Writing Prompt #19-Laziness

14 44
Avatar for demeterdelune
2 years ago
Topics: Preference

@JonicaBradley creates amazing prompts to help you think about what to write. I'm usually writing about relationships, dating, and anything connected to those things, but over here, I would like to begin writing about other things, including life.

Laziness is often considered a negative term. When we see someone doing what we perceive as 'nothing', we think them lazy. Like a lot of terms that are seen as negative, I enjoy turning them around and reclaiming them for myself.

My mother called me lazy more than she called me by my name. If I was sitting around reading a book, I was being lazy. Because I didn't enjoy going outside to play with my brother, lazy. She never considered that I was learning by reading or that it wasn't being outside that was the problem, it was my brother being a jerk. That would have meant her thinking outside the box and that wasn't going to happen.

That's what I consider lazy, being unable or unwilling to test your own beliefs and consider someone else's perspective. While you may consider someone like me, who prefers the company of a good book or walking slowly to enjoy the sights and smells of the world lazy, I don't. Life is short, and I like taking the time to enjoy everything around me, rather than run to and fro, like a chicken with its head cut off.

Sponsors of demeterdelune
empty
empty
empty

Sure, I get in a hurry when I need to, but I can promise you my definition of need is likely quite different than most. When I was younger, this caused me great stress and anxiety. I would put things off that I didn't want to do, in favor of better things, then run around in a time induced panic to get everything done. Who am i kidding, i still do that sometimes, but I know what my priorities are. And they're not making anyone happy other than myself.

I describe myself as lazy a lot. I'll lazily stroll around the neighborhood while enjoying the sights. I'll lazily read a book i consider 'eye candy', meaning I don't intend to learn anything from it, it's a way to dive into a world that isn't mine. I'll lazily chop vegetables for dinner, knowing there's absolutely no hurry. There's an ASMR effect to living life like this. Not getting in a hurry, not rushing things.

One of the best ways I've learned to lean into being lazy is by watching my cat. Sadly, I no longer have her, but she was the Queen of being lazy and enjoying life. She slept close to 18 hours a day, lazily sunning herself in the window, or curling up at my feet on the couch. Do you think this bothered her one bit? Absolutely not. She was being a cat and that's what cats do. When she was awake and alert, she got things done. Cleaning herself, eating, chasing the other cats, playing with our dog. There was no end to what she wanted to accomplish in a day, but alas, the sleepies would kick in and guess what? She didn't fight it, she found a spot and laid down.

As I get older, I find myself adhering to a cat-like schedule. I don't normally sleep for 18 hours, but if I get tired, I take a nap. If I'm awake at 3 am and can't sleep, I complete tasks I need or want to do, then lie back down when I'm ready. My schedule belongs to no one other than me, and if that makes me lazy, well then sign me up.

Thanks again to Jonica for providing this prompt, allowing me to lazily work my way through my day <3

11
$ 4.44
$ 3.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 4
Sponsors of demeterdelune
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for demeterdelune
2 years ago
Topics: Preference

Comments

Welcome to readcash demeterdelune. Looking forward to reading more wonderful articles from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom calls me lazy whenever she sees me holding cellphone. But she seldom praise me whenever I run around the house doing this chore and that chore. She only notices me when I stop to a break. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the cat so cute

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I personally think sitting and reading is not concidered laziness. If I was lazy I would not read. I would just sit and doing nothing or useless things. Good article. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Peter. I don't really consider it lazy per se, it's just enjoyable and since I was called lazy for doing it for so long, I've decided I'll own it. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That cat is cute... cats have such a special way to be lazy... I think they invented laziness

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They really do! And I think you're right. I want to be a cat in my next life. Thanks so much for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cats invented laziness. I like that. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

@fantigra may have another definition of lazy. Or maybe her donkey does...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ASMR

What is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Autonomous sensory meridian response, otherwise known as things that give you the 'tingles'. There are a ton of ASMR videos on YouTube. Some are as simple as fingernails clicking to very intricate stories played out like living in a cabin and day to day experiences.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oooooo. I need to check those out. Also, you should write an article about that. Is it something people in relationships can give each other in a non sexual way?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will do that! Yes, you can definitely do it for a partner. Do you like having your head scratched? That's ASMR. I'll work on that today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago