Typhoon Odette Aftermath

8 29
Avatar for buraryang1892
2 years ago

January 6, 2022


Hello lovely people here in readcash. 6th out of 365 days for year 2022 and still we don't have electricity in our place. It's still very difficult for all of us here who are affected by Typhoon Odette. Imagined, in just 3 to 4 hours only, huge damaged in our place left by Typhoon Odette. Yet, we are still looking for a brighter side that we are still alive and now on the process of moving forward. It's truly hard to live nowadays due to no electricity, food is too pricey same with transportation and most important thing intermittent signal connection which is very difficult to communicate with our loved ones.

On the brighter side, one thing I noticed that us Cebuanos are really not depending on from our local government financial assistance and help. Though we badly need it, still we look for other ways to survive, to strive on this very difficult days of ours. Most of the people here take this opportunity to have their small businesses grow. Then again, life now here is really indeed a struggle one and let me share to you what I experienced now after this Typhoon Odette.

Sponsors of buraryang1892
empty
empty
empty

To my dear sponsors:

Thank you for the support. I appreciate you all. Continue to be a blessing to all of us and more blessings to you all as well. Check their pages everyone! Cheers!

No electricity

current situation in our province.

Since December 16, 2021, we still don't have electricity at all (both here in the city and also in our province). Our landlady said that probably this week, our local government may be able to fix it (crossed fingers) however the sad part in our province is that, as per NGCP (local government here in our place), the electricity in Bohol maybe back around April and May 2022 and that's around 5 months no source of electricity with my parents. That is why I'm really saving money right now to buy a generator for them and also to help my neighbors as well because once we will have that, I will let them charge their cellphones in order for them to communicate with their loved ones outside Bohol, So for now, we will have our candle every night then that is why I love to stay here in our office because I can open readcash and noisecash and of course, there's power electricity.

Less and high price in Transportation

One of the gasoline station in our place got destroyed due to the typhoon.
Current situation in our place.

When I said less transportation that is because right now, it's really hard to ride on jeepney or bus, even on seafarer, we need to wait on a long line in order to buy a ticket. Also, when it comes to transportation price, it's still so high because as per PUJ/BUS drivers, the gasoline price is too high as well, and they're also waiting on a long queue/line in order for them to get gasoline for fuel.

Food/Water Consumption

At Cebu City. Some private sectors gives free mineral water to Typhoon Odette victims.

Aside from the high price of gasoline, these two essentials things are also gone super high price now. Imagine, the mineral water that was only for 10 pesos went up to 40 pesos. Also, the fish, pork, chicken, etc. also went high like I don't know if I want to buy those things. I rather cook canned goods and eggs for the meantime. For those who know me here, I really would love to cook and post all the food that I made but for now, sorry guys I will skip it because the price is really so high.

Intermittent connection/No signal

Screenshot of one our network provider helping us with the Typhoon Odette.

Communication is really important to all of us, most especially now that we badly need to communicate with our loved ones, relatives, friends and also at work. Some are now getting signals and were able to get contact with people, but most of us are still having problem getting signals and communicate with their loved ones due to the fast that some towers are really destroyed by Odette, and it will take time to fix it. Gladly, both me and my parents are now able to communicate with, though it's not all the time because there are really times that there's really no signal after all. 

I know we will definitely survive everything we are experiencing now. We will rise again, for sure. Thank you again, everyone, for dropping by. I'm sorry if I am not always active since I am using my work computer, and sometimes we really have a high call volume (busy taking calls) and most of the time when I'm at the office I just sleep since I can't sleep at home due to no electricity and our apartment that I stayed with is so hot. I'm really hoping that we will recover as soon as possible, in God's will.

Until next time, everyone!

Ciao,

- buraryang


9
$ 4.91
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 8
Sponsors of buraryang1892
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buraryang1892
2 years ago

Comments

Everytime I read some of your posts about Odette I reafirm one thing: I admire you and all off your country men and women who despite all that you are going through you keep going and are staying strong, that's why you will get through this, I know you will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How horrible all that. I didn't know that was happening there. In a way it has certain similarities with Venezuela. Here the signal is bad, transportation is expensive, and food is also expensive. It's terrible how this kind of thing can affect the inhabitants of the countries. I hope things get better for your country soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to hear about your situation there. I hope electricity will get restored very soon, and yes, water too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga Bohol baka sis? Same rta ug situation sis. Lisud gyud. Kapaet if mga May pa maokay ang kuryente. Saon nlng akong work Ani

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi naman tsk, sana mapabalik na ng nila. Siguro naman mabilis ang kilos nila diba? Mas maigi nga dumiskarti kasi pag mabagal na aksyom ng government aasa ay talaga mamamatay sa gutom ang nga utaw. Basta fighting lang po 🥺💪💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear the situation there is still so bad :( I hope the situation improves soon and may electricity and basic services be restored. 🙏 Stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same lang sa ate ko sa province dyan sa Cebu, pahirapan din kasi walang kuryente. After three months pa daw bago maibalik pero good thing dahil maka online na sila paminsan-minsan at nakapagkamustahan na kami about sa sitwasyon nila. Di tulad nung mga ilang araw pagkatapos ng pinsala ni Odette, hindi ko sila makausap at machat man lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until now ate wala panv kuryente? Pero kamusta naman na .ga poste dyan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago