Everyone, Meet my Bestfriend, Covid

7 33

We've all heard that pets make us feel good. They cheer us up when we're sad and make us happy when we're down. Some might even say they are better than humans. Well at least I hear my dog's better than most humans I've met. He's a great pal and he's never let me down.

I would love to introduce you all to my bestfriend, Covid. I know what you're thinking: "Oh no, he's one of THOSE people." But I swear he's actually a dog.

I'm sure everyone reading this has a story like mine—of how they were blindsided by the pandemic, or maybe even lost someone dear to them during these difficult and uncertain times. And for me, it was no different.

But then something happened that changed everything. On March, 2020—the day we went into lockdown—our dog named Browny (she’s now in doggo heaven, run free Browny) gave birth to a tiny litter of puppies and one of them got my attention. A cute little dog having eyes with different colors. I asked my parent if I could have him, and they said yes! What else could they do? And as I watched him take his very first breaths and wiggle his tiny paws, I knew we were meant to be together forever. Without him, who knows how lonely and isolated this quarantine might've been?

Look at those eyes! He's so cute, isn't it? (Photo Taken: March, 2020)

So on that fateful day, little Covid entered my life. Everyone, meet my bestfriend When he was born in March 2020, I knew I had to name him after something that was going on in the world at the time. And what better way to honor the memory of this pandemic than with a puppy? But don’t get me wrong here-this guy is no virus! He is the best thing that could've happened to me at such a scary time in history.

I have been thinking about writing this post for a long time now. But I've always found excuses to not actually write the post. Why? Because I am a little nervous and afraid that the love I have for him may be misunderstood.

Covid is the sweetest, cutest dog in the whole world. He likes to cuddle and play fetch and he loves to run around in the yard. He's smart, too—he already knows how to sit and lay down on command. We're working on teaching him to roll over now. After that, we'll have to see!

He loves to eat. A lot. Too much, really. He has a problem with gluttony. He's trying to get help for it, but sometimes he just can't help himself—especially when it comes to fish bones. Fish bones are his kryptonite; he'll do anything for it.

Covid is definitely not what you'd call a "low-maintenance" dog. He's high energy, and he's always getting into trouble. Every time I leave our house, I have to hide my charger cables so that he doesn't chew them up. But he's also extremely loyal and smart—he knows when someone is at the door before they even ring the bell, and he makes sure to protect me by barking at anyone who looks suspicious.

Look at him now! He's now a big guy! (Photo Taken: April, 2022)

Even though he's only 2 years old, Covid has already gone through so much with me. We've celebrated holidays together, ran around the house and we've even visited our first pandemic-safe puppy park together!

When I'm sad, he makes me happy. When I'm sick, he makes me feel better. When I'm feeling alone or unloved, he reminds me that he loves me. He's been my partner in crime since the first day of the pandemic. I can't imagine a life without him. When I think back to how much time he and I have spent together during this crazy year, it makes me laugh and cry at the same time.

 I've never met another dog like him. He's a real stand-up guy, and more than anything else, he makes my life better. He's always there for me when I need him!

Covid was an unexpected arrival in my life. I wasn't looking for a dog, and I certainly wasn't in a position to get one at that time. But once he entered the picture, there was no going back. Now, I'm loving his company and am totally satisfied with his place in my household. He's an amazing dog and knows no other home, and his constant companionship has enriched all facets of my life. I'm more than happy to have him around, as anyone who knows him would attest to. And I feel like my story illustrates that not everyone has to have multiple children to feel fulfilled; some people just need to find the right pet!

This is Covid. I have many photos of him on my phone to remind me to take breaks from work and spend quality time with my dog. It stimulates my creativity because it reminds me that I need to relax every once in a while.

There you have it. My best friend, Covid, and why he's awesome. He can be a pain in the butt sometimes but I wouldn't trade him for the world. That’s how much I love him. I hope this blog post has given you a better idea of the doggie in my life and the time that I spend with him.


All photos including the lead image are mine.

Copyright, 2022 @frdchckn. All Rights Reserved.

7
$ 1.96
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @McJulez
$ 0.05 from @coffeejelly
+ 2

Comments

I was thinking otherwise via glancing at the topic..🤗 But it's good how you named him via the occurrence of the world. It'll make you to remember 2020 always

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The reason why I named him that way is because he's one of the best things happened to me during those difficult times. When I hear Covid, he's the one that always in my mind, not the pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow he has grown up so much from a tiny puppy to a big doggo and he's still cute though. He is lucky to have you and I wish you will have a bond for a long time with your best friend covid.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww! Thank you so much! I can't believe how quickly he's grown up, but I'm glad he still has that little puppy face. He brings so much joy to everyone around him, and I like to think we do the same for him. : )

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was intrigued by the title, and I was speechless when I learned that it's your dog. He's cute like me, hahahaha. Jk. Those eyes were indeed unique. I wonder if that's normal for a dog. Anyway, I might consider having a pet dog now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahah thanks so much!

Yeah, his eyes are pretty unique. He does have heterochromia, which is when an animal has different-colored eyes. It's fairly normal for dogs, apparently, and it doesn't seem to bother him at all.

You should get a dog too. Promise, they'll make you feel better!

$ 0.00
2 years ago