We had a fine, hot holiday

14 26

This day is a special holiday for most of the people here in our community. Since it is highly celebrated by catholic christians. And it was great that the weather was fine the whole day, perfect for their yearly traditions.

During this time of the year, I really find it amusing that the atmosphere feels quiet since most of people are just at home, spending time with their family since it's a long weekend, and that they get to spend time in church with their families also.

I really can't tell much of their traditions

Since growing up, we are raised in a Pentecostal household and yeah, there's a lot of restrictions growing up but I'm still thankful for it because the way we were raised somehow helped us shape the very self that we have now.

Now, how was our Holiday?

I feel a bit happier, since I won't have to bothered much with what is going on in the house. I am just laying at bed, doing social media stuff and playing mobile games when I feel bored. But I really felt the heat inside our home, the kind of summer heat that we are anticipating. I am really not a fan of using electric fans, so I just opened my windows to allow the free flow of air to enter into my room.

And so I've been staying in my room since morning until lunch time. But a few hours after lunch, we got a bit busier since the firewood that we've recently acquired are already after being place under the heat of the sun and I was tasked to help my mother and my sister in storing them at the back portion of our house. It took us a longer time to store our firewood since they're just a lot, kudos to my father who has diligently gathered them so that our stove gas will not be used quite often, and therefore saves a bit of pesos, hehe.

But before we started our task earlier in the late afternoon, my mother has been cooking the most popular food during these holiday season. Even though we are not catholics, my mother still took her time and prepared it for us.

"Binignit" the star food for this day.

After lunch, my mother has been busy in gathering the ingredients she had bought the other day and all by herself, she cooked this amazing food that all of us enjoyed.

Here's a bowl of mine full of "binignit". I really enjoyed my share since we don't get to eat this quite often. I think this food counts as dessert since it is a sweet dish. And there is still remaining left in the pot, might consider eating again after dinner. Haha

As I was trying to enjoy myself after eating, I went outside and lo, I felt mesmerized by how the sunlight painted beautiful colors in the sky. I quickly grabbed my phone and opened it's rear camera to has grasp of such wondrous moment.

Such beauty, I've been staring at the setting sun for quite awhile. Since it's been a while since we've last witnessed the beauty of the sunset. The past few weeks, all we can see is the never ending cloudy skies.

Also, for this evening, I find it amazing since this is the first time in quite awhile that we are able to witness moonlight. Such wonders, happening consecutively in a day hehe. And very much for this evening, we are free once again to our usual businesses, the never ending social media activity. Haha.

Closing Thoughts:

All for this day, we had a bit of a fun time as a family. We accomplished certain tasks with the help of each other and we got to share our blessings with each other. Hoping that this could happen every day in life.

Once again, I am thankful to all of those are diligent readers of my drafts. Thank you for your support. May God continue to shower blessings upon you all.

Hope you had great day for this blessed Good Friday.

All images were photographed by me.

8
$ 3.58
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4

Comments

Tambong-tambong local name ng Binignit sa amin hahaha, mas gusto ko yung madaming banana then less yung kamote lol, ayaw ko yung minsan kamoteng kahoy pa substitute iba kaya lasa nun haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, same. gusto ko rin mas maraming banana. I think yung binignit namin walang inilagay na kamoteng kahoy sa niluto ni nanay last friday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang bilo bilo yata yang binignit lods? Fave ko yan lalo n pag lumamig na hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yan ung common term dito sa amin lodz sa kabisayaan πŸ˜… minsan lang din namin to ma eenjoy 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like a fun day. These small moments make our life beautiful. That photo of moon is so mesmerizing. By the way I have never heard of this dish BINIGNIT. Though it looks delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, hehe. I'm guessing you are not a Filipino. binignit is a common food here, especially during Holy Week season that others don't eat and go for this food instead πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ok ok! Yes I am from Pakistan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woww that's great. I am glad to hear from you my friend 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang binignit jud sir uy. Sige jud ko pangita ana ganina.πŸ˜… Nagsige pud ko check sa Facebook page sa atung lungsod namasin nga naay namaligya kay mupalit ko. Pero wa gyud uy.hahha Taman na lang ko tan-aw ani sa mga pictures.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, tradition man lage tahay maam πŸ˜… Ngaon tag binignit haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oy ,naa pay binignit diha sir?Murag ako rajuy wa kakaon og binignit ron dahπŸ˜… Ka nice bitaw sa panahon oy ,mayu unta tuloy tuloy og init para magahi na tong mga yuta nga nangahumok pagbagyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, diay gamay te nabilin πŸ˜… Btaw, unta tuloyΒ² naning init bahalag maka pagtong para pud maka move on nata 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinood jud ,mag move on nalang ta bisan sakit ,dawaton .Move on unya ipadayun ang kinabuhi unya maghuwat kos binignitπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha delivery on the way char hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago