How to Beat that Writer's Block?

68 76
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

You're possibly staring at an empty notepad on your phone or computer. Perhaps you're in front of an empty sheet of paper with a pen or pencil on your hand cracking your brain for ideas but nothing comes up! You know you have to write (and you want to write!) but your brain won't cooperate, you're trying to write down something but nothing just comes to mind.

Most writers probably experienced this certain feeling - writer's block.

As a writer, a certain time will come when your imagination just won't work, your sack of inspiration is gone and you are running out of ideas. But don't feel bothered! Don't think that you won't be able to write again. Don't panic and dont pressure your mind too! Accept that writer's block and you'll soon get that groove for writing back! Once you learn to accept that loosing the will to write comes to a writer from time to time, you'll learn how to manage and overcome it. While you are unable to write why not try to relax and ease your mind first?

Personally, I've been stuck in a writer's block several times before, there's a moment that I almost gave up on writing here because I can't think of anything to write. I just write as a hobby and I only do it when I'm in the mood. But when I came here, I was pressured to always write.

Here are some of the things that helped me and I'm hoping that you'll find it useful as well (if not today, maybe in the future)

  • Read. Instead of being lost in thought and forcing your brain to think of something you can write about try to read. Read something new. Grab a book or surf the web and just read about anything or do some research that will help you get a new inspiration.

  • Take some time for relaxation. Go for a walk and look into nature. Seeing the amazing wonders of nature will boost your energy and relax your mind. A relaxed mind will help you pull new ideas and often times gives you the inspiration you are looking for. This has been effective to me all the time. If you don't feel like going out, watch a good movie or just sleep.

  • Try freewriting. Whenever I'm out for ideas, I try to just write about anything. Write with no specific topic in mind. Sometimes, ideas just pops out all of a sudden so once an idea comes to mind, write it down so you won't forget it and it might help you later. For me there are times that a good article title suddenly comes to mind while I'm cooking, or doing the dishes and I tend to forget it in just a few moments so I always make sure to write down any idea that comes to mind as soon as possible.

  • Listen to musicThis is an effective way to calm the nerves and helps a person to focus. It has always been effective to me as having a relaxed mind and body helps me to think clearly, it may help you too.

  • Take photographs. I'm sure not all of us has a thing for photography but I still want to share this. These days when I don't feel like writing, I go out and take good photographs. It helps me to relax and admire the beauty of the things around us - even the simple things. Taking photographs also helps me to get a new inspiration for writing.

So when battling with writer's block try these and don't let that writer's block stop you from writing! Overcome it and get that imagination moving!

Have you also experienced a writer's block? How did you overcome it? Tell us on the comment section.

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

Please like, comment & consider subscribing 💕

48
$ 0.31
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

Relaxing and listing down all the ideas popped on my head is very effective to me. Every time that I am pressured, I cant focus on anything. I can't process any ideas. Thats why an anime or any movies is my great way to overcome stress.

Also, while washing the dishes or doing any house chores, there will be a sudden idea popping on my head; I take a break and list them on my notepad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Also, while washing the dishes or doing any house chores, there will be a sudden idea popping on my head; I take a break and list them on my notepad

I can definitely relate to this haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It happens to me all the time.. And yes if you got to have an idea, i'm in the laundry room 🤣or im out weeding in our backyard and tend to forget them . I can't jot them down when i'm doing something. Thats why i'm not publishing articles everyday. I don't want to rush. So if my article is not ready, i'm busy scrolling in my notifs😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same feeling lol. But when I suddenly think of an idea I tend to stop what I'm currently doing and search for my phone to write the idea on my notepad haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha i don't take my phone in the laundry room. My hands might stuck into it and won't do the laundry. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never have a writer's block. My head is filled with ideas and I make notes about everything good to write about. My only problem is a huge lack of time.

Free writing with prompt is better because you force yourself to write about a certain topic no matter if you are in the mood for it or not. Without a prompt you just come up with the same "Hi there, I am bored.." which is not very interesting and won't help you any further. Writers write with a goal. A tale, story, etc and if you have a writer's block or had a busy or bad day your writing schedule is messed up. To write at least something and force yourself you set a timer and "brainstorm" about the prompt...it's useful because you still wrote and you might be able to use a part (or rewrite it) to continue the story.

👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope everyone is like you who is always filled with ideas. So i guess, not everyone experience a writer's block.

Actually, I always try free writing before. But like you said it always starts with that "Hi there, I am bored.." and the likes. But I learned to free write with a prompt when you hosted that free writing contest. Having a prompt indeed helps to be more creative when writing.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, not everyone suffers from a writer's block. We all have ideas, thoughts, dreams, life experiences which means plenty to write about. If you find it hard to write, don't know how to start using a prompt line or write 2 minutes longer and delete the first part of what you wrote.

A difference between me and others might be the (daily) practicing and the fact I get moody if I didn't write, I love to write. Most people hate to write and read and a part of them is lazy. Altogether not a great combination if you like to publish something.

Keep in mind writing 10 minutes a day isn't too much asked. You still have 23 hours and 50 minutes left to hang around and be bored. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting and inspiring article... Good job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I hope you find it useful somehow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please Subscribe my profile

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for writing This Article .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great work dear and thanks for your effort 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your comment too dear. I hope it helps somehow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also love to listen to music

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writer's block is a normal occurrence like you rightly pointed out. I think another thing that could help us keeping a mobile notepad to jot down topics as they pop into your head for development at a later time. My question is what's the alternative for persons like me who do not listen to music to also calm the nerves?

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I'm surprised to know about someone who doesn't listen to music, most people loves listening to music. May I know the reason why you don't do it?

And to answer your question about an alternative to calm the nerves, eating sweets has always been effective for me and drinking a tea works too (I'm bot sure if you like the idea)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is what I have experienced today. Music and relaxation helped me from getting over it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to hear that you're able to get over a writer's block.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Listen to music and photograph are all effective to me.. itself gives me idea on what to write..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's so nice! Those two also works the best for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For free writing, i actually want to but have no time because of work.. i usually do that during holiday or if i have lots of free time..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article.

Here's my facebook account link dear https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100037432094581

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

most welcome dear....plz send me a friend request on facebook

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article written by you is very helpful for me and Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful article with us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome. I'm happy to know that you find this helpful. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really helpful dear, ill visit this the next time i feel like i have nothing to write, to remind me of the things i must do. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to hear that dear. I'm glad to know that you find it helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, actually you said this to me when i keep on posting about being down and nothing to write.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooooh. I'm impressed to know that you still remember my words. 😲❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ofcourse dear. Ill always remember those who showed love and care for me when im down😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice picture please subscribe me also back dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for subscribing. I'll check your account then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Taking a walk an a nap had really help

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good. It really helps ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading and for commenting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You always have good posts and topics. Of course, sometimes we get a writer’s block. Each of us has it. Music helps me, for example.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your good feedbacks on my works. Music indeed is one of the perfect way to get rid of that writers block.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I think it is. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much dear for sharing this kind of a topic hope many writers would know this. I've been experiencing this also and I sometimes get stressed out because of this but as you said in this article we need to do those things for us to relax our mind and if we are ready to write again then we can do it for that time. ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome dear.

I'm sure it is stressing and frustrating when you want to write but can't think of anything, I know the feeling because I always experience it.

I hope this article somehow be able to help you when you experience a writer's block.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this excellent article 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome. I hope you benefit from it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That a good idea, even an ordinary person got that block too, sometimes having an open minded can also helps,but overthinking also leads you to that block.so nice you got some ideas to be advised

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess writer's block (mental block for others) is common. Most people experience it. I only realized today (from your comment) that overthinking can be one of the reasons to experience that. I'm an overthinker - most probably the reason why I have jumbled thoughts and a writer's block from time to time.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah,like you said in your article,relaxation can hepls

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Listen to music, i am always do this.great article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good. I also love to listen to music and it always work great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow.. great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago