NFT projects: CryptoR.AT Nightmare Edition and Council of Frogs

7 94
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago
Topics: NFT, EVM, Doge, DogeChain, Crypto, ...

Thursday, 15th of September 2022

What do Rats and Frogs have in common?

In this case the common denominator is the creator of these 2 NFT collections - Leander (Shadowkite). Both, I might add, are very special collections.

Crypto Rats started in SLP times, before I even joined the cryptoverse. When SmartBCH craze started at the end of Summer of 2021, the creator of Rats made it possible for rats to be bridged over to SmartBCH. Eventually in August 2022, new addition to Rats family was added on dogechain – Nightmare edition. What is special about this collection? I’ll get to it in a minute. Let’s talk about Frogs first!

From Day 1 of Oasis, I saw cute frogs, popping up in Live Auctions TG and I wondered that is their story. I assumed all were already minted and concentrated on checking out other collections that were still minting at that time. I knew that Leander was the project owner and that it was a bridge of sort, although I had no idea how it works, so I knew the time will come to do some research about The Council of Frogs (COF).

That time came last week, when I looked closer at all those TG groups I joined and realised that the mint of COF is not over yet! I looked up COF website and realised that first time I looked at it, I got confused, because the usual ‘mint’ word was replaced by ‘adoption’ 😅 Silly Me!

I still had some BCH in SmartBCH, so I headed over to the adoption centre and adopted 7 cute frogs. My favourite of them was the rainbow frog. Although it is not the best ranked of them all, I really love the bright colours:

In fact, I got a little obsessed with those cute creatures. I continued to adopt more and more. Pretty much every time I open my laptop I adopt a few more of them. I better stop opening my laptop then ;)

Regular mint price for these is 0.025BCH, but if you hold 1 Rat on smartBCH, you will be able to adopt COF for only 0.02BCH. The very special thing about Council of Frogs is that once minted, you can bridge your Frogs to many different chains. All you need to do is select the frog you'd like to bridge and press 'Send to [chosen chain]'. Within a few minutes your frog is 'teleported' to the same address on the chain of your selection.

I chose to send my frog to the DogeChain and from here I listed it in the Oasis Marketplace. The day I adopted my first frogs I was lucky, as 2 of them sold instantly for 40 doge. I paid 0.02BCH for each (around $2.3 at that time) and I received an equivalent of $2.48 in Doge, so not only had I bridged my BCH technically for free (not counting gas), but also earned a few pennies on this. Had I not had a Rat in my wallet, it would cost me $2.87 to mint one frog, so it's good to have a Rat if you're minting bigger quantities.

I haven't tried bridging my frogs to any other chains, but I'm pretty sure the process is equally easy. For those who still have some funds 'stuck' in SmartBCH this is a nice and easy way to move them to another chain.

CryptoR.AT Nightmare Edition

Now... let's go back to Rats! Nightmare Edition is super exciting you guys. Why? Because you can play with them like with dolls - changing their outfits and accessories as and when you please. Initially there were 1000 CryptoR.ATs and 2000 traits available to mint. Each rat came dressed up with 1 trait. On the day of the mint I just run out of Doge and I had to bridge some over from Binance. Luckily Insanity (Leander's wife) waited a little bit for me, so I can participate in the mint. Overall I minted 13 CryptoR.ATs at 55 Doge each and maybe around 10 traits at 44 Doge each.

All 1000 Rats were gone in a few hours. Traits were available for a bit longer, but also minted out very fast. So far I can say that it was best spent Doge on DogeChain. Selling just 5 of my Rats already covered my cost of minting rats and traits and I still have 8 of them left with plenty of traits. My best Rat currently has 26 Nexus and it's featured in Monster Chart at position 18.

My 26 Nexus $Rat
Monster CHart with my Rat on it

But wait the minute, what is the Monster Chart and why is it good to have your Rat featured on that page? That's one of the excitement of owning a nice Rat. Every week on Saturday, all Rats from the Monster Chart participate in a raffle. The lucky winner can get 1 free trait!

How does one make it to the Monster Chart? Each Rat has a base Nexus power. Each trait also has Nexus power assigned to it. My Rat from the example above has base of 6 Nexus. To increase the base, I dressed up my Rat with traits of the biggest Nexus that I had in my wallet and the total came to 26 Nexus. As you can see my Rat is equipped with 6 different traits, but it is possible to have up to 8 traits on 1 Rat.

From the main page pick 'On the shelves' and you will be directed to all the traits that are currently in your wallet. You can browse them here by categories.

My 26 Nexus $Rat as Alpha and 15 Doge to claim

To dress up your Rat, you need to click 'My $RATs' and select the rat that you want to equip with traits. Below your Rat you with see all your traits again and you can try them on to see what your rat will look like. When you're happy with your selection, click Equip, confirm transaction and voila - your rat has a new outfit already.

Dressing up page

Similarly, you can remove traits one by one or all of them at once by using 'Unequip' or 'Unequip all' buttons. There is also 'Set as Alpha' option and if you decide to use it, the Rat you selected as Alpha will show up next to your wallet address, like on the picture above.

Is it all exciting enough? I think so! Although there is MORE! Apart from all the fun with dressing up your $Rat, participating in weekly raffles, you can also earn Doge just by holding $Rats in your wallet. It might not be a huge amount, but let's face it - there is not many NFT collections that can offer this. The amount will only increase once Oasis gets royalties upgrade, which will most likely happen already this week.

EDIT: I’ve just heard there is also a fun raffle! All the Rats listed on Oasis collect Doge too, but since Oasis contract doesn’t claim it, it gets back to the project owner and when the amount reaches 50 Doge, there is another raffle for all Rat holders! This happens approximately once in 1 or 2 weeks.

Bearing all of the above in mind I can say with confidence that CryptoR.AT for me is by far the most exciting NFT collection currently on DogeChain. I also take my hat off to Leander for giving investors an opportunity to bridge their Council of Frogs NFTs from SmartBCH to DogeChain (and many other chains) with just 1 click. I wish many other project owners from SmartBCH would offer their investors a similar opportunity.

Until next time 💙

12
$ 14.87
$ 8.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.95 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.06 from @nomadghada
+ 10
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago
Topics: NFT, EVM, Doge, DogeChain, Crypto, ...

Comments

I'm out of track now on smartBCH actually, does the rats on sBCH have the same usecase like in dogechain?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not quite yet, but the rats conract has been upgraded on sBCH today to make the traits available, but traits mint will be on the 15th of October :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I hope sBCH recovers soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh the rainbow frog looks lovely indeed. Good choice! That's great about RATS and DOGE to do that. That's the first time I've learned of such initiative.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too, although I heard some more projects are introducing similar initiatives. I’m very happy to hear this. As for the rainbow frog, it was a random mint, so I didn’t know what I will get, which was super fun to get the rainbow 🌈 one 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are cute.. Where to dress those rats?/_😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They’re on Dogechain sis. Here is website: https://nightmares.cryptor.at/monsters

$ 0.00
1 year ago