Bittersweet Flight Back to the Mainland

27 57
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Flight
Source: Unsplash

The day started early for me today, actually I barely slept. My boyfriend finished his shift at midnight and I normally collect him from office to get more steps. Since it is my last day in the island, we decided to finish watching the Dahmer series on Netflix before bed time. We ended up sleeping around 2:00 AM. Set 3 alarms with 3 phones to ensure we wake up in 3 hours time.

We woke up at 5:00 AM as my pre-booked taxi collected us at 6:00 AM from my partner's house to the airport. To be honest, my flight was supposed to be 2 days ago but the separation anxiety was too strong I decided to delay the inevitable a bit more and moved the flight for today. I have gotten so used to living with my boyfriend these past couple of months as he was supporting me while I was unemployed. It dawned on me all at once how much I would miss his presence. Funny how you realise the importance of something when it is almost gone.

Andrea, bless him, woke up early too to send me off to the airport. It's a lot of effort for him considering he is a sleepy head. He prepared our breakfast while I did my shower and personal prep for the flight. Everything was almost ready anyhow as I prepared my luggage yesterday evening. Got to the airport quite early so we had time to spare for a game of Mobile Legends. We won it in 10 minutes! Yay!

At around 6:35 AM Andrea and I said our goodbyes as he needs to catch the bus back to his place and I still have to undergo airport checks. I am proud to say I only cried a little and did not end up smudging my mascara and looking like a raccoon. The checks took a while as my hair set off the x-ray scanner again. I really don't know how on earth. It always happens! 

Aurigny Guernsey's own airline company 💛

The boarding time was a little late but not as late as it usually does. Guernsey planes are almost always delayed. 😂 I hate travelling this early but on the plus side I was able to see a lovely sunrise inside the plane. Unfortunately I have not photos for that as I was sat on an aisle seat but it was majestic! 

On the positive side of things, I am finally working again tomorrow after a long bout of unemployment. I can earn money just in time for Christmas and also can now resume sending money home to my family in the Philippines. Andrea is flying to see me for the weekend so I would only be without him for 2 days really. 

Bottomline, in life there are sacrifices that needs to be done to achieve personal goals. It is important to find a partner that will support you through it even when it is hard. I am lucky with my boyfriend as he is trying his best to find employment in the mainland too so that we could be closer to each other. I definitely see the good effort he puts in this relationship and I intend to do the same. 

Anyway here I am in Bristol, safely landed. It is my first time landing here so I am a bit lost. Now off to find the bus to Bath. I have a really busy day ahead of me so I am writing this blog in between transits. I do hope your day is going well in your side of the world. Cheers! 


11
$ 2.65
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Flight

Comments

Best of luck with your new adventure. Hopefully soon you b/f will reunite with you on the mainland with a job as well :)

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you. It will be hard since there are not a lot of finance jobs here in Bath but we are hopeful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Be hopeful but also realize you are both young and a career field change is not out of the question if it warrants it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Truly. And I think for the right person why not?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodluck Prettyflapz! Wish na sumunod Bf mo soon, Labarn lang para sa future

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He is trying pero mukhang mahirap as there is not much finance jobs in where I am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

switch muna siya ng ibang job malay mo mas magustuhan niya pala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga eh. Sana naman. Ayoko nang LDR kasi clingy akong tao hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why did this affected me and got me emotional lol!

Funny how you realise the importance of something when it is almost gone.

Good luck with your job! I hope it won't be that hectic of a job so you can keep coming here in read :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Awww maybe you've experienced something of the sort. Thank you so much. I hope so too as I am loving read!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh, please share photos soon.. kanindot guro diha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Puhon sis inag di ko tapulan :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congrats for your new job! so sweet of your bf sis..

also, nganu ni? hair set off the x-ray scanner ?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kinahanglan na guro ug haircut sis kay baga2x na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahilig sad diay ka manood ug movie series ma'am nuh hahaha pareha ta halos dle na ma monitor ang proper time to sleep pero just enjoy sa byahe and safe trip

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao giduka intawon ko kaayo karon madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome in the mainland! Does your hair really set off the x-ray? do you have any metal in it or what? 🤣🤣🤣 What will you be doing for work?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well I don't think it has any metal in it. So I googled why. And it could either be a tumour or it could just be because my hair is so massive 😂 I will be working as a dialysis nurse 👩‍⚕️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's interesting, I never knew this was possible. Good luck with the new job 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess this means I need a haircut 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung Dahmer's series sis gusto ko talaga yan panoorin pero hanggang ngayon di ko pa naumpisahan. Trending yan ngayon kaya curious ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is very disturbing sis but also very interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Gusto ko manood.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love travelling only the process I hate 🤣 You've got a lovely friend!😊

I'm just so happy and I know how it feels that finally you're back to work and making your own money once again. And yes, Christmas is coming, and we need money!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We Filipinos are known for our generosity towards friends and family and it was really stressing me to think about my Christmas obligations. Thankfully God provided :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

amping kanunay sis! haays I feel you; that's really a sad thing you are going through. I hope you two will see each other soon and be together. I would love to see you both happy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamat sis. Ang kamaayo lang pud sis kay afford niya mag biyahe to see me every weekend pero hasul lang gamay kay walay airport sa Bath, Somerset.

$ 0.00
1 year ago