White Rocks, Malta

48 236
Avatar for bitcoinurbex
3 years ago
Topics: Travel

A once bustling apartment complex built in the 1960's by British forces now lays abandoned right outside Pembroke on the small island nation of Malta.

The History

According to GuideMeMalta, the complex was originally built to be used as married officers quarters while the Island had British soldiers stationed there, and was eventually handed over to the Maltese government when the British troops left the island.

Initially they tried to convert it into holiday accommodation, followed in the late 90's by foreign student housing, before eventually abandoning the project to rot, in true government fashion.

Location Scouting

While lazily day drinking at 11:15 in the morning at some shady beach-front restaurant in Paceville, I decided on safely exploring the island of Malta from the comfort of Google Maps satellite view on my phone.

After a few minutes of this I come across a portion of the map slightly outside the city that looked like some old concrete village with an overgrown road coming in and out of it. Since this is Malta I'd normally just assume this to be one of the fancier up-scale hipster neighbourhoods, but when I saw it had a 'point of interest' icon I thought I'd at least give it a scroll through.

I was pleased to learn that the place had been labeled 'Ghost Town' and that reviewers had been reporting sightings of 'weird old men' hanging around the area. Deciding I had to see this for myself I quickly slammed down my 4th beer for the road and hopped on my moped headed for White Rocks city.

Arriving on Location

The road there was treacherous for a mildly drunken mopeder, but after avoiding only few almost-collisions from notoriously bad maltese drivers I was impressed by my first impressions of the town. Behind the concrete barrier blocking off the main road, my eye caught a large painting of some 'greedy capitalist' riding a bull, with polluting chimneys behind him, fishing for euros.

Out of curiosity I decided to walk behind this house and found a small opening in the concrete blockages that have been put up to stop people from getting into the houses.

There's an actual Christmas tree growing out of this landing...
The upper-left part of the town from the third floor of the first building.

Not initially seeing any of these weird old men the internet kept talking about, I decided to keep walking down the road until I stumbled upon a fairly beautiful portrait of none other than the 'Don himself (which of course I forgot to photograph the day of, so this is one I took while I was passing through on some rainy day the week after).

I suppose the partially torn down bricks are supposed to symbolise some pro-immigration message about how walls can be knocked down or some shit. I don't really speak antifa, but it's a pretty well done art-piece.

That being said, I wholly agree with the message I found painted on the next building over.

The main road eventually leads you to this long forgotten restaurant area. Don't bother trying to get in through the first hole or climbing on the roof like I did, there's a fully open entrance right around the corner..

As seen from the side facing the highway.
Open concept, I like it.
Is that a makeshift skate ramp?
F off DArY2
🤡 🤡 🤡 🤡 🤡
The main town seen from the restaurant rooftop.

On the other side of the building there's this big pool area where I assume big wig army officers would meet to discuss their K/D ratio and things like that.

The pool has obviously seen better days though..
Much like the fish...something, something.
How did they even do this
Obligatory urbex low to the ground over reflective body of water photo

The Future

While the complex has sat dormant for over 20 years, the government has flirted with selling it to various investors. I know one offer has been accepted that plans to turn it into a luxury '7-star hotel'.

If these plans will ever come to fruition is unknown though as the government has accepted, then denied plans to redevelop the property before.

57
$ 19.15
$ 17.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @RaemaKhan
+ 2
Avatar for bitcoinurbex
3 years ago
Topics: Travel

Comments

Wherever you look, the beauty of art is visible. there are spectacular and charming scenes. We can only compliment like that. People attract others by showing their art. And what a wonderful way to enhance the beauty of this place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for shared Nice arts/ grafitti. Would love to play hide and seek in a bright day because it's still beautiful. And maybe just how you beautifully take those shots. My son would love to play nerf gun and hide in there. Definitely!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow interesting story. Nice picture. ছবি গুলো খুব ভালো লাগলো।

$ 0.00
User's avatar Rrr
3 years ago

Where was those photos located?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never been to this place. If I want to, I want to visit a place of interest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How does malta occur pls

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice place. Wouldn't be bad to visit

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think its a good place for parkour enthusiast

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love adventure bery well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

first time I saw it nice to know

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love to go on vacation to visit ancient countries

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good information you given ,nice to read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me encantan las fotos de urbex (aunque no soy lo suficientemente valiente como para explorar mucho). Sin embargo, normalmente lo asocio con climas fríos y miserables, ¡no con la soleada Malta! Supongo que hay edificios abandonados por todas partes.

Solo he estado en Malta una vez y era más pequeño de lo que esperaba, pero también mucho más lleno de cosas interesantes para ver y hacer. No puedes caminar a la vuelta de la esquina (o en ciclomotor) sin descubrir algo nuevo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think if its renovated then repainted with graffiti, that place will be a blast

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love art.. But i guess, if it's too much.. It becomes ugly for me.. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This place looks cool, I can make this my Dance studio 🤭, I mean this is what a dance studio for those street dancers looks like and it's awesome, just like on the movie 🤩. And that art/grafitti, this is definitely my style 😎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing.this place impressed me.I like to go there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would love to visit then take some amazing photos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a great view. To be honest, i like more that kind of artwork than those in the museum

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesomepost

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to go there if it's a guided tour or with a crowd of tourists. 😅 I don't think I can explore it alone. Nice arts/ grafitti. Would love to play hide and seek in a bright day because it's still beautiful. And maybe just how you beautifully take those shots. My son would love to play nerf gun and hide in there. Definitely!

Thank you for sharing. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, thanks! This place is actually more of a un-sanctioned park right now though, so I've yet to be there a day where I didn't usually always have a dog walker or a jogger within eyesight.

If you're ever in Malta and want to check out a less traditionally touristy spot, I'd say give it a go.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You'll see me running like a scared rabbit in there haha. Yes, thank you I have to check their visa requirements or something to do with immigration.

Do you travel often? Other than Malta, where else did you go that was really awesome?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was about to check where else you've been and upon checking this is your first article so have to subscribe for your coming post. 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

goodjob

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love urbex photos (though I'm not really brave enough to do much exploration myself). I normally associate it with cold, miserable climates though - not sunny Malta! I guess you do get abandoned buildings everywhere.

I've only been to Malta once and it was both smaller than I expected but also much more full of interesting things to see and do. You can't walk round the corner (or moped) without discovering something new.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah with land being so limited private developers tend to scoop up anything they can get, but there's loads of sites that have just been left to nature like, all of Manoel Island, Jerema Palace, and this awesome hotel complex called Hal Ferh (35.932810, 14.347868).

If you ever visit again and want an off day from touristing, you could easily spend at least a few hours exploring each of these.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice ane

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This will keep your post with beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice writing, keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really love this, the photos are beautiful and attractive, you've written a very nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The idea is good looking idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes Oshafu. Its a great write up indeed 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This place is really amazing I appreciate reading this article more elbow to your shoulder

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ooh, i really like the more thought out graffiti/street art 😆

those probably took quite a while to make 🎨

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,,, all the picture are just awesome, amazing,,,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice picture this look beautiful place

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wonderful story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing This is beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow amazing . Really beautiful . Thank you so much for your valuable article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This looks amazing. Not saying it would be the most appropriate idea ever, but that would be an amazing place to play air soft or paintball scenario weekends in

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah the locals do it all the time. There's probably more airsoft bullets laying around than there are bugs on the whole property. There's also rumors of the place being used to host late night drinking sessions now that bars have been forced to close.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oooooh! hahah ok cool as long as im not the only delinquent. Honestly? I wouldn't doubt it for a second. I think anytime humanity gets cornered, we find away to sneak around XD. Thanks for the reply!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lol, exactly what i was thinking @Thremos really looks like a great place to have wargames. 🔫


well considering the fact that it "was" used by soldiers,💂 it looks fitting 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago