Life would be boring without Tina! Part 2 of FRIENDS

41 218
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Thursday, 8th of July 2021

My friend Tina could be my mother if she really tried. Very young mother, as there is 15 years between the two of us. As I mentioned before, I am an old soul though, so having much older friends have always been a thing in my life.

The most recent picture of us - just 2 days ago!

Out of all places we could have met, we met on the dance floor! Me, on the floor, doing splits with another girl after the salsa party has just finished and Tina, laughing out loudly and expressing her gratitude for the best birthday ever with us crazy salsa folk. There is something about people who laugh really loud that always gets me. They laugh from the bottom of their heart, just like me I guess.

That time when Lady photobombed Tina’s picture, as she jumped out of the river right in the frame!

I saw her briefly at a few parties since then and a few months later I was looking for a roomie for a yearly salsa congress in London. Someone pointed out that Tina was also looking for a roomie, so that’s where our paths crossed again. I got in touch with her and we sorted out the booking, but we totally missed each other on agreeing how to get there!

Unbeknowlingly to me, she made travelling arrangements with our other friends and we haven’t exchanged phone numbers by then. She was trying to duck someone and when I called, she didn’t pick up, thinking it was the person she didn’t want to hear from. For once I was ready to get to the hotel early, as I wasn’t working that day and not being able to get in touch with Tina was driving me mad. I didn’t want to leave without her in case she didn’t make other arrangements.

First time roomies and friends for life!

It was early evening when I sent her an angry text after many unsuccessful phone calls. She replied immediately with explanations and saying she’s there already. I was fuming! I even considered not going, as my mood was completely spoiled, but I also promised to work for the organisers of the congress and I couldn’t not keep my promised, so I got in the car and drove on my own. Luckily there was no traffic and it was a smooth ride. Back then I didn’t realise the importance of Divine Time and I was still trying to make things go my way, not knowing that they always happen just at the right time.

Next part I didn’t remember clearly, but only recently, when Tina and I had a few glasses of wine in her hot tub one full moon evening she told me she remembers it vividly. I stormed into the room, threw my bag on the bed I preferred and said ‘I take this bed!’.

Who the hell does SHE think she is?’ Tina thought to herself, but politely moved herself to another bed. We proceeded to clear the air by exchanging our versions of what happened and afterwards we started getting ready for the party and drinking loads! I guess that’s another part which I instantly loved about Tina. There was no beating around the bush and no hurt feelings were left without discussing it. Over the course of these last 5 years since I’ve met her this has always been the case and I value this in any relationship.

Mambo City salsa congress by Michael Ault.

I think it was 2am when we finally got to the party, after hours of chatting about our past relationships. Time was of no issue though, as parties at Mambo City 5 Star Congress last till 6 am and the biggest party animals make sure to stay till the end and go to breakfast together. This particular year I had breakfast with newly met guy and his friend. Patrick turned out to be my life partner for the coming 5 years! Tina has been witnessing our love sprouting and growing over these years and became inseparable part of it in many ways.

Taking pics from every party to send to my far away partner.

Tina is one of kind friend that we all need in our lives. She’s been through a lot, but this never closed her heart from loving and giving her best to everyone. Sometimes I get asked how is it possible that the two of us are friends. She is the craziest of all my friends and there is always some kind of drama going on. She can also be flaky with her timing and trying to arrange travels with her is one heck of a challenge! So what? I can be flaky too. These days I just add a specific amount of time on top of the scheduled time and sometimes I even manage to make her wait 😅

Why do I love Tina?

  • She’s one of the most loyal people I known in my life. Our friendship is not without challenges, but as mentioned above, there always comes a time when we sit down and talk it all through and even though circumstances tear as apart at times, we always come back together, like old lovers.

  • You can count on her when your house is on fire! Call her in the middle of the night and if you manage to wake her up after the busy day she had, she’ll open her door and let you sleep in her bed and will feed you in the morning too!

  • Fancy a crazy adventure in our out of town/country? She’s your girl. No party can ever be boring with Tina.

  • She has a heart of gold, which she tries to share between her 3 grown up children, probably 9 or 10 grandchildren, 2 cats, 3 dogs, foster child and many, many friends.

  • She is a kind of friend which will show up unexpectedly on your doorstep with a bunch of flowers and screaming they are for her suicidal friend loud enough that the whole neighbourhood can hear it. There have been really dark patches in my life even since I’ve met her, although most people have no idea, as I don’t share it with many. She will always make time in her busy life to make sure I am ok.

  • She has a jacuzzi in her garden! Nothing beats the night spent basking in the light of full moon on a summer night with a glass of wine and heaps of laughter.

Party animals!

I’m sure I am missing many more reasons here, but I try to make the article not overly long, so it doesn’t become a book. In fact I could write a book about Tina alone!

When pandemic hit us all last year Tina suddenly had more time due to lack of clients in her beauty salon. She took some of that time to ponder about her life and decided to become a foster parent. I was a bit concerned how she will manage with another person to care for, but if you have a friend like Tina in your life you will know that once they set their mind into doing something, nothing can stop them!

‘Tina, my love!’

Of course fostering brought more challenges into Tina’s life, but seeing Grace’s (name changed for security reasons) journey in the past few months it is definitely worth the struggle. When I met Grace for the first time she was very uneasy and she wouldn’t leave Tina’s side for a second. She would follow her even to the toilet and wait behind closed door for her to finish. Just a few more months later she's settled in, feels much more secure and starts to behave like a happy child.

One thing you can hear the most in Tina’s house these days is Grace shouting ‘Tina, my love!’. Trust me, she can do this all day long.

My fostering journey started thanks to Tina.

From the first day I met Grace, Tina insisted I should apply to the be a foster parent myself. Grace really likes spending time with me and if I don’t show up for a while, she asks ‘When is that Monika coming?’. It truly warms my heart and eventually I decided to take my first step (but this you know already from my previous articles). By now I have completed my application and had 3 meetings with lovely ladies from the fostering agency Tina referred me to. Within the next 1-2 weeks I will be matched with an assessor/social worker to embark on 4-6 months journey throughout my life. I am sure it will be emotional, but also very healing and I promise to update you on my journey as much as possible.

Tina dancing at Alchemy Social. Photo by Alchemy Dance Academy

By now I am sure you realise that everyone needs a friend like Tina in their life. I for one could not imagine my life without her!

Until next time 💙

13
$ 9.33
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @MarSou
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
+ 8
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! What a treasure Tina is. I could use a friend like Tina. Yes, I have circle of friends but not as close as your friendship with Tina. And Grace, she is adorable. Hope your foster child will be one too and will call you "Monika, my love". 🧡🧡🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you too will cross paths with an amazing friend like Tina. You are a warm and kind person and you deserve best friends 😘

Who knows who will enter my house in just a few months? I am getting more and more excited about it. For now, I get to hear ‘Monika, my love’ from Grace when I visit. It’s so nice that she accepted me and feels comfortable enough to do this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"My Tina" is called Filomena. I can count in her for everything, as she can count on me too. It's essential to have ppl like this in our life 🥰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My friends are closer to me than even my family. That tells you everything. I’m happy you have your Filomena too. I hope she’s also as crazy as Tina 😅💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are lucky to have found a friend like Tina. They are rare gems, I say. She truly is a lovely person that I would want to be friends with. Good luck being a foster parent! That seems daunting but Tina to guide you, I'm sure you'll make it through.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I am blessed with amazing friends, so writing about them is a pure pleasure. I’d love to read about yours too Lee.

Tina will surely be there for me every step of the way, together with a few of my other friends. The fostering agency she referred me to is also one of the best here, so I will get all the training and support that I will need on my journey 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

@Bloghound is my personal friend. She is actually the one who introduced me to blogging :D

That sounds good news! I am excited for you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jerryl is no doubt an amazing friend! Do you guys live close to each other?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She used to live here in our city but decided to move back to her hometown which is two hours away. Pre pandemic we used to visit them a lot for they live near the beach or if not, she and her daughter comes up to the city.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not too far then. That is lovely to hear that you kept the friendship going despite the distance 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's stuck with me, unfortunately lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do I apply for such a friend?🤭😂😂 She is such a bundle of so many things and I couldn't help but laugh all through the post. And yes I wouldn't have minded if this article did turn out to be a book about Tina. I mean she deserves it, doesn't she? How sweet to read about such pure love and friendship. Tell Tina I said Hi and as for Grace! Tell her not to follow Tina to the Toilet again, she isn't running away😂😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You crack me up Zelly! I can ask her if she takes new applications 😅 Bundle of so many things is such a great description for Tina! She definitely deserves a book, it would be quite sizeable too. She is now feeling much more secure, so she doesn’t follow her to the toilet anymore. I was on video call to Tina last night to read the article to her and she was in tears, bless her. Grace hear me and wanted to speak to me before bedtime and she chose this name for herself. So adorable 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I couldn't help laughing myself 🤭 And yes she really is a bundle of so many things

Oh my! You read this to her? I can imagine the tears in her eyes. I really thought you guys are related when I saw the picture before reading the article lol.

And yes I am glad grace is now comfortable on her own that she doesn't follow around. Wow! She chose such a nice name and my name too. Tell her we are friends when next you speak to her because my name is "Abundant Grace" 🤭😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, she said nobody wrote an article about her before and she is now sending it to all her friends, bless her.

Is your name Grace too for real? It is such a beautiful name and utterly suits you with your kindness and gentle soul. I love it. I will tell her for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Fantagira. My real name is "Abundant Grace" zellypearl is one of my nicknames. I have two nicknames but I use this for my blogging journey on different platforms I find myself 🤭🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a beautiful name, but I love your nickname too 💙

My real name is Monika.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I know right? I love it too. Maybe you would have loved my second nickname too. But since it's not what I used here. I decided to let it be lol. Thanks all the same.☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd also love to have Tina in my life. And I like to know that there is progress in your fostering application. Hugs!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Bless you, she would gladly open her heart to you too my lovely friend. Yes, the important steps have been taken. It’s a whole new chapter in my life! 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My wishes that everything goes well. I'm sure it will. You deserve all the good! ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of a truth you both have a striking resemblance. And it's such a nice thing you have Tina in you life. You guys are so lucky to have found yourselves.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Are we? I think our smiles are alike for sure. Yes, we are lucky to have found each other and we have so many things that we love doing together. It’s a blessing.

How about you? I’m sure you have great friends in your life too. I’d love to read about them 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I have a Tina in my life too? You two look sweet and happy :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I’ll ask her if she is open for new applicants! 😅 But seriously, she’d be delighted to welcome another great friend like you in her life 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I want a Tina in my life too :D You guys surely enjoy having a lot of fun together. And it's true, finding a true friend is like finding a real treasure.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

She really is one of a kind. Thank you for stopping by and taking your time to read my friend 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She must be :) It's a pleasure reading yours, you're always welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, you’re too kind 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all could use a Tina...you are my Tina even across the distance. True friendship has no class barrier as your friendship with Tina has proven. I love those who are young at heart and just want to live...I really love your friendship.

I guess you have a lot in common with Tina because I have seen a picture of you where you laughed so heartily and not surprising that you attracted your kind in that regard.

I think I would love to see your angry face...it should be cute...😂🤣😂🤣

I know you will make a good mother in that regard when the whole application is sorted out and you will always draw strength from Tina and I am also here for you.

I can see Tina's personality shining through even as you spoke glowingly about her. I celebrate what an awesome being that she is. Her name is Tina, help me ask her if she likes malTINA 🤣😂🤣. I can be silly sometimes 🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

What the heck is Maltina? 😅

Trust me, you do not wanna see my angry face. Not ever! It is not at all cute.

Yes, we have lots of laughter together. When we both laugh, the whole street can hear 😅

I am your Tina! Not you take this to the next level 😅😅😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maltina is a malt drink here in Nigeria...highly nourishing and refreshing. What the heck! Why am I advertising for them? Do I need to demand payment from them for this unpaid service? 🙈🙈🙈. I just felt Tina and Maltina sure had a nice ring to it.

I think it would be cute to watch you angry. I will record your face for future taunting.

Hahaha you are my Tina... I am your Fanta 😍❤😍❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It does have a nice ring to it. I’ll pass it on to her for approval 😅 It will take while though!

I don’t even like Fanta, you’ll be missing out!

Don’t forget that I am a witch 🧙‍♀️ When I am angry things happen. All kinda things 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, typical Tina but I understand.

Oh well...I have to find a pet name for you.

My special kind of thing should happen...bring down the wrath, beautiful. I can take it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weren’t you gonna sleep then?! What were you doing here, still commenting?!

I thought the name was for you, instead of the Fanta you wanted to be? 😅 You’re getting entangled in this all!

I really wish you from the bottom of my heart that you never need to see this. You literally have no idea what you’re asking for 🧙‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha let me just rest my case 😂😂🤣 for the pet name and the wrath 😂🤣🤣.

I always rush here, fishing out for your comments. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bless you. I hope you had a good amount of sleep 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not really. I think roughly 5 hours. I had a lot of things lined up for today but I am almost done. You?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tina is what I call a true friend in my last article https://read.cash/@adereign/who-is-your-friend-bc39961a

$ 0.00
2 years ago