I danced my night away!

45 223
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Sunday, 14th on July 2021

Some of you might call me crazy for venturing out into the crowds of sweaty people dancing their night away in the centre of London, and I’ve already seen some scared comments on my noise post about it, but I care not. One thing I missed THE MOST in the time of pandemic is salsa - my happy pill.

Can you see these happy faces? How can I starve myself of THIS?

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I don’t believe that covid exists or that it can be dangerous for many, but I also believe that we are all adults and as such are able to make our own decisions. How much longer can we live in fear?

By now majority of people in England, who chose to do so are already vaccinated. I myself have chosen not to for the time being. Some of you may know that I already had covid at the beginning of pandemic and having the antibodies for me is like having been vaccinated. I also take good care of my immune system, making sure I strengthen it with healthy food, supplements and herbs. Dancing, exercising, hugging and being happy can only add goodness and strength to my body.

Last weekend I attended a solo salsa workshops - 1 hour of footwork and 1 hour of ladies styling. It was amazing to be back in my dance shoes and sweating like I haven’t in a long time, but social dancing is what I love even more. The workshops only made me more hungry!

Still, I had doubts before I left last night. Firstly my friend who I was hoping to meet there messaged me earlier yesterday and I knew he was going. We dance a lot together at the parties and have been doing so for years, so I was slightly disappointed that he won’t be there. Secondly I was wondering what will be people behaving like? Will they be scared? Will they be willing to swap partners or will they stick to their circles? Going there on my own was a little risky, but it was the risk I decided to take and I am so so happy that I did.

Another happy dancing moment.

At 7:30pm I just finished my dinner and was chatting to my friend who wasn’t going, when he suddenly said he’s hoping that I’m not texting and driving. S***, in my doubts I kinda forgot about the time! I guess that was then when I decided to go. I took a quick shower and put my make up for the first time since the picnic party at my friend that I attended couple of months ago. I already felt more alive than in the past few months. Of course I forgot that I had barely any fuel in my car, so I had to plan for refuelling stop.

At the petrol station I quickly fuelled the car just enough to get me there and back and made it to a round number, so I can quickly drop the bank note and be on my merry way. I stormed into the shop to pay, but there was a little queue. When I joined it, the man in front of me stepped to the side and asked me to go in front of him. I do this often when I see people with little product while I have a huge shopping cart, but until today it almost never happened to me. What a perfect timing though! I was so happy, I could hug the men! It made my night and also reassured me that I made the right decision to go.

So good to be back with my salsa family!

Seeing surprised and happy faces of the organises, who are my dear friends too made it all worthwhile. They shake their heads in admiration, knowing that I travel 70 miles from Southampton to central London to attend their parties. I was definitely not the only crazy one though. After the party finished I had a chat with a girl who travelled from Scotland just for this one party!

What can one do? Many parties were scheduled and cancelled for various covid related reasons and I was so ready to take my happy pill again! Not much is happening in Southampton at the moment and there are many great dancers in London, plus they always welcome me with open arms and hearts. Jean embraced me in a big hug. She said she was cautious about hugging and hesitant whether it’s a time to go back to dancing yet, but she’s so happy to see me and such a great turnout in general. Many many people were ready to go back to dancing and she urged me to the dance floor, as there were more man than women for once!

I just love to dance 💙

My last salsa party was in February 2020 in the exact same venue. Being there again last night felt like pandemic never happened and I was there just yesterday. I barely managed to put on my dance shoes, when the first man stood in front of me, asking for a dance. My shoulder hasn’t fully healed after breaking it in February, I gained many too many kilograms plus I knew the guy standing in front of me was about to make me sweat, but I didn’t hesitate a second. That was one hell of a warmup!

This hasn’t stopped till the party was over! Doubts? What doubts? Everyone danced with everyone and the only issue turned out to be me. I’m so unfit, I had to sit through a few dances, because after 2 or 3 in a row, I couldn’t catch my breath 😅

Do I know your name?

What hit me the most is how many people’s faces I knew for years, but I didn’t know their names. It never used to matter much for me in the past, but in the last year or so things changed and I make it a point to remember people’s names and use them in conversations.

My first salsa party in London, 2011

Take the guy, who asked me for the first, the last and many dances in between. The picture of us above was taken 10 years ago. This is how long I’ve known him. He is a very experienced dancer and I often see great lady dancers lining up to dance with him. He makes sure to always catch me for a dance at every party we attend and last night he said I made his night with all the dances we had, yet I don’t know his name. The same goes for many other people. We say hello, give each other hugs, dance together, chit chat afterwards, but if I’m not friends with them on crapbook I don’t know their names 🙈 This has to change!

I am one happy girl!

Walking back to my car after the party I felt like walking on air. I was sweaty and the endorphins were rushing throughout my body. I had so many incredible dances and even today the smile doesn’t leave my face for a second.

Who know what the future brings? We might have another lockdown in Autumn or Winter. Right now we have a window of opportunity to dance again and I am sure to make the most of it!

Until next time 💙

22
$ 10.42
$ 9.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Panky
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
+ 14
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I love the way you enjoy yourself dancing! It is a great motivation for me to have a person like you who have positive vibes❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words and welcome here 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome and thank you for your heart warming welcoming❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so interesting, I found myself smiling while reading and seeing your dancing moments. Unfortunately, dancing is not my thing my moves are frustrating hahaha so sad😅.. Love this article of yours🥰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. It’s never too late to learn 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see it in those pictures that you are a happy lady full of vibes. Life has no duplicate and we should enjoy it in a good way with people around us. You look so beautiful in those pictures especially the second one and where you wore a black short gown

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Tha k you so much Princess 😍 Dancing always brings the smile to my face. I love it so much 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello happy girl. i agree with you, no one knows what the future holds and we can't live in fear. if you felt up to going out dancing, hugging and being happy, well, i'm glad you did. The most important thing is that you are very happy you did it, you enjoyed it to the fullest. you took a happy pill!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I totally did, I had the best time. Thank you for stopping by ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my beautiful Salsera, how beautiful it is to see this article and know that beyond Latin American lands, there are people who love this genre so rich, so varied and unique, no doubt I'm glad you dance it, that you enjoy it, that you know how to live this, I agree with you, I agree with you, we are all adults and we know how to take care of ourselves, it depends on each person how he/she copes with this situation, my advice is simple, live, enjoy, dance, and enjoy everything that happens in your life, I am glad that you are living these beautiful moments, that you know how to value life.

By the way, how beautiful you look in these photos, very spectacular, long live Salsa, by the way, here I share with you a jewel of such a rich genre:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pi7wYuioov8

Greetings

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Oh, salsa has been popularised across the world now. I have been dancing for 11 years now and I am in love with the music. So rich and instrumental.

I know the song you shared well 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the outfit you wore for your first image. Oh boy! You know how to stir up that emotions. I love the look you gave the man in your second image. I wish I can slot right there 🤣😂🤣😂

I am glad you are back to your happy place; Salsa.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Trust you to pick up the saucy details 😁 It’s probably the only time I actually wore that outfit. It was a main picture of the salsa newsletter that month and I had many comments about it 😅

Andy, on the second picture is one of my favourite dancers. You’d need some years of learning to slot right there 😉

I am so happy too Ola. Hope for many more dancing nights to come 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. I can't let it pass without seeing it. It's deserving of all the comments. ❤️❤️❤️

I am so sure there would be many more nights. I can't wait to see more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am just happy to see you happy in your way of expression Monika! Sometimes we really need those kinds of social activities too to recharge ourselves. It's like a moment that you won't forget!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I sure won’t forget, but I’m hoping for many more to come 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have no idea of the jealousy I've felt reading your article! Don't get me wrong, It's great you and the rest of the UK get to party again! It's just that yesterday I got the notice that the party I have been waiting for since the last one I have been able to attend back in March 2019, which was originally scheduled for March 2020, has AGAIN been postponed. It was rescheduled for September 2020, then rescheduled for March 2021 and then again for September 4th 2021. But our government (demissionair, spineless, clueless and probably illegal in more than one way) decided to have the covid restrictions for festivals extended to... well, way past the 4th anyway. The result is that the party was rescheduled AGAIN until March 2022! So though happy that return to party life is possible, even as close as the UK, it hurts as the message about us not having parties (of the size of the one I am waiting to go to; >750 attendees) seems to be a fleeting dream as of yet.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh, I’m so sorry to hear this Anon, but please don’t be jealous, that’s too low of a vibe. I feel for you. Our parties have been rescheduled many times too. Last summer there were salsa parties in NL, Italy, Germany and other European countries, but not one thing in UK. I was not happy. This year I am so ready to party again and overjoyed that I was able to go, but not sure how long this window of opportunity will last, so I try to make the most of it.

Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am from across the moat. I'm in The Netherlands. I am surprised you mention last year NL had parties. I can assure you that if we did, they were "forbidden". We were basically not even allowed to look at eachother from less than 1,5 meters. But i am happy that, at least somewhere nearby, people are partying. Soon, next door (to the south) everything is open again and events up to 75000 visiters are allowed again. Maybe i can sneek across the border (yes i can, lived on the border all my life ;) ) and have some party on down south! Something to look forward to i guess.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don’t know about events with 75k visitors, as I don’t attend any, but a few salsa parties were definitely happening in NL last year, as my friends attended them. These are most likely less than 100 people parties though.

I often spend my winters in Leiden, I lived in NL too, for over a year, but I sure prefer it in England 😁

It’s such a small country NL, it took us less to go for a salsa party in Belgium than it takes me to drive to London and to Germany slightly longer than to London, so that’s convenient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel your vibe and it is amazing! I can imagine you dancing and just being happy. That guy at the gasoline station is a heaven sent. The universe agreed to dance with you. I hope you have many more dances and parties to go too soon.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much Lee. He was a true blessing, that made me smile big time 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! You are good in dancing Monika. I see your happy faces while dancing. You enjoy so much. And the most you're so pretty Monika...❤️ God bless you always..🙏❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww, thank you Ramona. You are such a sweetheart 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You look so happy when you are dancing. Hope our world will heal soon so we can back to our normal lives. And then we can dance salsa anytime we want hahhaha and of course hang out with our friends too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I hope so too. Human contact is the best 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You absolutely glow dancing! It is very eminent on these photos you have shared and your happiness is contagious even to us who are just viewing these pics.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Farm Girl. It has always been my happy pill. I hope to swallow more of them soon 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome. All the best on your pill :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww I love dancing but I'm not a good dancer, lol! I love it coz it's a fun activity yet a good form of exercise too.. You're right! Dance those worries and fears away!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Totally! It’s the kind of exercise that doesn’t feel like exercise. It’s the best 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We missed this kind of entertainment, now we are at the point of rebellion, we can explode at any moment. :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is true. I’ve heard of many illegal parties earlier this year, but I didn’t attend any. Now we have been allowed by our government to go back to dancing and I am over the moon 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dear Monika that you had a lot of fun. We can see from the pics that you really love to dance salsa. And using a term I've learned from @Bloghound. You look really sexay dancing! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you my dear. It’s my happy place for sure. Fingers crossed I can attend more next weekend 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You look sexy while dancing 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Jane 🤩 Everything is allowed on the dance floor 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sure look good in dancing. It is your happy place

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It absolutely is. My life missed the spark without dancing over the last 1.5 years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good that you pick up that hobby again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me dancing salsa in my head with those pictures. Yup looks like a happy moment.

True sometimes I wonder how long will we have to coop ourselves up and i would want to go out.. but with our cases rising, hehe i chose to stay on the safe side for now.

The smiles in your pictures are contagious! Scary word for now but maybe not for smiles right? We all need that these days :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Pictures show just how much I love it.

Sure, everyone makes decisions for themselves. Some have vulnerable people around them, some have health issues themselves. Live and let live is my attitude. I chose to take my happy pill while I can 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, fun times, Monika. I'd love to see you dance in real life!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I might ask someone to record me one night 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, that'd be great!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago