A life of a working student

2 49
Avatar for dziefem
2 years ago

Hello! This is dziefem who wrote nonsense articles haha. Don't open this if you don't want to waste your time XD. This is just about how I'm able to go to college without financial support from my parents.

One of my past articles I've shared with you my experience in this trying times, entitled Problems Encountered and Opportunity during online class, you may also read it if you want because you've clicked this article and want to waste your time, make the most of it! Haha. 

So, let me tell you first when it started. I became a working student when I was in 8th grade or 2nd year high school. It happened when I transferred to another school, I have mentioned it from my past articles too, Frenemy and my Ex-boyfriend. (don't mind the title of my article XD). The reason is that we had problems with my sister and her husband. (They are okay now)

1st year high school (Grade 7)

My oldest sister is the one who supports my study but like I said, we had a problem then my sister told me that I need to go back to our hometown and continue my study there.

My parents cannot support me financially, so to continue my study I need to work. 


2nd year and 3rd year high school (Grade 8-Grade 9)

At first it wasn't easy because it was my first time going to work and my body easily adapted but of course I still had body pain.  XD Aside from that I need to budget my allowance, since then I never asked for money from my parents.

 I work as a vendor under my aunt (meat and chicken stall) yeah, I can chop you. Just kidding.
I'm working on weekends and when there is a holiday, and I go to school on weekdays. My aunt gave me $2 each day, so I have $4 (200 pesos) in 2 days and that will be my allowance for the whole week, 40 pesos per day (I only brought 40 pesos everyday, so I will not spend more than that). Sometimes it is not enough for me because I need to pay for some school supplies. I rarely have snacks or even lunch because my money is not enough but if I can't take my hunger longer, I skipped my afternoon class to go home so I can eat and not go back to school because I don't have money for fare to do so. When I got home I just told my mother that, am not feeling well. 

Two years since it happened, I have excelled in some of our subjects(especially in math, but not anymore in college haha) but the problem is I'm always absent. Not to brag, I even belong to the top 10 ranking out of 50 students. Top 7 at grade 8 and top 3 at grade 9.

My adviser even visits me in our house because most of the time, I'm not attending her class. Sorry po, Ma'am! 

4th year high school (Grade 10)

My wages increased! From $4 it became $6(300 pesos), it is now 60 pesos per day. But the expenses increased too. Haha. So like in my past two years in high school, it continues to happen that I go home when my money is not enough.

So when there are no classes or holidays, I am so happy! Yes, because I can save a little to pay for some requirements. During the rainy season, I always hope that the school will cancel the classes not because I don't want to attend class, but to not spend a single penny.

But lucky me, I survived! Imagine, I will be able to graduate from high school! Uhm no, it is now called, moving up because of K-12. So I finished junior high school and now I am going to senior high school. Yeeey!! 

There are times that I want to stop my study and just work so I can help my parents but I chose not to, the reason is that I promised to them that I will do my best to give them a good life. I want to spoil them! I want my father to stop farming and just relax in the house. So, to do it, I need to finish my studies to have better work and provide all they need and want! 

Senior High School (Grade 11 and 12)

I chose academic track but still don't know what strand. I have two options, STEM or ABM. Then a week before the enrollment, I decided to take ABM.

My wages increased again! Maybe because I improved in my chopping or in my sales talk skills? Haha. From $6 to $10. That is now my allowance for a week. $2 per day (It is my earning for one day when I was in grade 8 and 9, right?:)) Wow. Even if I have something to pay, I can say that my allowance is now enough. I don't need to skip classes or skip snacks when I'm hungry. 

I become more active in school, always present, no more absent! Unless I am sick and or have other errands. I'm able to be on rank 2 at grade 11 and rank 4 at grade 12. I've got a lot of achievements too! :) I'm just proud of myself that time but not anymore! I'm in college now, eh. XD

This is the best experience I had in SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL (Work Immersion)

Last semester in senior high school, we had an immersion. I was assigned to NIA-UPRIIS (National Irrigation Administration - Upper Pampanga River Integrated Irrigation System). Under the department of administration, where I interact with farmers, let them write to the logbook (names, signatures and purposes) and entertain them before the head officer.

Encoding memo (Compiling)

I also received files and got the signature from the head of the department and transferred it to another department. Some of the documents are about the funds they will release for a certain project or for the seminars. I also encoded a memo and DTR (Daily Time Record) of the regular employees because their biometrix didn't work well. Haha.

Scanning :)

In this picture, I'm scanning all the old documents of payroll! It is way back 1950-1980! Where they salary is just 1 peso-6 pesos! I was amazed that time because I saw an old the documents and where our currency, still have a big value.

Me being a secretary :D

I even became a secretary for one day in the head of all departments because his secretary got sick. The head of the department where I was assigned recommended that I should do it. :O I was shocked, why me? Haha. She said that I'm the most trustworthy and she knows that I can do it. Just wow, Ma'am! And yeah, I survived! They taught me how to fax a message too, even laminating their ID's.

Indeed, a good experience. :)

To all students or working students out there, just keep fighting! Okay? :) You will achieve your goals soon!

Thank you for reading! :)

4
$ 1.82
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of dziefem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for dziefem
2 years ago

Comments

Hirao maging working student noh? Swrte lng cguro ako hndi ko dinanas yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap po aa, lalo na pag kapos talaga pera mo hehe. Mabuti naman po at hindi niyo nadanas 😁 thanks for the upvote te

$ 0.00
2 years ago