Working in the food industry (part 5)

0 12
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

And then there are the guests who wouldn't listen to the server when he or she is repeating their orders. Or guests who keep on asking about the menu especially if they are a big group but would end up ordering the one that they didn't asked about. There are also guests who would just stare at the food while it is being placed on their table. There are also guests who would keep on calling you even if they already saw that the staffs are talking to another guest or are holding a tray of food. There are also guests who would say to the server to close down the restaurant because all of the food that they want are not available. Guests who are picky. Guests who have forgotten to show their privileged cards and would ask for a discount when you have already settled their bill. 

Those are just some of the guests that I can think of right now. Ok! With all the scenarios and types of guests that I have mentioned in my previous articles, what kind of a guest are you? 

Working in the food industry for more than a decade, I can say that 45% are the usual guests who comes and go. Just a typical guest who dines in and checks out. And I guess 40% are those guests that you wouldn't want to be dealing with and 15% are those guests who are understanding, generous and laid back people. 

Having experienced all those different types of guests, I think it was the reason why I got so burned out. When I was with the second to the last company that I have worked with, I did experienced some customer complaints where guests where really an ahole and the upper management doesn't take good care of their employees. Have you heard of the quote by Richard Branson, "Clients do not come first. Employees come first. If you take care of the employees, they will take care of the clients."? 

From a franchised store, I was transferred to some company owned. I accepted the offer because they have said that there are a lot of opportunities for me if I will be transferred. I kind of agree to them and I know that being under a company owned store will help me broaden my knowledge and experiences even more. True enough as I was able to have my duty in 5 different stores in a week. I was enjoying because I get to meet other people in the company, I learned some different strategies in the food service and of course I have had different types of guests. Different stores, different employees, different guests and different strategies. There was even a time that I would wake up and I don't know where I was going to have my duty for the day. LOL. Or there are times that I would show up in a store and the staffs there are wondering I was there. They were also clueless but I said there were some changes with the schedule. I am happy that I didn't experience going to a store where I don't have a schedule. I always see to it that I know the store that I would go to prior to leaving the house. 

Yes, it was fun but it was really tiring. My farthest store would be in Bonifaio Global City in Taguig and I live in the Commonwealth area. I worked 6 days in a week so I get to have 2 schedule in 1 store. Then like I have said that the upler management doesn't take care of their people. I was new and some of them were always in favor with their old employees. I voiced out my opinions but sad to say that they didn't listen so I had to tender my resignation. I don't want to work in a company who doesn't value their employees. Yes they value the old ones who always slack off and likes to drag people down. 

I thought the changing companies would let me have a fresh new start but I have brought the tiredness that I felt with my previous job. With my last job, I had 4 stores in a week. Include the fact that our general manager wanted me to lose weight. I mean she shouldn't have hired me if she has a problem with my weight right? I can say I am more heavier and chubbier now compared when I was working with them. I still felt burned out that I wasn't really enjoying what I do so I decided to leave.  

I know it isn't clear but do I look fat? This was with the last company I have worked with that the general manager wanted me to lose weight.

Working in the food industry not only tires you phyically but also mentally and emotionally. I have been unemployed for a long time now and I'm still scared in going back to the food indsutry. But whenever we dine out, I can't help but to be concern with the restaurant's service. Force of habit maybe. Because my closest friend whom I went with the same school and same course is also working in the food industry and we also feel the same way. Sometimes we would help with cleaning the tables but only to the point that we would gather all the plates. There are also times that my friend and I would joke each other that we would change uniforms so as to help with the operations. 

Honestly I really enjoy working in the food industry. Job titles for me are just titles. I may have been a manager but I still do what a staff does. But sometimes it is better to be a staff because you don't get to face with an irate customer. The managers or supervisors are always the one who steps in as a shield for the people and the company. Having too many complaints also isn't good for the supervisor or manager on duty. But no matter how good your service is and no matter how good you handle the store and your people,  person working in the food industry have experienced some complaints. 

Given the situation we are in right now, as much as I want to work again, I can't because I don't want to take a risk. And as much as I want to talk about each type of guests that I have mentioned above, the only bottomline there is that people should be understanding towards other people. Treat everybody with respect and stop thinking about the customer is always right. Life is a two way street. Always be kind. 

1
$ 0.72
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
$ 0.01 from @MWSA
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments