Thankful For What @itravelRox Did To Me 12 Years Ago

23 264
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Blog

This story happened in early 2010. If my memory serves me right, it was a celebration held somewhere in the northern part of Cebu after we completed the 6-month probation. Was it in Mandaue, Rox? I can't remember exactly when or where it was, but I do remember the important stuff, even if it happened 12 years ago.

How Roxanne and I know each other

I met @itravelRox in 2009. I was in the same company and account as her. She was on the first batch, and I came a few weeks later. Roxanne and I were never that close back in the day. We talked, yes, but I had always been shy and preferred to stick to the ones I was most comfortable with, my batchmates.

One day, our team leads announced that we would have an out-of-town celebration since we had finally become regular employees. I was reluctant to go because anything related to beaches was something I tried to avoid. However, my friends told me to come, so I decided to give it a go.

If I had known, I would have said no to my friends and stayed home.

How the struggle started

My friend and I went to SM the day before the event to buy something. Not sure what I bought that day, but a few hours of strolling got my knee blistered. Getting blisters is why long walks are not ideal for me, even if I want to.

Result of walking for too long (not the exact photo 12 years ago, though)

As soon as I got home, I saw the blister on my knee. I knew right then that the next day's event would be challenging for me. I didn't want to go, but I had already said I would come, so there was no choice but to comply with my promise to my friends.

The most unforgettable but not memorable company outing experience

That very morning, I tried to secure my knee with a bandaid. I also had to tighten the bandage to ensure the blister would not burst while walking. I then went on to meet my friends at our meeting place after setting up everything.

Going to that beach was fine. Our service took us there, so it was smooth at first. I didn't have to walk that much. As soon as we arrived at the destination, I tried not to walk a lot. I sit there while watching them, having fun. It was boring, to be honest, but that was the least I could do to lessen the pain. I couldn't enjoy the moment because of the pain I felt at that time. Even going to the bathroom was torture; none knew I was in agony.

Image source

It was already home time, and unfortunately, no one would pick us up. We had to commute. The worst part was my friends had decided to leave without me. My closest girlfriend even agreed to hitch to another workmate, and I was anxious about what to do next. I was all by myself now. Some of my workmates were still hanging out there, drinking, and having fun.

How Roxanne saved me

Thankfully, Roxanne and her then-boyfriend offered that I should come with them. I felt relieved that I wouldn't go home alone or wait for the others to leave. Despite the severe pain, I prayed I would survive that day and was excited to go home.

However, going home was another struggle for me. The pain was unbearable, and we had to wait for jeepneys. Imagine having a blister on the knee, which I suspected had already burst out, then standing for half an hour or so while waiting for empty jeepneys. Oh, and not to mention, it was rush hour, too.

Image source

Eventually, we managed to find a jeep, and that was such a relief for me. Finally, I could sit and relax my foot. However, the suffering didn't stop there, as the jeep added to my agony. The seats were too low, which meant the blood couldn't flow appropriately because my knee won't be able to be in a relaxed position. The same goes for chairs being too high. So the entire time I was sitting inside the jeep, I was still in pain and crying for help deep inside. The traffic even worsened the whole thing.

Home sweet home

After all those stress, we finally arrived in the city. We arrived in Colon. I thanked them for taking me with them and finally bid goodbyes. Although I was still in pain, I told myself to hold on because I'd be home soon. After a few moments, I finally saw a taxi and home sweet home!

Image source

Before taking off my bandage and knee sock, I knew right then that it would be a terrible sight. Indeed, it was! It was already bleeding—poor knee. I suffered a lot that day, but I am still thankful I got home safely. Thanks to Roxanne and her now ex-boyfriend.

Closing thoughts 

Since that incident, I have been a bit traumatized. I rarely joined company outings or team buildings, especially if the location was far. I was scared that it would happen to me again.

My friends think I am a snob, but I have my reasons. I told them why, and although they tried to convince me they won't go home without me, I was still scared to go.

To Roxanne, thank you for letting me come with you. You have no idea how you saved me that day, and I will be forever grateful for that. Salamat!


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


15
$ 1.38
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 5
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Blog

Comments

Aww, kahinumdom ko ani. pag gawas namo sa resort kay ikaw ra usa sa waiting shed. Naa to sa Opon, Lapu-Lapu. Nakalimot ko sa name sa resort. nag change name pod sila after many years. SAkay gyud to. Dili ko sweto sa Lapu2. Kato akong ex may sweto sa lapu2 kay sa MEPZ man sya nag work. TAga south of cebu baya mi mao chill ra sad mi ato pagpanguli. 2-3 hours sad mi maabot sa amoa. mas nauna pakag uli sa inyo house kesa namo. hehe. Kato pa sad ko nakaybaw nga naa diay kay prosthetic leg. ang ex ray nakamatikod mao sya ra to sige pangutana. hibong bitaw ko how did he know. i felt bad with your leg ato nga time.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Aw mao pa diay ka atong tima nakahibaw? hehe. Again, for the nth time, thank you, Rox. Ikaw jud akong guardian angel ato. Didto sad ko nalain sa akong mga friends na gibyaan ko na kabalo silang wa koy alamag atong lugara. HEHE. Pero keri na kay nakauli ra jud kog safe ato bisan munas ginhawa. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kahinumdom ko kita ko nag crutches ka pero wa ko kaybaw nga you're using prosthetic leg diay ka all the time. wala jud baya ko ato katingog pagkaybaw ato kay na shock ra ko. murag daghan kog pangutana pero wa na lang ko mangutana kay basin ma offend ka ba nga inappropriate questions wa ko kaybaw insensitive ra akong questions. pero katong article nimo imo gesuwat dinhi sa read kay dinha pa ko nakaybaw sa rason.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Roxanne really save you from everything po. Buti po kahit hindi kayo close noon ay nag offer pa rin po sya na tulungan kayo makauwi.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very true. Buti na lang at same kami ng destination. :) Kung hindi, good luck!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh that was really a very boring and anxious day. I guess you should have stayed home and said no to beach.

It was so good and kind of them, I really appreciate

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If I could turn back time, I would surely stay at home than wasting my time there being anxious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had been thinking the same for you you, honestly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naa gyuy mga tao nga himuong instrument to save you whatever situation you're struggling with sis. Maayo kay naas Roxanne ato nga time. Sakit raba jud kaayo maluthan. Kana pung bag o ang sapatos ay, maluthan jud ang likod sa tiil. Sakit kaayo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Swerte jud ko atong tima sis. Ambot na lang. Di jud naku ma imagine akong self. Ang ending siguro ato, taxihon naku from Opon to Cebu. Kesa mag struggle ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God for such a friend as Roxanne... I can only imagine the pain you went through that day. It won't be a pretty sight I have to agree. It's normal that it would leave its imprint on you.

If I was there too, I would gladly go home with you too hahaha...so I can show you off.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If you were my workmate, then I'm sure I wouldn't have to experience such because you would offer your help and time to take me home safely. HEHE

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely, Janey... I would gladly drop you home 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad that you have your friend ate! ♥️ It's a good thing that we have our friends in times like that Ate, someone we can lean on in times of struggles po. Misssyou always ate.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kaya nga e. Sometimes, yung mga taong di mo ma inexpect na tumulong sayo, sila pa yung mag sasave sayo. Kaya swerte ko sa kanila that day. Miss you too. <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow didn't expect nga kaila na diay ni Daan pa saona ni Roxanne. Maayo nalang Gani ky diha siya sis nag imagine kos imong struggle jud nga unsaon nalang ug ikaw ra isa ng commute unya dili pajud okay imong knee. Kabuotan ni Roxanne ug S iyang bf that time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mu lang sis. Unya wa pa jud koy idea asa to. Murag mandaue jud to ba. Tas even so, di ko sweto didto. Lagot jud ko atong tima mao nitagam jud ko. Kaingon jud kog di na jud ni mausab. Maayo na lang naa sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maayo nalang jud naa si Roxanne nga andam nitabang nimo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Angels along the way... !

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bait niya naman sis at pati boyfriend niya. Di ka nila pinabayaan. Talagang nag care sila sayo. Sinamahan ka nila. Super bait at maalalahanin. ❤️

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Kaya nga sis. Kaya isa to sa di ko malilimutan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Napaka bait nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago