The Lighthouse of Cape Town (tempera painting)

2 19
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi friends!

Today I want to tell & show you haw I created one of my lovest pictures "The Lighthouse of Cape Town"
I drew it on one art contest on Golos, but it was be interesting for my English-speaking friends
I saw him on one photo, and it seemed to me that this snow-white building, towering over the raging ocean, is worthy of being painted.

I choosing for picture set of tempera paints, watercolor paper (yes, I love drawing with acrylic & tempera paints on watercolor paper) and three synthetic brushes different sizes.

It's my sketch (not from references, the composition was invented by me)

I start drawing with painting the ocean waves.
For background I mixed two colors of paints - blue FC and emerald green. Foreground was painted with adding ultramarine and more emerald green.
The waves near a rocks I painted with the same colors, but diluted with water.
Splashes and foam of waves I painted with white color.

Then I painted the lighthouse.
One wall in a shadow was painted with mix of iron red, burnt sienna and one of mixes for ocean. A wall in the light I painted with mix of iron red & yellow cadmium. For shadows on the dome I chose mix of ocher yellow and ultramarine (highly diluted with water). And a side on sunlight I toned some with mix yellow cadmium and white. For glasses was great mix which I used to paint ocean.

And finally foreground - the rocks & big massiv of forests.
That parts on sunlight was painted with mix of yellow cadmium and burnt sienna, in some places with the addition of white. The shaded areas - with a mix of burnt sienna and iron red with addition of ultramarine somewhere, and somewhere with emerald green (reflexes from water).
I painted with mix of ocher, cadmium yellow and white to the lightest places.
A foreground, covered with vegetation, I painted with a mix of emerald green with different shades of yellow (more lighter to upper edge of rocks).
In this step I didn't like that dark wall was almost the same color as a rocks on the middle ground, and I maded a light wall more saturated with slightly diluted cadmium red.
Then I drew deep scratches in a walls of rocks with very dark color (a mix of blue FC, emerald green and iron red) and a staircase leading down from one of a walls of the lighthouse.

Here is a seascape from the southernmost point of the African continent, I got!

With Love...

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 2.09
$ 1.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Ellen-he
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

Wow this is a great painting, I fell in love with the snow white building, towering over the raging ocean... 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend!) I drew this picture with great inspiration)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago