ourselves so that we can enjoy a reality as we remember it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life of a fisherman, full of strategies and trials. You have to give all that you have sometimes but the result might not be as expected but you still keep on giving you best. It is sometimes work of luck

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it may be true. Whether you are lucky enough to be able to fish or not. To take something home or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The life of the fisherman isn't easy, as you say, and I suppose that in our country now is less easy. Thanks for this little story of the fishermen's routine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it, my friend. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fishing sometimes is based on skills, persistence and luck. I viewed it from another perspective of chasing carriers too, sometimes nature punishes too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nature's signals must be heeded so that punishment is not severe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered my father that is also a fisherman before. He stops fishing because he is old, and he needs to be rest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now he leaves the culture of the good fisherman to his children. It's hard work but your father has done his job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

beautiful view of the beach in the sun rays, this is a very good screenshot. but my thoughts go to the fishermen, how they struggle in the middle of the sea, during storms and high waves may they always be in God's protection, because their work is very much needed by many people, because the fish comes from their catch for the livelihood of many people. valuable context.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh. The beauty of sunsets. Haven't gone to beach for two years now. 🥲 And fishermen are really great as they somehow know when to sail or not, but sometimes whether really changes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute to those fisherman who brought a delicious fish to our table. It's dangerous but just to live 💙💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Margarita Island is beautiful. My dream is that when I finish my working life, I will live on an island 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful place. You said very well about the fishermen, they are brave people who go to the depths of the sea in the middle of the night, and what fishermen who have not lost their lives yet...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Optimism is what keeps us thriving

$ 0.01
2 years ago

De dónde eres Frank?

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here is morning and there is afternoon wawo. I think you are from Philippines right sister? You are good photographer. Do you know i love photography i has Instagram page for photography but now i hot busy in my studies enough no time to capture photos. Have a good day enjoy your time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, I'm Venezuelan, my friend. Here it is still 3am. And what country are you from? thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am half Turkish and Pakistani.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Venezuela we have a very hard-working Turkish community. It is a pleasure for me to meet you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad with you from my first day interection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that is a lovely piece of writing that well describes what it is like to be at the beach, walking along the sand as the sun sets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a close relationship with a small fishing village. They are great people. It is a job that does a lot for society and is sometimes poorly rewarded. The place is excellent!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, this is an excellent place. But there are other nicer ones. This has always been a touristy place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I remember that since the beginning of the pandemic I have not gone to the beach hahaha now I want to go thanks to the photos and the story.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ah, you are very funny, Kike. I hope you can make it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also hope to go, the beach and the sea are very useful to recharge energy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the fishermen in our barrio ma'am. It was horrible experience they were in the middle of the sea. Thank you! God help him. 🙏

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I wouldn't want to be a fisherwoman but I love being at sea. Being close to the islands and enjoying the different products of the sea. A treasure 😍.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true ma'am. It's great. You can see the beauty of the sea. Our house now ma'am is located in front of the sea. Near at the seashore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! I wanna dive into the sea right now because of this hehe. It is a great feeling to live nearby the sea.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love the sea. It's great to listen to. And even better to eat the products freshly obtained from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish we are living near the beach ,my kids really love swimming🥰anyways ,it was a nice and perfect shot of sunset maam ,I love it😍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for commemt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Imaginary only.. I wish to walk by the beach too.. Someday 🙂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, these are the beaches of a very dear and touristic island of my country. I loved to go to its beaches. It has wonderful places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh how nice that you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You brought me to paradise, gertu!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am delighted that you liked it my dear friend. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago