Guy Fawkes Day Fireworks

16 67
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Fireworks, My Story, Birthday, Life, Blog, ...

"Remember, remember the 5th of November!" -Guy Fawkes

Lucky for me I get free fireworks in the United Kingdom for my birthday as I was born the same night as the Guy Fawkes Day or more commonly known as the Bonfire Night. Now you might be asking, "Who on earth is Guy Fawkes, Flo?"

Guy Fawkes or Guido Fawkes is the gutsy guy who tried to blow up the Parliament House to assassinate the then king of England James I, but failed and got executed. Sounds a little familiar? Yes it is! As it is slightly where the movie, V for Vendetta got its inspiration from. It is popularly known in history as the failed Gunpowder Plot Revolution of 1605. The Parliament considers the 5th of November a national day of thanksgiving from then on.

To this day Every 5th of November, all over the UK, fireworks displays, bonfires with straw effigies or replicas of Guy Fawkes getting burnt, and parades are to be expected. And if you happen to be on a higher ground you can expect to see them all over the place.

My boyfriend and I wanted to see the fireworks in London but we heard there was going to be a train strike that day so we opted to watch it in Bristol instead as it is closer to Bath where I live. We did not even book the fireworks in advance as we were not sure where to go to watch it as there were so many options. So my expectations were low.

My friend Jennifer suggested to watch it at the Clifton Observatory. And I did thought it was a good idea as Andrea has not seen the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge by Brunel yet. So we walked there and arrived an hour before the scheduled show. We had time to walk around and admire the iconic bridge too. It was said online there was an entry fee of 10Β£ per person but when we arrived it was free. Yay! Lucky day!

Clifton Suspension Bridge πŸŒ‰

It was quite cold and rainy so we almost actually did not wait for the fireworks. But I am glad the curiosity got the best of us as we were able to witness such a mesmerising sight at such a close distance! I really felt special on my birthday despite the fireworks not being intended for me. I am also glad to be able to share such romantic moment with my special someone.

I took so many photos with my amazing new phone so I could show it to you guys. So I really hope you enjoyed the photos as it really did exceed my expectations. That's all for now. Cheers!

PS: I have been pretty busy lately so please be patient and bear with me as I catch up with all my notifications. I will see it all soon. ❀️

17
$ 0.47
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 4
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Fireworks, My Story, Birthday, Life, Blog, ...

Comments

Omg😱😱😱. You did really enjoyed yourself. You truly deserve it be treated like this Thanks for sharing.Her lovely Majesty πŸ‘ΈπŸ’œπŸ’œ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much my friend ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very neat display for your birthday!! I think they need to rename it Maddam Flapiz day though 🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha Princess Flapiz. Madame sounds quite old 😹

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well maybe 200 years as a tribute to your life haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Belated happy birthday, may you get success and happiness for the rest of your life, I love fireworks show. Those shots showing some mind blowing display of firecrackers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I appreciate that. And I am glad you liked the fireworks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I missed bonfire night this year, as I was still abroad that day. Looks like you however made the most of it. Your new camera takes beautiful pictures. Happy blated birthday Flo! πŸŽ‚πŸ˜˜πŸ’™

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Monika. Welcome back to you the UK! I hope you're feeling refreshed from your holiday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehh, a bit home sick and tired, but I had a great holiday, thank you πŸ’™

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh bless you. Are you back to work straight away?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I was. That was not a good idea ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday to you... how's the celebration over there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a belated now but I did have a great time. Thank you so much ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! 😲 Ganda naman ng fireworks sis. 😲 Na miss ko na makakita ng fireworks. Nung new year di ako nakakita kasi nasa loob lang ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uu sis miss ko din Yung Filipino New Year fireworks πŸŽ†

$ 0.00
1 year ago