A Dining Staff

15 38
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

The real journey in life doesn't end in school, rather it begins when you strive to live, find a real job, or you're adulting with certain careers and dreams to pursue. If you're lucky enough to graduate from college with a bachelor's degree you can choose jobs where your expertise fell and proudly present your diploma. Unfortunately, I'm not a bachelor's degree holder. I'm a two-year course graduate, a Hotel and Restaurant Services Technology graduate.

What jobs would fit me?

I was 18 years old when I graduated in a ladderized course (two-years course) . The reality of life hits me when I stopped schooling, being a graduate means I got to move my feet and find a job, a career, earn for my family, or my self.

But how can I start? or shall I say, Where do I start?

Despite my mind uncertainty, I thought about if I just sit there and do nothing, nothing will happen too. What a miserable life could it be.

I took my courage and faith with me and applied to the city. Gladly, I was hired, as a dining staff. Yes! that's my first job, I used to be a dining staff in a restaurant located in the city. I was happy, it fits my course outline, but I'm a little bit nervous, our home was a hundred miles away which means I'll be living alone and this is reality. I rented a room for myself, and I am trying to be independent as much as I could.

My first week was training, gladly, my co-workers were kind to me, however, unexpected happenings at work could happen. I'll be facing different customers, with different personalities, carry different stories.

Pieces of training are done, and it's my turn to worked hands-on. I'm a cashier and a server or waitress at the same time, that's my duties as a dining staff. Being a dining staff is an easy job however, it could be hard in some situations. I faced a lot of customers, the old, kids, students, professionals, the rich, etc. I served each one of them and done my duties for them.

My work as a Dining Staff πŸ’πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

As a Cashier

Image from Pexels

I used to be a cashier in my field of work. I'm handling and taking customer's orders. The cashier is the first person to be approached by the customer in the restaurant that I worked with before. The restaurant has a fast-food type of style of taking orders. Customers take an order in the cashier, and the cashier must listen carefully in taking down her customer's order.

The first and foremost duty that I should do is greet the customer with a smile. No matter how the customer may look, even they are not in the mood, I must greet them and give them a bright smile, which is very effective in changing their mood. I'm a jolly and happy person, that's what my coworkers loved about me. I'm wearing a smile every time someone approaches me.

Being a cashier, honesty is tested too. There were instances where the customer forgot his change or other belongings, and as a person who values honesty, I always gave the money or the left belongings to its respective owner. If the owner was not around, I turned over it to our manager in case of the return of the customer.

If you're working or planning to work in this field, your patience is very much important. You'll be handling and dealing with various people and you may come across some individuals who are ill-tempered and arrogant. When I encountered such customers, I chose to be respectful and down to earth as much as I could. If they're raising a voice against me, I replied to them with a smile instead, even my patience is near to its peak.

As a Server/Waitress

Image from Pexels

Aside from being a cashier, I am a waitress too. The waitress is the one who is responsible for serving the ordered food and beverages of the customer from the table up to a clearing and cleaning up the table.

Our duties were rolled over and scheduled, however, there were times where my coworkers were absent or having a break, and I am the one who served and the cashier at the same time.

Being a waitress could be hard in times when the customers were perverts and arrogant. Some may throw jokes at you which can be offensive sometimes. I remembered when I served a group of adult men, in their mid 40's. They've ordered 5 bottles of beers, and when I was about to serve their orders, one of the men stood up and insisted to help me. I refused and told him that he does not need to, but he didn't listen.

Image from Pixabay

As a result, one bottle of beer was dropped on the floor and shattered into pieces. Despite what happened I couldn't blame the customer even it was his fault. I paid the broken bottle twice its price.

I even remembered my first ever tip from a customer. It was β‚±100, for me it was too much, I was hesitant to receive it and ended up in asking my manager about it. I'm very careful with my work, even it is a simple job it means a lot to me. My managers told me to receive the tips my customers gave me. I was happy to have managers who are kind and generous.

I was treated as the youngest sister in my work. As I ended my contract, one of my managers asked if I wanted to be part of their regular team and sign another contract as a regular employee, however, I refused.

Why did I refuse it?

I am happy and blessed to experience a noble job as a dining staff, yet, I wanted to explore more and I know there's a lot of opportunities waiting for me. And our salary at that time was not enough for my lodging and expenses. I'm not a materialistic person, yet it wasn't enough. Our salary was too small, believe it or not, it was only β‚±275, it is lower than the provincial rate in my country. And it is the sad reality in the Philippines if you're living outside Luzon.

On the day of my endo or end of the contract, my managers arranged a farewell party for me after work. I felt very special on how they treated me, they treated me like their family, their younger sister. I also met my partner at work.

Here's the picture we had during the farewell party. 😊

My first job isn't grand as the other jobs out there, though I earned just one-fourth or lower than of the other professionals' salary, the memories are extremely meaningful and memorable.

I was eighteen at that time and it happened seven years ago, but the memories are still fresh. Seems like it just happened yesterday. It gave me lessons, memories, and stories that I'll never forget.

@eommaZel ✍🏻

7
$ 1.93
$ 1.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.02 from @Jane
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

You're a great writter. You should have able to write on newspaper. Your written ability is so good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Thanks for the compliment. My writing skills are not as good as the other authors here. Nevertheless, Thank you for appreciating my writing. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be great to experience as a dining staff at a cruise ship.. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah. Yes that would be nice and much a happier experience. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just curious. What is your profession right now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a full-time mom now. πŸ˜… And writing here is my past time and part-time as well. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. At least you still have the time to write.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If my kid was asleep, that's the only time I can write. I'm not really good in writing and I'm glad I found this platform to share my thoughts and read some worthy articles. πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love that job. I love greeting people with a smile so it won't be hard for me. And you constantly meeting new people! That's amazing! Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that's right. I met a Japanese tourist before at work. He was looking for a lodging to stay for a night. I was glad that he liked us, he told we're hospitable and very friendly. He also took some pictures of me in the cashier area together with my other workmates. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this lovely post dear, really enjoyed. And also back me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a good and interesting job for others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

However, you can't make a living with the salary. πŸ˜… Though, it's a good start for an experience. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes ,bussiness is the key hahac

$ 0.00
3 years ago