Serendipity | Good Fortune

11 62
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

They say life is A myth. Sometimes you feel that you have seen it all, then out of nowhere life hits you pretty hard and tells you that you have actually seen nothing. Like Phyno will always say in igbo

"Öwebedi ihé ifü"

Have you ever acquired something new, or met someone and from that moment everything you touch turns to Gold - not literally lol. More like everything you venture into becomes successful. Good fortune, as some people would call it. I like to call it lucky charm. But then what happens when this charm fades? What happens when your good fortune turns to Bad Luck? What happens when this charm becomes the source of your downfall?

Serendipity | Fortunate Discovery

Chinedu was a school drop out who ventured into forex trade. That was his major, but he was into virtually everything that pays online. Both legal and otherwise. He has been into this for a long time now, but things weren't really going as planned. He spent the whole day observing the charts on his forex account, probably trying to pick up a trend. He spends the whole night surfing the net, checking up on his dating sites and all the other things that pays him online. He barely had time to sleep, he barely had time to take Care of himself, he barely had time to socialize. You can bet that he has forgotten what it felt like to sit down and converse with people and just have fun.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Despite all his endeavors, he still didn't own a car, or a house to his name. He still had to pay monthly house rent. These are the things that makes him an unhappy young man. Truth is he actually earns a reasonable amount from his online doings. But then something always comes up from nowhere to sap his sweat. Could be the NDLEA force men bursting his house from time to time and charging him for possession of hard drugs. Could be his girl friend's unending family members that always need money for one surgery or another. Could be the SARS men on the road always searching his phone and accusing him of Internet fraud. At the end of the day he realizes that after all he earns, he has no reasonable investment to boast of.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

It was one of those days when all this thinking got him to resort to his hard drugs for relief.

¡Source

With A lighted blunt on his left hand, a glass of codeine on the table, he lined the white powdered substance on his table, ready for sniffing. There was A loud knock on the door. He ignored the banging on the door, continued with sniffing his drugs, hoping that whoever that was will get tired and leave.

Unfortunately, the banging became even louder and irritating. He reluctantly went for the door, ignoring the fact that he had so many exhibits openly displayed in his sitting room. He actually didn't Care if it was the drug men.

"What on earth are you doing in there that took you the whole day to come open the door for me. I almost thought you were dead."

It was his old time friend, Charles. Probably his only friend in the world.

"Well I might as well be dead, there's no reason to be on earth."

"Will you let me in, or will you stand here and preach to me about suicide"

Charles said as he walked pass him and went straight to the sitting room.

"what in f*ck's sake is going on here? I see you were working on the suicide before I interrupted you"

"Chally what are you talking about, this is just me getting high. If I wanted to commit suicide I'd get my gun and blow my brains out."

"Well before you do that, be sure to list me as your next of kin."

"I'm not in the mood for your chattering, why exactly are you here?"

"Being a very good and caring friend, I went and got us tickets for the music fest at Lagos."

" I'm not attending, shouldn't you go to such shows with stella your girlfriend "

"first off, I don't have a girlfriend at the moment, Stella is my ex now. Chinedu when last did you step out of this house?"

"I stepped out this morning to go get my drugs".

"Let Me Rephrase that, when last did you step out of the house to do something reasonable?"

The conversation went on for several minutes, Chinedu realized that Charles wasn't taking NO for an answer, so he finally gave in.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Thanks to Charles they got to the venue of the fest 3 hours before the time. So they decided to branch to an eatery and grab a meal while they waited. They ate in silence for some minutes till Charles broke the silence.

¡Source

"Hey man! I can't help but notice that lady at your 3'o clock keeps checking you out"

"Chally, you finally dragged me out of the house, can we just eat in peace."

"I'm serious man, besides I didn't drag you out of your solo zone to come here and soliloquize. I brought you out to actually interact with people."

Chinedu tried to ignore him and focus on his food.

"Well What Are Friends For"

Charles said as he got up and approached the lady.

"Hello There Pretty, sorry to bother you this beautiful evening. That young handsome looking gentle man over there, who happened to be my silly friend has requested if you could join us in our table, his quite the shy type so pardon him for not being brave enough to approach you himself."

"Wow that's a lot of words just for an invite, well it would be my honor to join you guys."

There it was. That was the discovery. My lucky charm. The good fortune that changed my life.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What happens next? How does this lady change his life?

Subscribe and stay tuned for the continuation.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is a freewrite from the Sendripity prompt by @meitanteikudo. Join #Promptfactory For Much more fun.

7
$ 1.53
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 2
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

Great one boss🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Charles is such a good friend and I wouldn't mind waiting to see what finally happened after then. Such an interesting story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I promise you the continuation will be much more interesting than this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do women like that still exist? Without doing some shakara like they do.i wish ! Can't wait to finish it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol.. Well they actually do. Some don't actually have strength for shakara. If they like you they will comply, if they don't they will tell you straight up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Charles was a good friend who took him out to have some fun, and later he invited a lady on his name.I think ending would be happy. Will wait to read the next part. If I am not wrong, were you on uptrennd before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I was on uptrennd. Same name same Avatar. What about you?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was also there, with the name of Farahikram.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's cool. Nice to meet you here. Where you on Uptrennd university?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely I was on uptrennd University too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I remember you now. I'm So happy to meet you here. Its been quite a long time

$ 0.00
2 years ago