The Story of the Unmotivated Student

9 42
Source: educationpost.org

Once upon a time, there was a teen named Jonas. He was a student at a University in their province. He loved learning new things, but he struggled in school. He was having a hard time at college. He tried everything he could think of to improve, but nothing worked. He wasn't a bad student—it's just that no matter how hard he tried, he found it difficult to keep up with his work. And as the stress of trying to keep up with everything built up, he found himself feeling more and more unmotivated.

The worst part was that none of it seemed to matter. Jonas knew he was smart and talented, but now all he could feel was an overwhelming sense of dread about school and the future. He couldn't find his motivation! He didn't feel like he would ever be able to catch up, and that he was wasting his time. He was tired and he just wanted to sleep. His friends were stressing about grades and he just didn't care. He was worried that he would just float through college, waste his parents' tuition money, and end up working at the local fast-food chain for the rest of his life.

He tried everything he could think of to improve, but nothing worked. He thought if he focused his energy on one class or one task at a time and if he just stopped hanging out with his friends so much, maybe then he would find the motivation to become a better student and do better in school. He even went to his parents for help. They told him to stick it out and that everything would work out in the end, but Jonas knew that advice wasn't going to cut it. But after trying many different approaches, Jonas knew it was time to accept defeat.

He began to consider dropping out of school because he saw no hope for improvement.

But one day, Jonas had a dream where his future self appeared to him and gave him several pieces of advice:

"You have to stop being so hard on yourself. You're not a failure; you just haven't figured out what motivates you yet! That's all right! Just trust that you'll find it if you keep looking. If you're having a hard time getting started, try not to beat yourself up over it - just give yourself a break and start fresh tomorrow."     

"Find something that gets you excited - a goal you can work towards. Think about how accomplishing this goal will make you feel and remember that feeling as you work towards it."

"Connect with someone you trust. If you're having trouble finding your motivation, it might be time to connect with someone who supports you. Reach out to someone in your life who encourages you and talk to them about what's going on in your life right now. See if they can help you come up with some ideas for how to get motivated again!"

"Do something kind for yourself every single day. This could be taking a few minutes each day just for yourself or spending time with friends who lift you up. It might also be doing something nice for someone else - like volunteering at an animal shelter! Whatever makes YOU feel good is what matters most here!"

When Jonas woke up, he thought it was all just a dream, but he decided to take the advice to heart. The dream was so real to Jonas. Suddenly, he realized he had been searching for motivation, and it had come to him in the form of this beautiful dream. He realized that he had been beating himself up for failing his courses, which made it harder for him to focus on doing better in the future.

Jonas suddenly felt energized and ready to seize the day! He went to his classes and found himself paying attention for the first time in months. He even chatted with some of his classmates about their plans for graduation. He found what motivated him and was able to turn around his college career.

This story is a little different from the others in the sense that Jonas didn't actually find his motivation until it was nearly too late. It is a story is something you've probably heard or maybe even lived yourself: the unmotivated student. You know what I'm talking about - the one who can't seem to find any reason to do well in school; not even the threat of a low grade is enough to get this person to study.

If you feel like it's hard to get motivated and succeed in life, you aren't alone. The reason why most people are unmotivated is the lack of a true purpose. The lack of motivation is just a symptom of your ultimate goal not being powerful enough. However, you can be more successful if you find your motivation! But finding your motivation can be easier said than done, especially when you are tired, stressed out and feeling a hundred other emotions at once.

I wrote this story because I feel that there are many of us out there who struggle with motivation. I've always been a hard worker, but I won't say that I haven't had my moments where my motivation has fallen short. It may not be as severe as what Jonas experiences are, but it's something that I can relate to. And when you realize that you're in need of some motivation, a fresh set of eyes can often help you find your way. My hope is that through reading Jonas’ story and ultimately finding some guidance, you can take away some inspiration to kick start your inner drive and get you back up to speed.

Motivation comes from moving forward, not waiting for inspiration to strike!

Lead image edited in canva

© 2022 frdchckn. All Rights Reserved.

Sponsors of frdchckn
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 1.13
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @McJulez
$ 0.02 from @Trifecta
+ 1

Comments

I've been struggling about my motivation too. I was so hard about myself knowing that I'm hopeless but I keep trying myself to become active again but I fail to do it. I keep looking another thing just to sustain my motivation and gladly I already find it. Truly, God sustain us with genuine happiness that no one could offer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so glad to know that! I hope that drive within you continue as you strive in reaching all your goals in life. Wishing you all the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 🥺. You don't know how much this means to me. I am really having a hard time these days, to the point that I feel like I have been missing out already. I always cheer myself up when I couldn't answer the questions correctly, just to make myself feel that I am not dumb because I wasn't used to this kind of feeling. I know I could do better, but it's just that I feel like something is missing. Sometimes, words sway in my head when I try to comprehend them. As a result, I spend time doing unproductive things. Yet there are still those who do not understand it. They don't say it directly, but I feel it. Little did they know, it was just an escape from reality for me to get rid of the things that were running around my head. It became a struggle, but I found a reason and motivation from your post that lighted up the burning passion within me. I might not get back quickly to the same drive I used to have, but I will do everything I can to have the same drive I had before, or even better. I shouldn't say anything, but I just can't contain my tears and emotions anymore. So thank you, because somehow it lifted me up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Julez! I hope you're doing alright. I know you've been through a lot of things, and I know it's hard to get through it, but trust me when I say that you can do it. You are strong enough to overcome anything, and I'm here for you in case you need a shoulder to cry on. Whatever you're going through right now, always keep in mind that it will pass. You've got to keep going through it, and let those emotions out. If that means crying it out, so be it. Crying is a very valid emotion! It's also important to remember what your purpose is in life. What is it that's driving you? What makes you ache and excited? Don't be afraid to go after it and make it happen. You'll definitely find it again, but in the meantime, just keep believing in yourself. I hope someday you can wake up feeling inspired and motivated again because I know that's when you'll feel most alive and realize what your true purpose is to live a happy life. You are stronger than you think and you deserve to be happy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinapaiyak mo ako bespren e, haha jk. Pero thank you 🥺.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaah sorry for that bespren. Pero kidding aside, I have the same situation as yours kaya somehow naka relate din ako sa'yo. Thank you din for making me realize na hindi rin pala ako nag iisa. Kaya natin 'to! Laban lang!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aja! Keep dreaming and achieving! We can do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's keep moving forward. Being a student is not easy as they think. We face different problems everyday and sometimes, the biggest problem is ourselves. I hope we'll learn to be more kind to ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right! I know it's not easy to keep going when all you want to do is give up, but I believe that everything will be worth it. It might not look like it right now, but life will get better. I know it's hard to see right now. But the struggle won't last forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago