7 Things I Have Given Up with Time

3 31
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

Time catches us all. There is nothing new that can happen in life unless we live our life in right time. Things we have to give up in order to live better life. Some of the time we have to make those choices in order to live better life.

I have given up many things in order to live better life. Some of those things I have decided to do because they were affecting my health. Some I decided to give up because the age is catching up with me.

If you are slowly ageing towards 40. There are things that you have to give up and that may happen to you eventually. You can't change things from this in your life but you have to take some choices in order to move ahead.

Here are some of the things that I have given up, do let me know if you have experienced something like this.

Coffee & Tea

I have yet to given up tea completely. But every day I take the green tea which is not really the typical tea. So the British tea is what I have given up. I did this for many reasons for both health and also for sugar consumption reasons.

Coffee is another thing that I have given up, why? Because coffee is going to hurt you long term. You have to choose to let go of the coffee as early as possible in order to move ahead with the life choices.

Anime & Movie Binge Watching

I used to binge watch movies at work, at home and even while going outside through metro. So that has caused me a lot of disconnect from the real life. I had that habit because I was kind of running a way from the life.

So I decided to replace this hobby by doing the work where I get to talk to people. This is one of the ways the movie binge watching can be easily done as well. I guess we learn from our experience in this context.

Arguments with Family

My family is controlling and they can be pretty rigid. Especially my father who kind of put us in strict life to such an extent that it caused me alot of mental issues. I had to move away from them to work in another city for some breathing space.

I don't know if family can fix things but some of the time taking some space away from them can be a good for your health and the mind too. So I plan to keep things this way for my mental health.

Junk Food

I decided to avoid junk food for 6 days and then only add it for the sunday. Why? because I had detected the sugar and also had the blood pressure. I am doing this because that would be something good for my health to do some junkfood fasting.

You can also do intermittent fasting in order to get over this bad habit. This may take some months or years but over a period of time this would make you health.

Being Helpless and Expecting God to Help

I am a partial believer in god and I used to be expecting the god to help me in bad days. but I realized it was me who is the powerful and need to do something on my own. God is just a compass to guide and navigate to positive.

So the things are changed and I am going to be taking things more strongly to make myself more strong along the way. No more being helpless person any more.

Spending Money on Food & Useless Things

I had this habit of ordering things online all day. And that kind of made me spend more money. Which kind of caused a lot of issues too. I had to think of the useful things on which to spend my money.

I have now stopped spending my money on the useless things. I decided to spend it on good things. This way I hope that I can have a good control over my finances.

Think about Future and Staying in Anxiety

I used to think about what will happen in future from now on. And that has caused a lot of anxiety for me. I decided to think of the present and live for a moment. This way I am going to take care of my health and also move ahead for the life.

I don't know if life is going to get any better. But we have to work towards a better future based on what we can do and then work towards better. Lets stop thinking about future and think of now.

What about you?

Have you given up few things with time? What have you changed so far about your life in general? What changes have you made in your life along the way?

7
$ 0.63
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Sponsors of esmeesmith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

Comments

Yes time kind of forces us to make changes. I have given up drinking anything with sugar except for creamer in coffee in the morning. Really the only thing I drink is water. I have changed my diet a lot and work out regularly. I have one cheat day weekly usually I have also saved more money and put it away towards retirement. I've changed these things probably about 10 years ago maybe about the same time as you as I'm closer to 50. Hope I'm at the half way point 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anime, movies almost everything related to entertainment watch them once in a month. Took decision against family and is following on that path. Gave up gaming but now I still play some, the only thing in which I have to work now. And lastly I am a graduate dropout. Life seems more focused to me now, no social life, no such distracting visual entertainment except games. Progressed a lot in terms of confidence and skills. I may not be earning more now but with my decisions I strongly see myself in good progressing position.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Realization of what things will be good for oneself will help a person decide things that should be given up in life to make one's life and future better. To some it is easy but others find it as a struggle. Some became successful and some are failure. I admire that finally you have come to a good decision and determined to practice it. God bless you and good evening.

$ 0.00
1 year ago