Children should be raised with positive discipline. Not with abuse or restraint.

31 80
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Hope, Home, God, Mental Health, Society, ...

When we have a child, no one tells us how to be a parent, the child does not come with an instruction manual, much less a description of his personality, his behavior. The old school tells us that we must raise with character, with discipline, with severe punishment. That comes from the grandparents and that is how our parents were raised and many of us went through that time where the child was reprimanded with the father's belt or with the mother's sandal.

Although I was raised in a home where we were 12 siblings and at home there were always 7 or 8 of us, I learned by watching how others behaved. I remember that if my siblings were told or scolded for something, I took it to myself and avoided making the same mistake. I think thanks to that I was saved from many punishments by my parents.

But nowadays things have changed a lot, even society has created laws and institutions to protect children and adolescents from family violence. Hitting a child to modify his behavior was so normal that even in school we were beaten with a wooden ruler if we misbehaved.

I remember that there was a phrase "Teachers are our second parents" and I can say that there were good teachers, who really taught us, but there were others who solved everything with a ruler. I can't forget a chapter of my life and I would like to tell you about it below.

When I was about 9 years old I went to school late, I was in a hurry because if you arrived after singing the hymn you had to stay in the duck for a long time listening to the scolding of the teacher. That day I had the bad luck to get a cousin who was younger than me and I told her to run so we could get there on time, but when we were a little short the girl fell, scraped her knees and got her uniform dirty.

I don't remember if I got in on time or not, I only remember that when I was in the classroom they went to pick me up and took me to my cousin's classroom; when I went in the teacher Yaneth (who we all knew as severe) asked me why she made her cousin fall? That left me surprised, at no time did I make her fall, I ran on my side and she ran on hers, but I had not finished talking when that teacher asked me to put the palm of my hand to hit me for my fault. I also remember she had a green pine branch and she hit me so hard that I took her hand away.

Taking my hand away was worse, they said that if we took our hand away they would hit us more, but when I tried to put it again I was not able to and I turned around and went crying to my classroom, but before I left that teacher hit me on my shoulder and on my back.

I have never been able to forget that, I feel anger and pain because I was just a child and even worse because I did not deserve that punishment.

Luckily that teacher left the school soon after and I think things got better for us.

Years later I met her again at a meeting with friends, I was already a woman and she did not recognize me, I swear I was provoked to tell her a few things but why, surely she was not going to remember and that was not going to solve anything. I just ignored her and stayed away from her during the whole meeting.

The truth is that terrible things used to happen before and the worst thing is that many of us believe that it was okay, but the truth is that it marked many children forever and that is where violence is born.

I understand that if we must put discipline at home, establish rules, parameters, limits, teaching the principles and values, so that when we go out to face society we have a minimum of desired behavior.

Our children deserve respect, but parents also deserve to be respected; the use of violence and punishment in the lives of our children is unnecessary, useless and inefficient. That is why I am still searching for tools that will allow me to be a better mother. It is very important that there is a school for parents, that we educate ourselves a little and for that reason I would like to talk to you about positive discipline, which is advancing more and more every day and is gaining ground in society. Positive discipline has its studies and it would be great if it could reach more and more people.


I want to take this opportunity to thank my two new sponsors, @foryoubtc09 and @MD_tibro, thank you very much and may God bless you and repay your gesture with good things for your life.


Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

19
$ 5.00
$ 4.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @clixmoney
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago
Topics: Hope, Home, God, Mental Health, Society, ...

Comments

As a father, good teachings should be start always at home. If other parents mislead their children, chances are their children could badly influence other children's behavior.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this from my observations that it is true that a child who is educated hard will have an impact on negative situations when he grows up. he will be a person who is not afraid to make mistakes in all aspects of life because he is used to violence. parents should think positively about their children by educating them with gentleness to follow the way of life of those around them. meaning that what we do is also what they will do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, we really have to stop and think about what we are doing, I think it is easier than it seems, we just have to be calm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Punishments are from so long time. Though here also corporal punishment is prohibited many teachers still continue to do so. THis disturbs the child mentally. Actually it is the teachers who should be trained to handled such studenta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That teacher had some frustration inside, how she was able to hit me like that and not even give me a chance to defend myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually teachers who are facing personal problems pour their anger and frustration at students

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that each child has his or her own identity. No two children are alike. The key is to identify your child's character and know how to understand his or her personality. Constructive dialogue, thoughtful reflection and shared agreements, along with emotional intelligence, would be the ideal components to avoid family conflicts, which is ultimately what every parent desires. Peace and love in coexistence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my dear friend, your advice is full of wisdom, these days I have kept quiet and peace has returned home, I'm sure we have all rested emotionally, my son is behaving well and I'm just waiting for the time to sit down and talk and do what you tell me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is advisable to discuss agreements when the family climate is calm. When you go to talk to your child, ask him what he wants. Not from life... but from this present moment. Ask him what would be his contribution of commitment at home. Make your child feel that it is important that you have the same language. Then let him know what you want from him as his mother and make a commitment to fulfill the agreements. It would be ideal that your husband is also in that conversation so that between the three of you there are no misunderstandings. Remember that your son is a young man and although he has not yet grown up and lives under his parents' guardianship, it is important that your son feels like an adult if you take him into account and ask him what he wants... friend I wish you much wisdom and emotional control. Greetings

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I will certainly do it. have a wonderful day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem with society these days is that we are no longer allowed to correct our children hashtag the government. They are given free space to misbehave and we can't do anything about it. Sometimes children need to be spanked, but society says it's "child abuse". How is scolding my child considered an abuse? I find it weird.

In the end, children no longer respect their parents and believe they can do whatever they like without repercussion because they have protection of the law.

I'm not encouraging violence from parents towards their children, but my point is that society, and the law doesn't allow parents to correct their children anymore. Positive discipline exists, but it's not even allowed anymore. The highest parents can do now is ground their children which makes matters even worse.

Now children misbehave whenever they are in public simply because they know that their parents dare not scold them in public or the cops will be called.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, many children and teenagers are relying on that to abuse their parents. But I would definitely like to tell new parents that the only thing that can help them raise their children is LOVE, if you start by giving love and scolding in a positive way things can work out well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back when corporal punishments were still allowed in our country, our father used to punish my brothers with a stick and belt. But I was totally against it. Coz not all kids have the same mindset. Some would just become rebels.. there are other ways to reprimand kids. Not through punishments.. .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right jane, the punishments were strong, nowadays they were eliminated with laws but there are still many cases with children who can't speak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If at every instance a parent keeps on hitting their child with a stick, that child will get use to it. And because that child is no more feeling the pains again when the stick is used on them, they will always grow even more wild without fear of the parent anymore. The only way a parent can raise a good kid is through love and not violence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely agree with you, there are other ways to learn nowadays, and the blows are no longer useful, on the contrary, it makes things worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talking from what i grew up to see my parents do, they never abused us all in the name of discipline, non of my siblings were raised with a hard hand. Doing it the hard way will never change a child, children learn from example and if you are a good parent then you have less work to do. Positive discipline is just there to make them more aware of themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true, all parents must teach by example. I don't know how parents want their children not to be liars if they send them to the door to tell the man who comes to collect some money that they are not at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have some grudges with my former teachers. I just pray I don't meet them one on one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

jajajajjaja, that really made me laugh, I've thought so too. But the day I got with that teacher I was so provoked to say some things to her but I held on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have self control, I don't think I have that 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I knew a young man who is often scolded by his parents while he was a child and he really felt bad about his parents,he acts badly against his parents because it's his way of making them feel anger because of what they did to him. For me,it's better to talk with children eye to eye and heart to heart, and they will surely learned from it rather than hurting the kids physically

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that hitting is not going to teach children anything, it is better to talk and never get tired of doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The children are very tender. The more you grow them, the more they will grow. We should build them in moderation from an early age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, my children are affectionate, even more than me. They always want me to spoil them, but I tell them that they better find themselves a girlfriend. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They understand love & care. We can teach them & I'm pretty sure that they will understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

amén amén amén.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Punishing children with beatings will not make them better people, but will inherit the idea that violence fixes things and they will take it as a method, which leads to the creation of a violent generation. My father never resorted to beating in our upbringing, but he used to talk to us about the mistake we made and why we should not repeat it, as well as my mother, they also adopted the principle of reward to motivate us, and now we are two doctors and an engineer in the house, we love each other very much and there is mutual respect and each of us prefers the other over himself. And we really appreciate everything our parents did for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my parents, that home was incredible. I don't know how they managed to keep order in a house where there were always between 7 and 8 children at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago