Luxmuralis in Bristol Cathedral: Space Voyager

13 160
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Art, Blog, Photography, Night, ...

Hi guys, today I will take you to church and share with you something beautiful and mesmerising. During my birthday, after all the fireworks excitement, Andrea and I were headed home. The only last pit stop we wanted to make was iced coffee as I was craving for one. However, we ended up doing a totally different and totally spontaneous thing.

We noticed that there was a long queue at the Bristol Cathedral. And as curious creatures we nosed around and decided to queue too without knowing what the event was called. Lucky enough they were still selling tickets as apparently this was their last night in Bristol. Entry fee was Ā£9.50 for adult, Ā£6.00 for child, and Ā£8.00 for concession. We are both adults unfortunately with no concession. šŸ˜­šŸ˜‚

When we entered the Church, we saw quite a scene. The church was completely transformed to look like a galaxy filled with beautiful psychedelic lights that were projected on its walls and ceilings, we did not even feel like doing the cross sign as it did not feel like a Church.

This light show is actually part of the pop-up projection art gallery called Luxmuralis, which showcases their arts in iconic buildings in the UK. And this one is called, Space Voyager Light Show which aims to take you on a journey of light and sound to the edge of the universe and back.

The church was actually quite a good venue for this show as its architectural arches provides a smoother flow and transition for the lights. Also, it gives a very nice acoustic for the background music. I really felt like I was in outer space! The only thing that reminded me that I was not in space was the fact that there were quite a lot of people that evening. As I am quite short on height, I asked Andrea to take the taller photos where there aren't any people heads.

Our favourite part of the evening was the end bit because we were allowed to sit down and watch the space lights at the nave of the church. It was absolutely stunning. Although we were warned that it is not for epileptic people as these strobe lights may trigger it. Since we don't have that condition, we stayed quite a long time just feeling the space vibes before we decided to head out. Although I must admit, I did feel a little dizzy towards the end.

Overall, that immersive light show had been a very good experience for me and Andrea. We both from the Catholic faith and we were quite amazed and happy how science and the church has melded in harmony even just for that one night. In fact, we enjoyed it so much we are now planning to see another Luxmuralis show in another city this weekend. I hope you enjoyed the lights guys. And see you in my next article for more spontaneous wanders and adventures!

14
$ 1.78
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 2
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Art, Blog, Photography, Night, ...

Comments

Iā€™m truly impressed by the designed arts. Lovely place šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow that is a heck of a light show. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was pretty impressive Mr. Cool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It all looks very impressive, tell me, did you make a video?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I definitely did. Although I cannot upload videos on here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take my money and take me there! Your spontaneity paid off for these are gorgeous!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Come and visit the UK Art I will take a day off to show you around!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, so beautiful did you say is a church? Am sure you enjoyed your birthday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Nan. Yes this is a church. It does not look like one does it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda sis. Napaka unique tingnan. First time ko naka encounter ng ganito even its in virtual world only na amazed ako sobra.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uu sis I felt like I was in space šŸš€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Feels like travelling in Multiverse, haha. Such a beautiful display of art.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Precisely how I felt as well. Art is powerful it takes you to places šŸ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago