Majestic Cliff and Coastal Walks of Guernsey Part II

13 75
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Baonjour Readers! As promised, here is the second part of my post from last week about Guernsey's cliff and coastal walks. As I've noticed from my first post, a lot of you did not know where Guernsey was and I have now made it my life's mission to introduce this little place to the world.

The coast near the Fairy Rings. The waters were quite raging and they made tiny bubbles in the air which looked like fairy dust in person.

Guernsey is the second largest of the British Channel Islands. It is located in the English Channel just off the coast of Normandy. This island is a British Crown Dependency. Meaning they are self governing but still owned by the British Crown. It is a bit difficult as they are not part of the United Kingdom but they are also not considered British overseas. Anyway let's jump right on to our list.

Wild flowers along the coast near the Fort Pezeries.
My friends playing with cannons.

1. Pleinmont Headland

Pleinmont Headland is in the Southwest of Guernsey. From here you can see Hanois Lighthouse and Lihou island, as well as, the island of Jersey and the French coast on a clear day.

Fort Pezeries also accessible via cliffpath from Pleinmont Headland.
Joyjoy and Marsh at Fort Pezeries. I was helping them with their prenup photos.

I have been to this place twice only as it is pretty far from where I live and mostly I require free transports from my friends to get around but I do love this place. My first visit here was to visit the Fairy Ring which is also known as Tables des Pions and also to visit the surrounding Fort Pezeries, which was a gun platform made during the 1680s.

My friend Joy on the Fairy rings.Β .
Tables des Pions or The Fairy Ring

In local folklore the site is linked with fairies, witches, and elves and as such that the Guerns call it the Fairy Ring. However, in reality it was used as a dugout picnic bench of sorts by island officials when inspecting roads and coastal defences up until the late 1830s. I prefer the first story. Fairies, witches, and elves it is!

Playing by the coast near the fairy rings. Photo opportunities everywhere.
Happy Pinay. Sea always makes me happy.
Joy And Marsh. I stayed uphill and asked them to walk down for this photo as drones are expensive.
My nursing trek group. The flatter parts. Before the climb.

My second visit to Pleinmont Headland was during the summer with a group of nurses for a proper trek. It was beautiful as the canolas up the hill was in full bloom and we ventured to a steeper walkway which lead us atop a high point to see a World War II German Naval observation tower and the beautiful Guernsey sea.

Emmanual and Bong were curious and climbed and uncharted path.
Big smiles before the uphill torture πŸ˜‚
Bong and Eman.
World War II Observation Tower.
Me and my friend Fran in our yoga wear. ❀️
Beautiful canolas and us.

2. Le Gouffre

This magnificent rugged cliff side is a part of the National Trust of Guernsey and is approximately midway along the south coast cliff path. My friend Ermy and I visited it in the hope of a swim but it was a pretty long way down the sea and we were running out of sun so we settled for a sunset and a walk there instead.

Ermy taking the lead. We walked so much that day.
My friend Ermy perched on a bench overlooking the sea.
Me trying a yoga pose with the sunset. I do this a lot. My overused pose πŸ˜‚
"A sunset is the sun's fiery kids to the night." - Crystal Woods

Nonetheless the view of the setting sun was absolutely breathtaking and truly phenomenal. The blend of gold and red flecks of sun rays were very comforting to the soul.

Well maintained World War II observation tower.
World War II Observation Tower. A lot of them are scattered in the island.

We also get to see another World War II observation tower in the vicinity. In addition to that, we saw some daffodils and some horses too along with other fauna and floras.

It was March when we visited and the daffodils where abloom.
Some random horse. I never ridden one but I find them cute ❀️

Bottom line, these beautiful places aren't the only ones Guernsey has to offer. It is quite a tiny island but it is one little hidden paradise. It is abundant in both history and nature. And is definitely worth visiting at least once in a life time. I hope you enjoyed this article. Γ€ la perchoine.

5
$ 0.85
$ 0.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wooooh! That was a wonderful place prettyflapz, relaxing and peaceful

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course, it is🧑

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed keeps you fit too. Do you like to trek?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. I am active in that kind of activity

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course you do. You're a work out beast. I used to be too when I was living in Australia but the UK cold is making me lazy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's bad! but it's better to hibernate in that kind of weather

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice post my friend with lots of images, I enjoyed the view. I would love to visit the fairy ring too😊.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you enjoyed the view and I hope my photos do it a bit of justice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SureπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good information about the places. Especially the fairy rings. Only now did I know there is something called Fairy rings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the beauty of travel. I am glad you discovered if through me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some infos are really exceptional

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can't wait to read part 3! "Baonjour" is proper guernsey language

$ 0.00
1 year ago