Serendipity | Stroke Of Luck

3 32
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

The lady followed me to our table. I helped her to sit on the sit directly opposite to Chinedu. Chinedu looked at me with flaming eyes, but I didn't Care.

"Hey Chinedu, meet this pretty damsel, her name is..., what's your name pretty?"

"My name is Linda"

She said as she extended her hands towards Chinedu.

They got talking, and they realized that she also came for the Fest. They sat there chatting for a couple of hours, with Charles dong most of the talking. When it was time for the Fest, they all left the eatery and headed for the show.

*******************************

¡Source

The Fest was interesting, with several artists preforming their favorite songs. The Fest ended around 3am and it was time for everybody to part ways. Already charles made an arrangement for a room for Chinedu and himself.

There they Stood saying their goodbyes. Charles kept making silly signs and winking at Chinedu. Chinedu on his own part had no idea what he was trying to tell him. So he ignored him and kept talking to Linda.

"Uhhm, Let Me Drive You Home, where exactly do you live?"

"I actually live at Enugu. I didn't plan on staying till the end of the show, I was supposed to take a night flight to Enugu. Shoots! I didn't book a hotel room yet"

"That's bad, with the crowd here, it would be hard to get a hotel this night."

"Well well" Charles cut in without invitation "It's a good thing I got us two separate rooms. Chinedu why don't you be a gentle man and sacrifice part of your bed for Linda here."

Chinedu stared at Charles curiously because Charles clearly told him that he managed to get only one room for both of them.

Then I turned to Linda

"Will you mind joining me in my room tonight, then tomorrow we would travel together because we stay in the east too."

"Are you sure I wouldn't get a hotel room if I tried?"

Charles already had an answer for this

"Why Don't you go to his room and stretch your legs, we will go and check if there's a free room left then come for you."

"Thanks A lot. I'd really appreciate that."

She said as she collected the room key from Chinedu And walked away. They both stood there watching her walk gracefully.

*******************************

Then I turned to Charles in anger. He knew what was coming to him, so he spoke before i got the chance to speak

"Before You say anything, just know that you owe me A lot after this night."

"Chally what had come over you? Are you high?"

"We both know who is high here."

¡Source

"Why have you made it your responsibility to take decisions for me? Now where are you going to sleep tonight, because i know you got only one room?"

"Let me bother about that, just go in there and make that Lady happy. And tell her you couldn't get a room."

"What do you mean make her happy? I'm really tired and I'm going straight to bed, she should do the same too."

"Don't disappoint me man!"

He said as he turned and walked away.

*******************************

On getting to the room, Linda was sitting in bed fiddling her phone. Chinedu stood there for A while. It was actually the first time he was really admiring her.

"She's really pretty", he said to himself.

She knew he was standing there, but she said nothing. He finally walked up to her

"Hey we couldn't get a room for you"

"Oh my, really i don't want to inconvenience you by staying here."

" it's totally cool. I could use some company."

"OK then"

He showered, and went straight to bed. He lay down, but then all the sleep has left him. He was fully that Linda was awake also. Then he finally decided to talk

"Can't sleep?"

"Yeah seems I washed away the sleep when I showered"

"Same thing happened to me", Chinedu said giggling.

It happened that They didn't sleep that night, they sat on the bed talking till morning. Within those few hours, a lot really happened. They had a heart to heart talking about really deep topics and got to know each other pretty much better.

*******************************

¡Source

The next day, they had coffee in bed. Got Prepared for their journey and stepped out walking hand in hand. And one would think that they had been for years.

They got to the Car park and Charles wasn't there yet. It was then that he remembered about the hotel room incident and he wondered where he slept last night.

Just then he approached them with so much happiness in his face as always.

"I can see you both had a lovely night, because you are all glittering and smiling like newly wedded couple."

We all laughed.

"Chinedu can we leave now?"

*******************************

It's been two years since He Met Linda. During those two years, thanks to Linda he stopped during hard drugs, tho he normally smokes a pot once in a while. During those two years, he had never had never had an encounter with the force men, be it SARS or Drug Men. She never asked him for money like his previous girlfriends. His life changed for good.

From the first day he met her everything about him changed. Meeting her was indeed A serendipitous event.

*******************************

*******************************

Does everything remain the same? Do they live happily ever after? Is there A twist coming?

Subscribe and stay tuned to find out more.

*******************************

This is a free write with the Serendipity Prompt by @meitanteikudo . Join The #PromptFactory for more fun.

*******************************

Curious how it all started? Check out Serendipity| Good Fortune.

*******************************

$ToryTeller👻

6
$ 0.12
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
+ 1
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

Sincerely, I love a lady who is independent and do not ask much from her boyfriend. That doesn't mean she won't ask on some days but not to the extent of making it a daily responsibility to ask from the man. I hope to read more on this journey of love. So interesting story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My point exactly. It is so annoying to date someone who expects you to pay80% of her bills

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice writeup

$ 0.00
2 years ago