Lock & key

20 55
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Friday, 11th of February 2022
Saturday, 12th of February 2022

My front door handle was broken since December, so I was using the back door for... actually months! Yesterday I finally called a locksmith and this morning a nice gentleman came and fixed my door. I almost forgot what it felt like to open the front door and sit on my front porch in the morning sun.

It’s so peaceful. As I sip my coffee I look around and see my spring bulbs slowly building up for the show. Last years foliage covers the drive and the ground around the plants. Pretty moss is growing on stones and in overwatered by the rain pots. My front garden will sure need some spring cleaning very soon…

Back to the gentlemen though. He said the mechanism inside my door was probably more than 25 years old and they don’t make these anymore.Β It's one of those 'fast locks' which don't need a key to lock it. All you do is lift the handle up and it's locked. He told me that many people have locked themselves out of the house and that's most likely why the don't use these locks anymore.

I've been using this outdated lock for 8 years now and at first I also was a bit weary of locking myself out, but with time I got used to making sure that I ALWAYS have my keys before leaving the house. The perk of this was that once the keys were in my pockets I didn't have to use them to actually lock the door, just lift the handle up and go.

Bassett Lock & Key invisible 'warranty'

Today I could have replaced the old mechanism with the new one, but Simon the locksmith also happened to have a second hand, working version of the one I had before, so I opted for this instead. He was not able to give me his usual 1 year warranty for this new, yet old lock, but hey - it's not like anything in life can be guaranteed anyway.


I told him that if it breaks, I'll call him anyway to which he answered that I should and he will not charge me for labour if it happens to break. Well, I meant I'll call him, cause I have him in my phonebook now and I'm too lazy to find another locksmith, but of course I won't say no to this. It sounds better than a warranty to me ;)

I don't know about you guys, but if I can give an old thing a second life, this is always my first choice. I love going to carboot sales and pick up stuff that people no longer want to use. Not only is the second hand option usually cheaper than new, but there is just less trash on our already trashed planet. I recycle and upcycle anything I can. Sometimes I take it too far and end up having 100's of plastic containers - 'wannabe plant pots' or pretty glass jars which I will use 'one day'.

That's when reality check comes in and I need to do some 'spring cleaning'. I guess BALANCE is always the KEY.

The lead image Key

Of course, I love new shiny things too. So I let myself be spoiled by a brand new thing every now and again. I make it a treat rather than a rule. This way every purchase is well thought through and I only buy things I either really need or really, really like.

The Valentines contest Key

Speaking of reusing... As I was editing the picture of this article, I realised it has UMA written on it. That gave me an idea for a Valentines Card contest by SuperUmans. I'm not great with making poems, but hey - let's hope the judges will go for the looks ;)

Until next time πŸ’™

Β 

14
$ 7.43
$ 6.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 10
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

UMA is the key!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before when I was alone living in my apartment, I always make sure to bring my key with me. Same to you, I was so afraid to lock myself up haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought that this is related to the Series in Netflix Locked & Key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a disappointment!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been careful to keep my keys handy, I have never had to resort to a locksmith for locking myself out of the house. As long as you can give a second chance to a piece of furniture or household object I don't see the problem of doing it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my son was crying aty mother in laws ministore coz my mother in law forgot that my son was inside ,he keeps calling me and cried .my poor little child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered when I got a separate room from my sisters while I was growing up, and I was given my own room.. The fact that I can lock my door while I was inside the room gave me so much joy, I would go to school and lock my door, not until the day I lost my key and the door had to be broken down.. After the repair, I never lock my room door again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 I once locked myself out of the house with the fast lock when I was younger. Good thing someone was inside. Goodluck on the contest!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, lucky you! I participate in the contests more to show my name around and support for certain groups. Winning would be an icing on the cake, but not really necessary ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, that's so nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mo' you just fixed that front lock since? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I remembered you told me. Oh well...

I was hoping you wouldn't fix it till I come. Would be easier to come in through the back door πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, took me quite some time! No worries, back door is still there ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always loved the back door 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually only thought about the recycling when you mentioned it, the reason I have been going for used stuff is because it is cheap and for good value too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is sure a good reason too, but I bet it makes you feel better now as you realise you also help our environment by doing this. Too many people just buy new stuff all the time to make themselves feel better. I have friends who have every corner of their house packed full with STUFF they will never even use. Some with the price tag on them still. So much waste all around us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you that many just buy stuff for the sake of gratification. Some do it just to show off. Why'd you buy something you don't need and just put it there, when you can probably donate them to charity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess most of us women do or think like this hehe I'm a bit fond also reusing a second hand items but not all the time. I ask first what it's story before taking it.

Ohh I remember when me and boyfie went to Japan surplus store. I get cringe seeing old stuffs. You know just like we saw on movie. Hehe πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A surplus store? I've never heard of it. Certain things have a smell which I don't like, especially books and clothes, so I would always skip this. My nose too sensitive ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which one of them is key to success?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one that opens your door. Everyone has to find theirs ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago