Show-Off Paradox - Do it or Dont

6 35
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

In our life we always get into this phase where you either show off things that you have or achieved or you hide. And that leads to problems around our life.

We either show what we can do or don't or we just move on from those problems. But the paradox never leaves us and it would change our life in many ways.

So how does it work? In this post, I am going to discuss the same.

You Show off, They hate you

You win something, you feel like sharing with others. You done something good, you feel like sharing something. And that approach keeps on growing. And you feel like sharing every little thing that happens in your world.

People don't mind you sharing good things in your life. But they would surely hate you when you tend to show off. People hate if anything is overdone and now a days with internet issues, everything is being done a lot. So they tend to hate any show-off.

You don't show off, they think you're useless

I have personally experienced this side. Like I don't do the show off my money and also don't show off my other achievements. And that has made me lose a lot of people. Because they think not doing the show off is sign of loser person.

But that is because they think being relevant is necessary in this world by showing everything you have. So sometimes you don't know what to show off and what not to show to other people. That understanding is not easy as well.

Balance, doesn't solve it either

I think once we realize both side we feel like the balance is something we may feel like chase. But solving that for a balance is not easy. Because we become too much politically correct and that's not a good thing.

I feel balance is hard. We learn from other people around us. If the other people are not showing things off then it's better to not show off. And that would be also one more thing to do and learn from.

How do you handle showing off in your life?

I think I failed at balancing this. And also suffered from both sides like both showing and not showing off. So I feel that there is a balance or say even the phase where everything properly settles and moves around.

I wonder how you guys handle this sort of the feeling where you don't want to show or want to show off without affecting yourself from the consequences?

11
$ 1.67
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 6
Sponsors of esmeesmith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

Comments

Anything done excessively is bad. Celebrating one's achievement isn't bad but it should be done moderately. Also if you don't celebrate yourself -- who will?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I myself don't like to watch people showing off their achievements everyday in status, because this creates a negative impact in my mind like I am lacking so I simply unfollow them or open their status when I like. And I rarely share such things but it doesn't matter to me as I have made physical relationship and interaction with people and they know that I don't need to show off to show my worth or what I'm good at. Just don't think much and share your words without mentioning any other genre or person and both the poster and watcher will get a neutral feeling seeing it. It's seems easy to say but I know it's hard but simply check such people posts who are like that. Everyone is not good at expressing about achievements but I must say not everyone tries to learn to express better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is nothing we can do in this life to please everyone. The best thing is to just do you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could never show off in anything in my life. Probably that was a mistake. We need to learn how to show off without being a jerk.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Only family members can be genuinely happy about our achievements. I believe that "too much" bragging speaks of our arrogance. And it all depends on the specific situation: where you can tell, and where you must remain silent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a damned-if-you and damned-if-you-don't kind of situation. However, psychologist says that a lot of posts in the social media causes a lot of negative feelings to others, such as envy and resentment...

Even in platforms such as read.cash, a lot of members are posting their month-end report... In some cases I feel like others are merely "boasting". Then there are some who really inspires others with their posts. I could name at least two who inspires and motivates me every time they post such reports.... but I'd rather not.

I think what matters most is how you express it. As they say.... "It's not what you say, but how you say it."

$ 0.00
1 year ago