My Splinterlands journey has started

29 50
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Sunday, 26th of September 2021

September is almost over and I realised I haven't posted for 3 days again. I know what you will ask - is Ernesto taking over again? Well, the answer is yes and no. Yes, because he's having lots of fun and no, because we're doing a lot of productive stuff.

Firstly I need to stay active on Discord AxieBCH group in order to be considered as a scholar and one way to stay active is to play Pokemon game within the channel. Somebody suggested it when I first joined the group, but when I checked in the game room, it all looked a bit too alien to me. I've never played Pokemon games before and don't know any names, so I gave it a miss at first.

Yesterday I saw a notification in from AxieBCH and I realised Cynthia was calling me to play. I said I don't know how, but she took her time to explain and I managed to catch my first few Pokemons with her help. First one I got was Pikachu - probably the only Pokemon I know and I hear this was very lucky, as many people are trying to catch this one for their collections. Turns out it's a lot of fun catching these cute little guys and today there were many people in the room who clearly know a lot of Pokemon names and were helping us, noobs greatly. Thanks to them I already have 24 cuties!

Some of my Pokemons

Other times I just use p!h command which gives a few letters of the name and I guess until I get it right ๐Ÿ˜…

Splinterlands is way too addictive!

While waiting to be accepted as a scholar in AxieBCH, I also decided to familiarise myself with other blockchain games to get some gaming experience. I mean, I love gaming in general, but to be getting paid for playing games is a relatively new concept for me. Again - I saw many people posting about Spinterlands, Alien Worlds and other blockchain games when I first signed up to Noise.cash, but even getting my head around having a crypto wallet and attaching it to noise was way above my head then, so imagine how I felt seeing these posts. They looked cool, but it was way to scary to even think about how to start it all.

As I spend more time at noise.cash, read.cash and TG crypto groups I read more, learn more and I am slowly pushing outside my comfort zone more and more. Finally after reading so much about Splinterlands I decided to give it a go. As with every game, there is a learning curve involved. Usually playing a tutorial on any new game I play is enough to learn a lot about the game, but after trying a tutorial in Splinterlands I only got confused more. I tried a few arena fights, but I was keep loosing, as I didnโ€™t understand what the numbers on the cards mean and how to arrange them or which splinters to use for what.

Off I go to find some help on YouTube. Here as well even the videos for beginners made no sense at all. I mean, what is tank? What is melee? So I went back to Splinterlands website and found FAQ and this is where I finally found some info for total noobs ๐Ÿ˜…

Familiarising myself with some of the new for me vocabulary sure helped and I could then watch some tutorials about some strategies etc. Seriously - I never had to do so much to even start playing a game. A lot of the games I played in the last few years, I had a tutorial sitting in front of me though. I would watch my partner play a new game until I couldnโ€™t watch anymore and would ask if I can try to play too.

Anyway, after some hours of researching I was finally ready to attempt my first daily quest - Death. It took quite a few attempts, but finally I earned my first chest!

My first chest earned in daily quest!

Inside the chest was a card! I was super happy to have an extra card, even though I didnโ€™t even know all about the playable cards I had in my collection.

My first reward card.

I noticed that concentrating on one splinter at the time was super helpful, because I was getting to know all the cards in Death splinter in more depth. The lost fights were helpful too, because I would notice what cards in what positions the winning party would use and try similar setups for myself too.

On Day 2 I couldnโ€™t quite understand what I was asked to do in my daily quest, but I learned that I can swap to another one once every day, so thatโ€™s what I did. My quest changed to winning 5 arena battles with Water splinter. I purchased couple of cheap cards to my water collection and through arena battles I was learning my second splinter in more depth. I was getting a hang of it more and more and had my first 6 won battles streak, which greatly improved the amount of DEC (Dark Energy Crystals) as well as experience point per battle. Finally I managed to settle in the middle of Bronze III league.

I also learned that I can claim daily airdrops, but my first and second one was rather poorly:

Today is day 3 and my quest was to win 5 battles with Fire splinter. I didnโ€™t want to get myself kicked out of Bronze League again, so this time I trained my Fire abilities in practice battles. Sadly I was loosing most of the time! I decided to verify my account and sent $15, so I can get some better cards. I managed to pick one universal gold card, which increases the amount of DEC per won battle and couple of cheap Fire splinter cards. One of them works great and turned out to be of great help, but for some reason I am not able to use the second one - Charlok Minotaur.

Charlok Minotaur

If anyone is able to explain why can't I use this card in the comment section, I would be forever grateful. All in all, I managed to complete another dayโ€™s quest and this time I received a potion of some sort, which Iโ€™m also not sure how or when to use it.

After todayโ€™s purchases my power increased to over 650, so I am hoping for a better airdrop tomorrow. I read that to get new packs of cards we need to hold and stake SPS tokens, which I have none, so hopefully I can collect some more before the sale starts.

Thatโ€™s it for today. This is what I get up to these days. If you too are a Splinterlands player feel free to share some game tips in the comments. I have plenty to learn!

Until next time ๐Ÿ’™


11
$ 7.24
$ 6.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
+ 8
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Greetings! I also wanted to get infected with those games but I don't have to invest and I don't understand the processes of changes in wallets but I found Rising Star which is linked to Hive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've downloaded the game and tried a few battles. But because of my poor performance in battles I haven't decided on buying a spell book yet. Could you suggest a good tutorial video?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I donโ€™t remember downloading anything for Splinterlands, just login on website. These days I mainly learn by practice and observation. If I find any good links Iโ€™ll share with you ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used the mobile version that's why I had to download hehe. I think I'll practice more before buying the spell book just to be sure. Thank you! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yes, that makes sense! I use my laptop for playing. Yeah, best to practice first. I didnโ€™t practice much, as I was too keen to start earning ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess i need to familiarize some crypto games now too ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh hi sis ๐Ÿ˜˜ Yeah, there is the whole new world out there. Come join the fun ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis I will also explore this game too.. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next thing youโ€™ll be writing article about it ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too bad I can't help you with that :D I first heard about Splinter when I was with Steemit. I am pretty sure I have won some cards in some challenges but I can't recall what happened to them. God luck your gaming! Hope you will be accepted as scholar soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So you have Splinterlands account too Lee? Thank you, itโ€™s quite a rollercoaster trying to keep up with everything ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have'nt tried this ,aside of i didn't know how to play ,im also afraid to try๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing to be afraid dear. You can practice with free account and if you donโ€™t like it, then no need to buy a spellbook ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is only those who have the mind to play games do this ๐Ÿ˜„ I have disliked games right from time and I don't how to play it even if one has to teach me ๐Ÿ˜ฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess itโ€™s not for everyone. I love playing games and these are super addictive ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I joined yesterday too. Hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, cool! How are you getting on with it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have played a couple of games so far. Lost my first game... I had no idea what to do.. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜. I won the second game, but I did not know how I won.

Then I realized there is a practice game, aside from the tutorial. I play some practice rounds before I buy the spellbook

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahh cool. I get lucky sometimes and have a win streak, then you get more exp per battle and more DEC, but usually is one win won loss ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will do some more practice games for now. I wanted to use my BAT from my Brave browser on my old phone.. only to realize that Uphold is no longer available in the Philippines. Now I need to find another way to get that spellbook. heheh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I bought mineโ€™s with PayPall. My BCH is too precious ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's quite interesting Monika.๐Ÿฅฐ I play axie too. It's super fun.

I want to try the others. Take care always Monika.๐Ÿ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You play Axie too? Did you buy your own Axies?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you jumped in Monika! I guess the card is on cooldown that's why you can't use it yet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What does it mean that itโ€™s in cooldown? And how long does the cooldown last? ๐Ÿ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried yet. A few weeks ago, I thought about starting. But when I started watching tutorials, I gave it up. I'm not very good at video games. But let's see if I cheer up in the next few days. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Splinterlands is more of a card/strategy game. Itโ€™s cool ๐Ÿ˜Ž

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother is playing the account I have created haha.. Really don't have time for this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's quite time consuming

$ 0.00
2 years ago