How I Managed a Stress Management Seminar

12 71
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago

Our office received an invitation from another government agency requesting for a speaker in an upcoming activity. Based on the invitation it is a GAD Related activity. So my boss, told me to attend. Being an ISO certified office, I need to answer the invitation within 3 days from receipt of which.

On the fourth day, I received a call from the agency that what they want is an activity about managing stress in the workplace since this is the purpose of their activity. I was perplexed since, I haven’t done a stress management seminar. Meaning, I don’t have materials for this kind of event and I need to start from scratch. But I couldn’t say no considering that I already made a reply.

I decided to conduct research on how a stress management seminar is being done. Since I need to create presentation and prepare the things I need for this activity. I began searching and picking out the ideas that appeal to me. I started creating my own presentation.

Preparing materials for the seminar

Since I am also handling various tasks in the office, I couldn’t find enough time to do the needed materials during office hours. I needed to bring the work at home. Which means, I need to set aside some of my online activities so that I may be able to deliver a good output. That’s the reason why I was not able to submit a new article for the past few days.

I spent several days before I could complete my presentation, likewise downloaded, edited and printed the materials I needed for the activity. I also needed to practice dancing since I need to guide my participants during the last part of the planned activity.

When I thought that my presentation is already good, I prepared the needed equipment during the seminar. I filled out a borrower’s slip for the projector, microphone and speaker. This is me, I don’t usually go to an activity without preparing for these basic things unless the person inviting informed us that they have a complete set of equipment and I will just discuss.

I also informed the driver about the activity so he could also prepare a trip ticket. This is an official trip so I need a driver. Much as I want to use my own car, I deemed it necessary that I utilize the resources of the office. One reason, I could give some amount to the driver when I received an honoraria instead of allotting the money to buy gasoline. Second reason, it is safer to have a driver with me considering that I am not familiar with the place.

The Most Awaited Day

The day of the activity arrived, and that is today. It so happened that the assessment of another program coincide with my schedule. So, I and the team which composed of three officers went to the place together. They have a different venue.

The participants for the seminar will be coming from another province, so I reached the place a little early. The driver and I went to another venue which we are planning to conduct our summer function to happen on the 30th and 31st. We paid the required deposit and checked the place.

Finally, they called me and told me that they are already at the venue, so I decided to proceed there immediately. We had our lunch and started the activity.

Issues Encountered

The place has no function hall. So the team set up the place to conduct the activity at the place outside the rooms. It was a wide area and the chairs were placed on the sand. Even if I have a projector, they don’t have a projector screen. So I decided not to use the projector. I just opened my presentation to be used as a guide for my discussion.

I discussed about managing stress in the workplace. This is the topic they requested. It was a comprehensive discussion about the topic. I gave various examples and I also asked them about their experiences about stress.

The participants are very attentive and participative so we had a lovely discussion about the topic. After giving some information, we proceeded to the workshop portion. It was about the level of stress which can be low, moderate or high. Afterwards, I gave them some suggestions on what to do in case they experience things that could make them feel stress.

The Exciting Part

After giving various suggestions, I asked them to stand up so we can start with the physical activity that would relieve their stress. I asked them to place their right hand between their chest and the left hand extended to the side with palm facing outward.

First position, locked

I see to it that the given instructions. I even took a picture which I told them I needed for my documentation. After making sure that everyone is in the right position, I played the music. It was a popular Tiktok dance song, Amelia. The crowd was overjoyed as we dance through the music.

I know I made them happy.

After a few more dances, I ended my discussion. They gave me a certificate of appreciation and we took some pictures. I also requested the participants to fill out the Client Satisfaction Rating form.

I feel so happy with the result of my first stress management training. While going home, the officer from another local government unit told me that she will be sending an invitation for a GAD training in the LGU. Oh, well, I’m ready for that.

Thank you guys for reading. I hope you have a stress-free day!

Disclaimer:

The content of this post is based on my personal opinion and does not in any way represent the organization I am currently connected with.

Sponsors of cinderella
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 8.12
$ 8.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.03 from @CoinBitShac
+ 1
Sponsors of cinderella
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago

Comments

I like your description of the stress management workshop. Music and dance can indeed improve our mental as well as physical well-being.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the appreciation. Not bad for a first-timer but I need to practice more. I just realized that many groups and people need this kind of activity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Consider creating a virtually real video profile on a solid video content publishing platform and sharing small video clips of your workshops/seminars. https://read.cash/@Unity/create-your-real-virtual-identity-with-videos-6279cceb

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a nice idea to include dancing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you sis. Dancing is a great way to relieve stress and it's good for our health. I used to dance a lot before but with my busy work, I can't do it anymore. So I have to do a lot of practice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you well in your busy work. and congratulations on successfully completing a seminar you have never presented before and receiving a new seminar invitation.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the good wish. Yeah, maybe this time, it won't be as difficult as the first time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did very well my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It takes courage to management stress. You are a genius mate

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you. It is a challenging task but I can't say no knowing that many others are expecting from me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ito yong need ko seminar on how to relieve stress. Try niyo din po maging online speaker sa mga webinars. Napaka gilas niyo pala though three years na ako nagtuturo pero may takot padin sa madaming tao. 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hi! I am not a teacher pero with my work, we need to learn everything. We were trained to be a trainor but my first time to discuss stress management. Thank you for the suggestion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago