Then and now

8 38
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Exactly 5 years ago I was interviewed by a company for a managerial position in a restaurant. I have only been idled for a few days and I already got a call for an exam and interview. I was not yet ready to work but it was the first company who called me so I went to my scheduled interview.

Applying for a managerial position in a restaurant industry has always been challenging for me because of the exams and the out of this world questions. As much as I wanted to go back to an entry level position, companies would always say that I was over qualified. Why do I want an entry level position? Sometimes there were no exams and the questions were very easy.

That day was memorable for me not only because of my interview with the last company that I have worked with but because instead of going home, I went to see a lot of my friends. I went to see friends from the companies that I have worked with. Prior to my interview, I have worked at 4 different restaurants and went to see friends from the second company up to the fourth company that I have worked with. To make it even memorable, of course my past flirtationship was also there since I have worked with him as well. My exam and interview was scheduled at 11AM but I went home probably around 4AM. LOL.

First person I visited after my interview. Friend from company C
Friends from company D
Another friends from company D when we went to the mall where my past flirtationship was working.
Friends from company B. (Past flirtationship with the big heart. 😄) Both of them were working at the same mall. Different restaurants though. "Tropang baliw". We're missing one guy who was her ex. They are still friends but if he was here in the Philippines during that time, I am sure he would also be in that picture.

The reason that I did not go home right away was because I felt like I was a laughingstock during my interview. I was asked a lot of questions and even if I answered it all truthfully, I felt like I was not going to make it. I told everything about my interview to my friend from company C. He was the first person that I went to visit that day. I cannot remember all of the questions but what I cannot forget was the question, "where do you see yourself 5 years from now?". I answered it with all honesty and told the general manager that I see myself with a business of my own and still connected with the company.

Obviously, the latter did not came true because I resigned in less than a year. But about having my own business, I am proud to say that I have started it a few years ago. Although for this year, I only accepted an order from our fellow content creator, @Judith1969. It was because of lack of funds and I intend to focus mostly on paying my debts that is why I decided to take a break from my business. Will notify you once it resumes and I do have a lot of plans in mind.

Have you also been asked about that question? From the question that was asked from you before, how much of it became true? But if I were to ask you, where will you be 5 years from now, what will be your answer?

Like I have said, 5 years ago, I had a scheduled interview from 1 restaurant. After a few days, I had another interview and it was already with the president of the company. Thankfully, I got the call and they told me to report to the head office during my birthday. As much as I wanted to reschedule it, I just agreed without mentioning that it was my birthday. I still did the traditional birthday "salubong" (birthday's eve) even if I had to report to work the following day. LOL. Good thing it was only an orientation but it was stil from 7AM to 4PM.

2016 was one of my most favorite year. I was able to balance my life be it with career, family, friends and love. Something that every person would ever wish for. If I were to choose between then and now, of course I would be choosing the former. Who wouldn't right? I may have been unemployed since then but I do not regret my decision of resigning from the company. Ever since I have resigned, I must say that I have been struggling with my finances which was the exact opposite of who I was 5 years ago. Thankfully I was able to manage all of it and is still managing it despite of the uncertainties in life. If I were to answer that question now on where I see myself 5 years from now, this is how I would respond to it:

"5 years from now I can see myself as a successful entrepreneur. I can see my business with a lot of different products. Not only will my products be sold here in the Philippines but also in different countries. Aside from that, I can also see my Youtube channel being monetized. I would have a lot of videos of the places that I went to and the foods that I have eaten here and abroad. I would also have a lot of cooking videos that people would love to try cook at home. Other than that, I can see myself as someone who is knowledgeable with the crypto world and someone who would invest in other coins and most especially with our beloved Bitcoin Cash. Lastly, I can see myself who is already financially stable and living a debt free life."

Oh those smiles. Have you noticed those sweetest smile? Where art thou? I really love my smile during those times. My smile was really different. Not just my smile but I love all of me in 2016.

Sorry if this has turned into a Wayback Wednesday. LOL. If there is a common link between then an now, I must say that it is my family. My family was there for me before and is still there for me now. I am not saying that my friends are not there for me anymore but because it has been months since we last saw and talk with each other. I know that they are just one call away but in general, it has been my family who have been with me then and now. Second would be my friends.

I may have been happy and successful then and it is slightly the opposite now but I know there will come a time that I will be even happier and even more successful in the years to come. The same goes to you. As long as we never stop dreaming and believing, everything that we have wished for will eventually come true. Don't stop believing and dream bigger and aim higher.

P.S. lead image is a photo of me then and now.

6
$ 5.01
$ 4.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Bakit naman nilagyan ng stickers madam. Ang pretty pretty mo kaya. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kilig. blushes salamat. Learning to love myself again kahit na parang teenager sa mga tigyawat ngayon. Hahaha.

Bagay yung sticker sa akin. Hahaha. Buti nga yan na ginamit ko na sticker. Noon yung eye mask at face mask. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Ako nga rin eh, lately nag breakout pimples ko. Nung teenage years ko wala ako maraming acne. Nito lng nung ng stay at home na. 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. Teenage years wala. First time ko magkabreakout nung working na ako sa company B then ayan na naman sila. Huhuhu. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madaya naman, tinakpan ung isa. Halatang may feelings kapa sa kanya oi, bat puso talaga? Ahahaha.

And yeah, continue to dream and work wisely to achieve it, yayy to that. Our time will come, una una lang talaga. Yong para sa atin kasi re niluluto pa, hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Kasi baka mamaya meron pala siya kakilala dito tapos marecognize yung shirt niya tapos makarating sa kanya na di pa ako over. Charot. 🤣 heart kasi yun tawag ko sa kanya noon.

Kaya nga dapat hanggang sa panaginip hindi lang pagpapayaman ang nasa isip kung hindi ang pag-ibig din. Hahaha. Sabi nga ng iba, "dreams do come true". Kaya matulog na tayo at managinip. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you have been able to overcome everything, I hope you get your wish to finally be free of all debt and a successful business. I see myself in 5 years, traveling the world, financially free, not depending on a low paid salary.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would also love to travel the world. Let's claim it now that we will be able to do whatever we want 5 years from now. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago