BCH in my small circle

0 25
Avatar for geeh
Written by
2 years ago

Two days ago, I did a very simple survey to a group of senior high school students on their knowledge of cryptocurrencies as a whole and to Bitcoin cash particularly. I used a 4 point scale for the choices:

1- not aware at all

2-slightly aware

3-moderately aware

4-fully aware

They just had to choose from these choices and I did not plan to do any sophisticated statistical computation for the results. I only wanted to see how aware are they with the topic.

When I started using noise.cash (1 month or so) and read.cash (more than a week), I felt so embarrassed that I did not know anything about Bitcoin Cash or any cryptocurrency. I felt that I was so stupid and thought that I may be the only one. Perhaps because I am not so techy that I am left out in this matter or maybe I was just stupid (haha). So, I started reading articles written by brilliant writers in this platform like those whom I quoted in my very first article about BCH which I entitled BCH THOUGHTS: realizations of an 'Aristotle' from great 'Socrateses' . I was enlightened thanks to them. However, the question whether I am the only one not knowing anything about the matter or that I am stupid still lingers. Thus, I thought of asking a small group of people and so I conducted this survey. I did to only 1 group of students so the findings do not necessarily embody the whole population of their age group. Also, I only used percent in computing for the findings to make it even simpler. Again, I only wanted to know if I was the only one.

Here are the results:

From the 25 respondents, 18 which is 72% of the total population answered 1 wherein they are not in any way aware of BCH or cryptocurrencies as a whole. Four (4) are slightly aware, three (3) are moderately aware and none of them are fully aware. If we put together those who answered slightly and moderately aware under aware, that would be 7 which is just 28% of the total population. The 28% percent who are aware may also have a very limited knowledge about the topic like me.

With this, I came up with a conclusion that I was not the only one. On one hand, I was delighted to know that I am not stupid after all. On the other hand, I felt downhearted because the 72% from my simple survey may actually be the reality in my society. This only means that knowledge on BCH or cryptocurrencies is not really that established in my small community. I understand that there are a number of factors to such result and the 25 people do not really represent the whole population. Unfortunately, it is still sad to know that it may still take some time before people will become open to such idea of digital currency. The truth is, there are still many people who are skeptical about using technology in managing their money which is also because of the many flaws of third parties (which is why we should push for cryptocurrency). My friend for example just had a hard time paying for what she ordered online because her account is not enrolled for online banking. She said she will never apply for online banking because of a terrible experience in the past. Then I started talking about BCH to her. I told her that with BCH, she won't be having problems like what she experienced because transactions will be so direct and even a lot more convenient. She was willing to listen to my very crude discussion (I have a very limited knowledge too haha) but in the end, we just ended sighing because we realized that such convenience may still be possible in the far future.

Realization:

There is a need for people to be informed and educated on the benefits of digital currencies over the traditional banking for BCH or any cryptocurrency to become overtly used in a society. I guess, I need to start equipping myself so I could share it to others. It would really be nice to be able to enjoy the perks of it before I finally say goodbye to this life.

Thank you for reading and pardon me it was not well written. I am preoccupied with so many things these days (I know not a very good excuse).

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @HyeRin
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
Sponsors of geeh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for geeh
Written by
2 years ago

Comments