The “City life” I Missed.

11 102
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

An eighteen-year-old lady who lives in a rural community with no experience about anything bravely packed her things and find her luck alone in a completely unfamiliar place, in the city seven years ago.

All she brought with her was her faith, naive personality, and an open mind about the things or possibilities she might encounter.

Without hesitation with determination, she applied for a job she thought was appropriate for her skills and disposition. She then became a dining staff, and that lady is no other than me. I used to live in the city alone, rented a room for myself, and do my living. I am known as a shy, and quiet person at home. I don't want to talk to other people even to my relatives. That's the old me, and most people thought that I can't stand on my own, that I will live my life depending on my father who's a public teacher. But they don't know that I have hidden courage and a few tough guts to face the reality of life independently.

To prove them wrong, after I graduated I looked for a job and get hired. At the very young age of 18, I met different people due to my job's nature. I'm a former staff in a restaurant and being a crew, I learned and changed a lot. This conservative, shy and silent lady somehow learned and accepted to bloom. And city life taught me that change is never wrong especially if it's for your improvement and betterment. The “plain-shirt” woman with ragged old jeans turned into a “not so fine” but a better lady.

The City Life I Missed

I'm currently residing in my hometown in a rural place in the province. I have no complaints about my living here, but truthfully speaking, there are times I caught myself longing for the city life I used to enjoy.

The 24/7 amenities

What I miss are the 24/7 convenience stores and amenities in the city. Here in my locality, we have trouble looking for stores that operate 24/7, most especially some drug stores.

Looking back during my old times in the city, every time I find it hard to sleep and feeling to savor some hot drinks, I/we often have my midnight coffee in a convenience store, at 7/11. Though we also have 7/11 here in our community, the services offered in the city are fully attended to unlike here which stocks are a bit limited and lacking. Also, if I feel the hunger in the middle of the night or early at dawn I can easily look for foods to consume, also some stores/restaurants offer deliveries.

The People

What makes me long for city life are the people I met. Meeting people who are strangers to me and knowing their personalities as time passes by. I met people who contributed a lot to whom I am today. I met real friends who cared for me as a part of their family. These people never judged me or criticize me for being myself. And I seldom experience it in my “own” hometown. I'm not saying people in my place are terrible, but some of them just always put their eyes on what you are doing. And some make stories about you and in anything you do. But how can I say that my city friends never judged me? Simply because I can feel it. That's it, I am comfortable with them and I know they're not faking.

The Busy Days and Busy Roads

Maybe I just miss my busy days there, since I'm stuck here at home. Things changed real-quick and things came about surprisingly. I've shared on noise.cash a couple of times the wide empty street in the neighborhood I'm in. It's peaceful, clean, and clear, I love it, but I also miss the busy roads I used to transit. The rush hours were I battles with my fellow commuters for a seat in a public vehicle. Those were the days where I have no time to slack off, that I forget all my dilemmas for a while since I was very occupied and have no time to stress about anything in my head. But I'm living in the present now, no time for complaints, I have priorities with better purposes.

The nightlife

Oops, I'm not a party goer but I once enjoyed the nightlife the city offers. I'm not into alcoholic drinks but I'm for the long talks and loud laughter shared throughout the night. Yeah, I truly miss those days where I am with people in a bar or a studio wherein we can share all our laughter without minding other people around us. I miss singing in the middle of the crowd without thinking of how I look or how my voice sounds. Maybe those were the times where I learned to come out of my comfort zone. I have a weak personality, timid, and shy but when I live a life in the city, I was changed and able to adapt to the society I'm in.

The Sweet Moments

What I miss is also the park or plaza, different parks, and plazas downtown. I love to take a walk in a park, enjoy the view and have a great time with my loved ones. And when I met my significant other, we used to take some moments Plazuela de Iloilo, or even at malls. Honestly, anywhere with him is fine, as long as we're together the day will surely end wonderfully.

When our offs were the same, we sit on a bench and take our time talking and sharing our feelings. We're not showy and making PDAs. We're more like friends, best buddies, and we shared the same pastime too, singing in the karaoke. I remember we spent more than 5 hours in a karaoke room just singing our choices of the song. And I can say, most of our dates were engaged in singing. 😁


There are lots of things that I miss in the city but what I've shared are the things I missed the most. I'm now happy to live in a serene place with fresh air and free from noisy cars. And if I am given a chance to stay in the city once again, I won't hesitate to accept it. I want my kids to enjoy the privileges in the city I used to cherished. But now, I'll live the life we have here in the rural. Good thing there's read.cash and noise.cash which gives me a new haven where I can relish things I never tried before. The noise I get and make on these two platforms is a lot better than the city noise I heard in the city.

The life I live in the city brought me a lot of lessons and learnings. I'm very grateful to survive and able to reside in such a beautiful place. Yes, it may be loud and crowded but I have my best memories there that I won't forget. And it's just there are things that I can only do in the city.

And I'm bringing with me the memories and the lessons it gave me.

Written by : @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

Related Articles:

A Dining Staff

Living the Rural Life


7
$ 3.14
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Same pala tayo momshie, After i graduated high school, nagwork na din ako agad. Kasi I want to be independent at madami din ako napasukan na work. And I agree with you, nakakamiss talaga minsan yun ingay ng city life. Dito kasi sa atin sa province maaga natutulog eh,unlike sa city na 24 hours ang ingay..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True momshie, iba tlaga dito parang yung isang araw may something na kulang talaga. hehehe. Sguro namimiss ko lng din yung time na. malaya at wala masyadong mata sa mga kilos ko. Iba kasi dto sa min parang andaming nakamasid. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kakamiss talaga mga old days. In my case, not a city but the old days wherein I'm busy at work coz' right now I'm at home. I still have worked though it's far from the routine I had before the pandemic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako din. I miss the moments bago dumating tong Covid. Hays nakakamiss lng talaga minsan. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

every memory you can share with your friends here. every story has a meaning. and every photo can be an excuse for a reunion with friends.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bata mo pa pala nong nag start ka, ako ata 30 yes old na makakalabas sa lungga ko haha. Namimiss mo din ba ang traffic hay? Haha, wala kana talagang plan mag city?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga eh nene days pako dati. 😅 Actually may plano nga sa city nlng manirahan sa future, pero nakakapanghinayang naman iwan tong bahay sa probinsya. Komplikado lng kasi pag iiwan nmin to baka mawala kunin ng iba. Sayang naman. Pero di ko pa tlaga alam kung ano ba dapat. Iba din kasi sa city eh, accessible at mabilis lahat kahit maingay at matraffic, kahit papano kanya2 yung buhay dun. Wala masyadong mapanghusga. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all talaga, sa ate ko ganyang edad din nag wowotk na pero dito pa rin sa amin. Tapos pag laon nagpa batangas na sya.

Wait lang, sa inyo naman na ata ung bahay diba? May title na, pag sa city kayo di mamomroblema pa kayo sa upa. Talang sa province nyo may sarili na din ata kaung lupa. Hanggang ngayon may mapang husga pa rin? Sabagay, wala kasing ibamg mapag uusapan ung ibang oldies sa province kaya ung mga kapit bahay nalang nila echichizwiz nila 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Missing city life too. The lifestyle, the food , the people and even if I am here now in the province I still adoption how I live in the city.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hays me too mommy. Miss ko na din gumala kasama kids at itreat sila sa jollibee. Dito walang jollibee man lng anlayo. Puro street foods lang hays saktong pandemic pa lalong nakakamiss isipin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totoo haha. Nakakaboring 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago