Knitting a crochet scarf because here in Venezuela it's already very cold.🎅

33 69
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Lifestyle, Mother, God, Love, ...

And what do you do at Christmas? 🎅

Hello my dear friends of #Read.cash, I hope you had a happy weekend and that you had enough rest to start this third week of November with a lot of strength and energy.

I don't know how the weather is where you live, but here in Venezuela the cold has already started to be felt, especially in the mornings. I haven't wanted to get up for days and when I sit at the computer I do it with half a blanket, a sweater and a cup of hot coffee. We all know that in the month of December it is very cold and we all take out our jackets, scarves, hats, socks from the closet; not to mention the nights when we take out our thickest blankets to keep warm.

I would also like to know what you do in the evenings when December arrives, how about talking about our traditions and customs, not only family but also at a local level.

For example, here in Venezuela we have many traditions, we decorate the streets with lots of lights and Christmas motifs, at night we go out in the street with the children well wrapped up so they can skate, ride their bikes, share with their friends.

Where I live this year we will have a mini Christmas fair and we will sell candy, food, form a party group and go out to share some time with our neighbors. I think that deep down everyone wants to go out in a normal way to the street because last year we had a very bad time cooped up.

Also in our way of speaking we started to hear phrases like "Pacheco is here".

The origin of the name "Pacheco" comes from a man who sold flowers and lived in the mountains in colonial Caracas; every December Mr. Pacheco would arrive at the Plaza Bolivar in Caracas fleeing from the terrible cold that lashed the Avila Mountains. There, near that square, Mr. Pacheco would sell his beautiful flowers that he grew in the mountains.

When the people of Caracas saw this man they would exclaim "Here comes Pacheco", "Pacheco came down" or "Pacheco arrived", this way they knew that the temperatures were dropping in the mountains and that in a few days they would also drop in the city. The arrival of Pacheco was synonymous with the approach of Christmas.

Well, I hope soon to read your stories and get to know each other a little more; meanwhile today I want to tell you about my beautiful crocheted scarf which is shaped like Santa Claus, but if you don't want to make a Santa Claus scarf you can make a snowman or a reindeer scarf.

The materials

This scarf is very easy to make, you can say that it is a basic level, that is to say that you only use two stitches, high stitch and reductions.

- Wool

- Crochet needles

Step by step

Step 1.

1st row. We started with the skin color for the face with 8 chain stitches + 3 chains which would be my first high stitch, then I made the remaining 7 high stitches.

2nd Row.

I made 3 chains and in that same place I made a high stitch to form an increase. Then I made a double high stitch in each base stitch, when we reach the last base stitch we make another increase, and so we do in each following round, until we get the desired size of the face.

To finish

When we already have the face formed, we make a round of high stitches only, without increases, then we change the yarn for the white color and repeat the previous round, in my case I only made one round but you do it according to your taste, then we change the yarn and make high stitches, I made 17 high stitches to form what would be the cap.

Then I changed the yarn and started to make two double crochet, a chain and again two double crochet, always leaving a base stitch to form the separation, as you can see in the picture.

I also wanted to show you the first scarf I made in a Crochet workshop, it was a weekend course in the city of Caracas and I learned to make beautiful things. I tell you that this scarf is made in the loom technique and I liked it very much, because it is very soft, it takes you more time to make it, but the result is more fabulous.

Friends "life is today". Christmas is love, it is time to be with our loved ones, it is time to smile and to have a good time. Let's not get caught up in resentments or ugly things, if you heal your soul for sure everything will go well and you will feel much better. Enjoy Christmas.

Christmas is a date

To be in harmony

With other people,

where peace and love

Are the priority.🎅

Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

21
$ 8.66
$ 7.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 11
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Lifestyle, Mother, God, Love, ...

Comments

Nice article by you and what a way to teach the read cash world an important cog in Christmas. # lovely#

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very skilled in doing crochet. I wish I can do such things. That is such a nice scarf for Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh God you are so good at this, ad the Santa head at the end looks so adorable.. I would hve bought from you for my daughter if I ever lived near you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you are celebrating Christmas in Venezuela and there is a bit difference from our own in Nigeria.

There are songs we hear that makes us get excited that Christmas is coming. We then get ready to travel to our hometown to spend with our families we have not seen for a year.

We also get anxious going to church at night on 25th and 31st of December. There are also street lights been turned on for the whole night because it's the moment to dance, rejoice and merry.

In fact, Christmas is always fun here too.

I love the santa scarf you crocheted too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did great and it’s an excellent piece, crafted beautifully… you got every bit of Santa I wish I was close to use it, would be fun for the season… right here when it wants to be cold it gets so cold that I would know it’s time for weather change and December is near… thank you for making me happy and also weldone..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I love this. I have been seeing lots of users here doing crochets and this is one of the best crochet that I see. I wish I could make one in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka inggit talaga. Ahhhh your so creative !am, i really love those so cute...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am Carolina, I admire your talents because you're so good at everything. I've learned a lot from your articles, you're so good at sewing, cooking, and even crocheting!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I like to be busy, that's all, I can never sit still and when I don't have much to do I just pick up the phone and start looking for ideas to learn more every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!😲 I love it ma'am.🥰 You're so skill full ma'am. I love the color. I wish I can be a crocheter like you ma'am who is really expert and making a lot of awesome crochets. I want to learn it. I tried in crochet too ma'am but I stopped because my day is always been busy due to work. I don't have time so I didn't have a choice so making stop it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It would be good for you to learn but if you are in love with the scarf tell someone who knows how to knit to make it for you, I am sure that wherever you go with that scarf you will be the center of attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that is so cute and festive. I've always wanted to make a scarf for myself but it's no use because it doesn't get too cold in here in the Philippines and none of us wear it except for 2 cities that has a very cold weather.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's also hot here where I live, so I use it only in the evenings when I go out because that's when the temperature drops. You can also knit it in a soft cotton yarn,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooh good idea. I might try making one for me and my daughter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this crafts 😍😍 I'll try to make my scarf too. Thank you mam for the procedures.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

On the internet you can make beautiful ones, I also like the snowman one, I made it for the kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw it in YT it's beautiful especially when you put on in the Christmas tree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn😍😍, I love that Santa crochet, it's beautiful. December is always a love feast where people dine and drink together and have more bonding together too. I love those parts where you all design the street with Christmas light and all, that's so sweet and lovely. We did that here also but just in churches and in our houses, not on the street.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello, I would like to know in which city it is, here we learn a lot about the customs of other countries, I love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a Nigerian, thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to learn how to crochet. Maybe when I get back home

$ 0.05
2 years ago

do it, it not only makes beautiful things but also serves as therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful, my friend. I have crocheted a couple of endless scarves a long time ago, but nothing as creative as this. Saludos!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello friend, how nice that you knit, it is already a step forward to start this scarf, not to mention the scarf in loom is beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved this one Carolina, really made me smile, and perfect for Christmas

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're right, it's very pretty, it looks good on men too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. I love the way you played with the colours and oh... That Santa face. Such creativity. I would love to adorn my neck with such a beautiful piece every time... This is wonderful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for sure you can send it to someone, they are also nice details to give as a christmas present to someone special.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true...never thought about that. ❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was fascinated and kind of wanting to knit too because at school we are taught to do crochet. Can you show me some of your other creations?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, on my blog I have posted many knitted things, but you can also get videos on youtube, they are very easy to follow and learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must have enormous patience, blessed are you that your city is cold, here in mine the heat lasts 365 days a year. Your scarf is beautiful.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi kike, what a pity that it is so hot, I imagine that when you go out your body feels the change and appreciates it. here the cold is very rich and only lasts a few months.

$ 0.00
2 years ago