I was once called a “Cheater”

25 63
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

June 30, 2021
Wednesday

Cheating, cheating, cheating, oh I could see it almost everywhere. Since @JonicaBradley announced this prompt, I thought it would be an easy topic for almost everyone. Since I know some of the users here had experienced cheating or be cheated before.

Cheating, the cheater can come in many forms, there's one of the most well-called cheaters are the ones who got involved in third parties when it comes to relationships.

Some may deny it, some are guilty about it. I've been reading a lot of cheating stories of men getting or having third parties disregarding that they're married or in a relationship with someone for years. I also read about some women being the ones who cheated. Simply because both men or women are accountable to be a cheater. But then it's not about the gender, it's about the person’s own decisions too.

But today, let's take a break from cheating based on relationships.

Would you believe that I was once called a cheater?

A shy, simple, and quiet girl, that's how my classmates describe me way back during my elementary days. I was not an active student unlike others who love to raise their hands to participate, I am just sitting on my chair observing and listening to the class.

I am a silent person and I seldom talk at school. I don't know but I'm not comfortable with being there. I always wanted our class to be dismissed early so I can go home and stay in my room.

Then, when I was in grade 2, my teacher announces that there’ll be an examination for the incoming grade, 3 students, for special or star sections.

Honestly, I am not interested because I only want to is to graduate without failing grades. That's enough for me. But then, my friend told me to take the exam with her, she convinced me and without my father’s permission, I took the exam.

After how many days, the results came and I passed the said examination as well as my friend. We're both happy with the results.
After the announcement of the passers, I was called for an interview. When it's my turn, I seated in a chair facing a teacher from the special class.

“What section would you like to be in?”

She said while checking my test papers.

“May I know Ma’am what are the sections I have to select from?”

I asked politely because I have no idea of the special sections at school.

“You have to choose between SSC and SOF” the teacher replied.

“May I know what are their meanings?”

I asked her again.

“SSC means Special Science Class, while SOF means School of the Future.”

Without hesitation, I chose SOF.

Why?

It's because of their meanings, I honestly don't have an idea of what's going on and why I have to choose but based on their names, SOF for me was catchy, and thinking I'll be a part of “School of the Future” class was incredible.

As I moved to grade 3, my father was surprised to know that I became a SOF student. He's so busy that he failed to keep track of me with my studies. But then, I understand him since he's a teacher too.

Everything was fine, the first day of school and my new classmates as well. And my teacher treats me nicely because she recognized my father. But I don't like such treatment to be honest.

When we turned as grade 4 students, my classmates from grade 3 were the same classmates I have and be having until grade 6.

So we're more comfortable with each other and we even made friends. I do have my circle of friends, and we're the quietest ones, while some got their group of friends too.

Everything was wonderful, we shared laughter at school, do silly things as we're starting to explore more with our friendships.

But when we turned grade 5, I was judged and was criticized to the extent that I was bullied.

It was a fine afternoon, I can still remember everything, how my bad days at school started.

We're having an exam in our Science class, and our teacher said that we shouldn't have any erasures on our paper. Since we're using pad paper, I made an erasure, so I get another sheet of paper to rewrite my answers.

After that, I crumpled my scratch paper and put it in my pocket.

After the exam, we passed our answer sheets and went to our next subject.

When we came back tomorrow after the exam, we checked the paper and I got a high score. (I don't know who got the highest score but I am one of those who got high scores on the exam.)

We were applauded by our classmates but I saw harsh eyes looking at me. Not one, not two but four girls were staring at me sharply.

After the class dismissal, the four girls walked behind my back, and the two girls said,

“What a cheater.”

I have no idea who are they referring to, but

The other one bumped my shoulder and they all walked away.

Was it me?

How did I become a cheater?

Then, I suddenly remember my crumpled paper yesterday. Probably, they've mistaken me for copying the answers from my notes.

Another day at school became uneasy for me, they became bullies. Every time they passed on me, they looked at me and laugh at me, and will call me a “cheater” while there are lots of students looking.

Then my friends confronted me, if do I cheat during the exam.

Of course, I said no. If I have to show my scratch paper to them just to clear my name I will do it.

Then, during our Science class, the four girls were called by our teacher. It's about my issue, my cheating issue. I don't know what happened to their talk with our teacher but after the said day, they became warm most especially in teasing me.

They didn't call me a cheater once again.

I felt like a heavy feeling was pulled inside of me knowing they don't assume I was a cheater anymore.

Maybe you're wondering, why in the first place I didn't make a move to clear my name.

To be honest, I wanted to, but there's something on me that can't make a move. I am weak frankly speaking, aside from school I have problems at home that give me a heavy feeling too.

I always carry my problems on my own and as long as I can still carry them alone, I won't let anyone be bothered by them.

But I'm thinking too maybe if everything falls and is worse, I'm just waiting for the right time to tell my classmates and show them my evidence, and that's my crumpled paper I still keeping in my bag. But then before that happened maybe our teacher notice it too, or maybe someone reported it. I have no idea, to be honest, but I'm so glad the issue was solved.

After the incident, I still treat them nicely, and our journey at school continues. And I am happy that we graduated without any hidden grudges and on good terms with anyone in the class. Now, I just looked back to the past because of this prompt, cheating.

I personally hate cheaters, but it's funny how I was once called a cheater too. Not a cheater in a relationship but a cheater in an exam. 😅

Cheating on exams is quite a common scenario at school. But then to be doubted as a cheater even you're not is a terrible feeling. I have no time to defend myself during their judgment of me through bullying but then, I never bowed down my head to them. I ignored their accusations because I know it's just a waste of time explaining my side to them.

No one wants to be called a cheater especially if it's not true.

But then, I'll just consider the experience as a part of my unforgettable chapter. A chapter I will always remember, that cheating will only give you suffering.

No matter what kind of cheating it is, it's still cheating. No need to justify it.

Maybe that's the reason why my classmates were enraged when they thought I cheated, as they don't want to be betrayed even in an exam.

But then, accusing without evidence is not good either. It could give the accused misery and discomfort the accuser might not recognize.

So always check your facts and evidence. 👌🏻

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀


24
$ 32.62
$ 31.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 11
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

Ako, to be honest, I tried to cheat. Lol. I was in HS back then. But before we could even start, my conscience stopped me. So hindi ko tinuloy. Nakakatakot kasi. Pero nag shishare kami ng answers sa mga close friends ko. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe din talaga bullies nung panahong bata tayo ne. Hirap talaga pag mapagbibintangan ka sa mga bagay na di mo naman ginawa ne. buti na lang kinausap sila ng teacher niyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit kailan talaga may mga tao na basta basta kana lang huhusgahan .paparatangan sa mga kasalanang hindi mo naman ginawa.. Gaya niyan and sa classmate ko noon , lumingon lang sa seatmate niya para humiram ng correction tape pero nakita ni sir kaya ginusot yung exam paper .finals pa naman .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap naman nyarn na aakusahan na cheater kahit hindi. Hays. Samin non nanghihiram kasi eraser, nangongopya na daw. Friend ko lang hindi naman ako hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay totoo, yung sakin kasi may papel eh akala tlga nila ngcheat ako, di ko nmn nperfect ang exam nun. Kaso msyado kasi akong tahimik kaya siguro di sla mkapaniwala. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy grabe naman. Pwede naman nag aral ng mabuti, nireview lahat ganern. Mga judger yun aa. Haysss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really disturbing when we are judged for something we did not commit.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true, words could be hurtful and they may become worse if added with actions too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hala parang ganyan din po nangyari sakin nung grade 7 naman po ako, naka perfect score po ako sa exam namin sa science tapos may nagsabi na nangdaya daw po ako hahaha wh yung exam kasi retake lang yun, naka shuffle yung question pati ang choices kaya naka perpek😆😆😆

Pero buti hindi naman ako na bully huhu baka umiyak ako agad haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naku, yung iba kasi baka inggit lng o di kaya di bilin sa talino mo. Pero ignore mo nlng mga gnun, Naku sa grades nlng mgkakaalaman. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think because cheating has been common and due to the fact that you hardly talk in class, they feel you don't look like the type to get the higher score and I am glad that your name was cleared however it was. I can imagine how worried you must be back then.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, Olasquare. It was a bad experience I just can't forget. It'll be forever part of my childhood memories. And you got a point, maybe they're surprised to know I got high scores as I am quiet all the time. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing that part of you with us. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some students make fun of you for thier relish. You have genuine issue and don't cheat but they named you as a cheater because of their well. But surely teacher confirm your truth and it was slap on their face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheating in exams somehow is far better than cheating to your girl/boy friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha, you got a point but cheating is cheating. If you're wrongfully accused it's a heavy feeling you know. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La trampa o tramposo un título que no serie grato ser catalogado es denigrante , lo mejor es siempre aclarar todo desde el principio y evitar malos entendidos, gracias gran artículo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That "No one wants to be called a cheater especially if it's not true." yes haha even a cheater get ashamed if he/she called in this term 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly! They're just human so it really make them ashamed. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're absolutely right, anyways good morning to you 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman never gumawa ng leakage sa school.. Kakakaba kya yan.. Sharing answers with friends lng ganun 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay ako din sharing of answers lng din alam ko. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago