Knitting a very pink dress for Barbie as memories of my childhood flash through my mind.

10 61
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Today I want to take you on a trip back to childhood, especially to the cute and beautiful girls of Read.cash, do you remember when we used to play with dolls? Who of you had a Barbie, I don't! I don't feel sad about that either, I would have loved to have a doll that had hair so I could do her hair and put ribbons on her hair, knit her hairbands, I remember all that well.

I remember that I always asked the baby Jesus for a doll but nothing came; now I laugh about it but at home we were happy with the little we had and we never complained or said anything. I guess times have changed and now there is enough money to buy not one but two dolls with house and accessories included.

It seems to me that Barbie will never go out of fashion, every day they make transformations, they get new things for her, from the latest model car to a new boyfriend to debut her with. That's why today's girls don't stop asking for their Barbis to the baby Jesus or Saint Nicholas at Christmas.

Today I want to remember those moments of our childhood while I present you this beautiful work I recently made for my beautiful niece Maria Gabriela. Gaby is my favorite and even though we live far away we are always in touch and we write WhatsApp to each other. Gabriela is already 6 years old and is going to first grade at her school, that's why I want to give her this special gift when I see her again.

Materials

To work this dress I used simple materials, it's pink and white baby spider wool. I also used a knitting needle in crochet technique #2.50 m.m.

Crochet knitting is very easy, don't complicate yourself thinking that you need to go to space to learn. To make this dress we will only need to know two basic stitches such as the chain stitch and the single crochet, otherwise we only make decreases at the waist and increases for when we start to elaborate the cuts.

Step by step of the dress

Row number 01: We start the dress from the bottom. We make 30 chain stitches, we go to the first chain stitch we made and interlace with a loop stitch.

Row number 02 -21: We start with a chain stitch and mark it with a hook so that it doesn't get lost, we continue with a single crochet in each base stitch and we close each row with a slip stitch over the chain stitch of the beginning. We continue knitting until we have our rows.

Row number 22: From here we are going to knit what will be the waist of the dress; we raise a chain that is equivalent to our first single crochet, we mark it always with a hook. Then we continue knitting a sequence of 3 single crochet stitches and a decrease, until we finish the row with a slip stitch on the first chain.

Row number 23.- In this row we make 2 single crochet stitches and a decrease.

Row number 24 to #30.- We knit a single crochet in each base stitch.

Row number 31.- We knit 2 single crochet and a single crochet increase. Don't forget to always place the marker on the chain stitch of each row.

Row number 32 to row #36.- Change the yarn to the color of your choice and knit a single crochet in each ground stitch.

 

Barbie hat

  We start with a magic ring and inside we knit 6 single crochet stitches and close with a slip stitch. In the next row we are going to knit increases, that is, two single crochets in each base stitch and close with a slip stitch. In row number 3 we will knit a single crochet and an increase until we finish, *remember to put the marker on the first chain stitch at the beginning of each row so you don't lose it. In row number 4 we will knit 2 single crochet and a double crochet, then in row number 5 we will knit 3 single crochet and a double crochet.

Now we have the top of our hat, we are going to knit single crochet, one in each base stitch but we are only going to take the back strand of the base stitch, to make a break, and so on until the end of this row.

Row 7-10 we knit a single crochet in each ground stitch.

To knit the flap of the hat we start with 4 single crochet stitches and an increase. We continue knitting increasing rows until we get 7 single crochet stitches and an increase. Finally we knit one row of single crochet, cut the yarn and hide it.

The decoration of the dress and hat I leave it to your choice, you can place ribbons, lace, flowers, whatever it is, it will only enhance the beauty of the dress and the rest we leave it to princess Barbie.

 

As you can see girls it is very simple and very beautiful to make; the time it took me to make it was about 3 hours because I enjoyed every stitch. Another thing I can tell you is that you can change the type of yarn to work with, you don't necessarily have to use wool; in the market you can get plenty of yarns to work with.

Before I say goodbye for this day I would like to tell you that you should never lose those memories of your childhood because they are unique and unrepeatable, with them we are happy every time we make a stitch.

 ---

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

10
$ 8.30
$ 8.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @cxrxlxrts
+ 1
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! The doll is so cute and beautiful especially the hat on her. I remembered when I also had a doll when I was still young. I would plait different styles of hair and even get beautiful small dress for her. I am always happy taking care of my doll then but now, everything has gone but I still remember those moment.

You have done a beautiful knitting for Gabriela. I love the name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello .... My little girl is beautiful and deserves to be given these little things, I remember when I was a child I used to make my stick figures, and I made them dresses and cute things. A child's imagination has no limits, and that's how I was happy, very happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nostalgic. I can really relate to this childhood memories of yours. I also had one doll before and I made her some dresses and other stuffs. I sew it unlike yours which is stitched. Those were really good old days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are right, many young people today would like to live our times or to have been born in that era. good that you liked and made you happy my post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes of course ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I read your article I had a few flashback of those good old days! This is refreshing to me. Though I am new to this platform but for hours of reading articles this is a first! :) I remembered when I was on Matleave I used to do crochet too but all just for a practice. How I wish I had formal workshop for this. I had to stop as I would need to get back to work. Have a great day to you! This Barbie would look good to be displayed in the living room where everyone could get to see how you beautifully dress it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what? I am very surprised to see this kind of content here. I have been looking around but never saw anything related so I thought maybe read. cash doesn't welcome it lol.

I am glad it does and I will consider sharing my work too. I love knitting and I made a lovely doll skirt recently. And yes you are right, it seems barbie will never go into extinction because young girls are always talking about their barbie doll. It's so nice of you to want to surprise Gabriela with this lovely gift. I am sure she will love it. By the way, the dress looks nice and well fitted for the doll.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, how nice that you remembered those moments of your life, that's what we have left to be happy every time we remember them. the doll I don't have it in the living room but I do have it right now displayed on my nightstand all fancy .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is top notch, I love the gown, its beautiful and would so much suit the barbie. But I have a question ma'am I've always thought there's a difference between Crocheting and Knitting, but I see you talk about Crochet knitting. Does it mean that we have Crotchet, Knitting and at the same time Crochet knitting?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, there are different types of knitting, that must be the difference. Crochet knitting is only one needle, but there is knitting with two needles and there is also knitting with something called fabrics. It is also knitted with the hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago