Visiting Colourful Brighton Part I

15 48
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Brighton is an inclusive free-thinking city in the heart of Sussex!

Brighton is considered as England's most popular seaside resort which is part of East Sussex. It is located in the middle of the South Downs and the English Channel to the north and south. Brighton is considered both a coastal and a downland city as it has the best of both worlds.

It says "I love you".

When I first visited this fun and vibrant city, I really said to myself that if there was one place in the UK that I would really love to live in, it would be Brighton. I mean why not? It is bursting with art and colours, it has a lot of food places, the shopping is great, and it has a lovely sea side to boast too. That is why it is said to be the happiest place to live in the UK.

My friend Jennifer and the Rainbow floor ❤️
Edward VII Memorial silhouette in Brighton and Hove.

The Royal Pavilion
King George IV also dubbed as a royal party animal, loved Brighton so much back in the 18th Century that he built the Royal Pavilion or Brighton Pavilion there as his seaside retreat. This building is an architectural feat and reflects very much an Indo-Saracenic Style which was prevalent in India during the 19th Century and is quite uncommon in the UK. To this day, it now serves as a Museum and its gardens a public hang-out place where street performers showcase their art in the summer months.

The Royal Pavilion. During our visit there were some construction work going on.
Royal Pavilion: Rooftop and Dome
Me and my friend Jennifer during our first visit to Brighton.
Brighton Museum and Art Gallery.
Royal Pavilion Gardens packed with sunbathers.

The Seaside

Brighton beach is a very long stretched beach. It is bordered by pebbles and stones instead of sand, but it is not very painful to walk on as the stones are pretty smooth and none jagged. Lined alongside the beach are some cafes and food places for different food options.

Victorian era gazebo by the seafront and me photobombing it 😂
My friend Jennifer by the sea.
Sea gull by the beach ❤️
Passacaglia, a 1988 sculpture by Charles Hadcock.
A broken boat repurposed as a planter by the beach. 

To this day, you can see the ruined West Pier by the Brighton sea front. The West Pier was once a pleasure pier and was designed by E. Birch during the 1860s. This was built to encourage more tourism in the city. It was very popular at first but eventually lost its glory and got shut down. The sea then made it suffer it's wrath by making the structure decayed and unsafe for public. Thus its access to shore was removed in the 1990s. To make things worse, it caught fire in 2003. Efforts has been made to restore it but to no avail.

Sunset at West Pier ❤️
Remnants of West Pier.

The seaside of Brighton is also home to the iconic British Airways i360 Observation Tower which stands 162 meters. And offers the best views of Brighton. Unfortunately going up that is bucket-listed for now.

British Airways i360
The i360 at night. Sorry for bad photo quality. Iphone camera is not good for night photos.
Edward VII Memorial

By the seaside, you can also find: the small Brighton Fishing Museum established back in 1994; the Upside Down House; colourful beach sheds, and Edward VII Memorial.

Inside the Fishing Museum.
Poseidon's head at the Brighton Fishing Museum.
The Upside Down House and Me. Entry fee was 5£ but I was stingy 😂
Colourful sheds. Perfect photo op for me!

These are just some of the things that makes Brighton an interesting place to visit. Next time I will write more about its art and graffiti culture as I am quite passionate about that topic and it would take me a while to curate my photos. I have inserted some of them here so you could appreciate how vibrant this city is. I hope you enjoyed this post.




8
$ 0.53
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ang ganda naman ng pag capture, and yes ang colorful

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uu I do love the colours. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Photographs are so lovely. " Remnants of West pier" reminds me of a lake near our place. Even it has got the same kind of remenanta. Upside down houses looks great

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Sasha your compliments inspire me to take more photos ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Plz go ahead. They really are amazing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow I guess I will enjoy a tour around Brighton.. i guess that's the reason why it's called brighton then?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes my be one of the reasons because it is bright and colourful 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh damm, the tour was wonderful. That upside down house is very unique.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I loved the upside down house. It is very characteristic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, what a tour 🧡🧡. It was as if tho I was there.. hahaha.. beautiful place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha stick around for the graffiti tour it's even more interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am here already.... Going nowhere Bring it on🧡🧡

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! 😲 I was speechless my friend. It's really beautiful and awesome. I want to visit too. I hope someday, in God's will. UK is one of my bucketlist.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm sure it will happen some day my friend. Keep praying and working for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for this my friend. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago