Smoke free

19 40
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

When I saw @Bjorn's artictle entitled Hard Habits to Break, at first I thought of the book by Stephen Covey, 7 Habits of highly effective people. Have you read that book? I know it was mentioned by one of our professors when I was in college and all I can remember was to think win-win. She alwats kept on mentioning about win-win. Who would not want a win-win solution right?

Anyway, as I go along Bjorn's article, I thought of the time when I was still aΒ  smoker. Are you a smoker or have quit smoking? They say that you get to do what the adults are doing. When I was a kid, I would see my mom and her sister smoking whenever they were full to the point that their tummies are going to explode. I was always amazed with the snoke that one time I tried lighting a cigarette for them. They were surprised as I was able to lit their cigarettes but they told me not to smoke as it is bad for our health.

Years have passed and I was already a teenager and I have learned how to smoke. I think I was 16 years old when I started smoking but it was only when I was turning 18 years old when I really learned how to smoke the right way. For smokers, you would know what I mean. LOL. For non-smokers, it is when I would just take a hit of the cigarette or suck it and it will stay just up to my mouth and not really that hard hit that will go inside my lungs. I believe that my mom and godmother also did not know how to smoke the right way because the smoke that came out from their mouth was not a straight smoke. I learned the right way when I was making my debut invitations. I asked my cousin how he was able to talk to me even when he had taken a hit and there were no smoke coming out until he puff it out. He taught me how and I coughed so bad because I took a hit so hard. But still I practiced that night until I have perfected it.

When I was in college, I would smoke even in front of my parents and it was ok for them. I remember my dad would even ask for a stick from me and my mom and I would even have a cigarette smoking bonding every after meal. My dad was not a chain smoker as he only smokes whenever he drinks and that was once a week or whenever he has meetings with his colleagues. He stopped smoking when he experienced a mild stroke. So after that, he would always tell me to quit as early as possible as smoking is never really good for our health.

I would smoke after eating, I would smoke when I am drinking beer or any liquor, I would smoke when I am stressed and I would smoke if someone invites me to smoke with them. On the average I think it was 5-6 sticks per day. When I was first scheduled for an operation for my gallstones, they asked me how many sticks I puff per day and when I started smoking. My friend told me that it was because of some anaesthesia complications and risks during surgery that they need to look out for people who are a smoker. Honestly, I got scared after hearing that. Though even if I had found out about those, I still did not quit after my first surgery. There was really something that it can give me whenever I am bothered. It maybe psychological but I feel relaxed every after I have puffed a cigarette.

I have been smoke free for 3 years and 9 months now. It was abrupt because I had a cough that was different from my previous coughs so I stopped smoking when my throat was really itchy and my cough was really bothersome and to add to that, my cough lasted for a month. I drank the cough syrup that I have been taking even before but it was not cured. I also tried a natural cough syrup but it was still the same. There were also moments that it was hard for me to breathe that I told myself that I would not smoke anymore if my cough would improve. Not only did I quit because of that month long cough but also because of the price of the cigarette pack. When I quit smoking, the price per pack was around Php100 ($2) and I would always try to include it on our monthly grocery list. I would get 4 packs, 1 pack per week until I have decreased it to 2 packs for the whole month. I think if I was employed during those times, I would still be a smoker up to now.

There were really times that I miss smoking. However, I am happy that I was able to quit early. My past flirtationship have told me to quit even before. I remember that he told me after our status became from friends to it's complicated that he hates a girl who was smoking and I just replied, "sorry, I am smoker". LOL. Though I respected him that is why I do not smoke when I am with him or if we were to see each other. But there were times that I have this strong urge to smoke when I am with him precisely because we would always drink so I would ask him if it was ok for me to smoke. He would just say that it was up to me. He even said that he does not want to stop me from what I really want to do so I would smoke. LOL.

I know that to quit smoking may be a little difficult for some because of a lot of reasons but if you have that willingness to have a healthier and longer life, I know that you can also live a smoke free life. I have not smoke any cigarette nor vape since I quit. Actually, I am not really into vapes as I enjoy cigarettes more. They say that vapes are much better compared to cigarettes but it may still have that health risks in the long run so much better to quit than to shift from cigarettes to vapes. Like I have said, no one other than ourselves can really make us to stop smoking. If I was able to quit smoking, I know you can do it as well. Let us have a smoke free life and live many years longer.

P.S. lead image is a photo of me smoking with my friend and her husband months after my first surgery.

7
$ 6.48
$ 6.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

My father is a smoker, we always tell him to stop him but he is not listening us. He is just so addicted to cigarettes to the point that he will smoke i guess 30 sticks per day. He doesn't even care for his health and to our health. πŸ˜”Good thing you quit. Always put your health on top.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

30 sticks per day? That's a looooot. Maybe he doesn't finish the whole stick or would throw it away when it's already half. There are some people that I know who doesn't finish the whole stick. For me, I like to finish it up to the filter although my friend told me that it is much dangerous if I would have my cigarette up to that part. How old is your dad? Our neighbor's husband died of emphysema before. She said that she cannot quit anymore as she was already in her late 50s. So she just smokes a stick per day. I hope and pray that your father can lessen the sticks he smokes. It is very costly to be sick now and in the future. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have a lot of copies of that 7 habits of highly effective people, i think i have given some to my relatives. you know why because we were printing thousands of copies of that when I was working at the publishing. πŸ˜† unfortunately I wasnt interested in that kind of stuff back then so i haven't read even one page. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala kang nasave na copy para sayo? Sakto pala yung pag banggit ko ng 7 Habit of highly effective people. Hehe. Ako din hindi ko siya bet noon pero ngayon gusto ko na siya basahin. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gf also smokes. I tried it too but that's not my thing. Hanggang vape lang ako 😁 glad that you were able to quit tho.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What does your girlfriend thinks about vapes? Have she tried it? I think now that you guys have a baby, you can now quit smoking both for cigarettes and vapes πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, nong bata ako nakikita ko noon si Mommy na naga smoke and I find it really cool kaya nagadikwat ako sa tindahan ahahah sa Marlboro pa dinali ko or Philips pa un haha. Phillips kasi ung kanya. Nag try ako at akoy naubo laang ahahaha, nag try pa ako kaso diko talaga bet haha. Buti naman at nagtigik kana sa ganyan wala ding magandang dulot sa katawan yan ee

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same. Philip din yung nanay ko. NagPhilip din ako noon nung tambay ako kasi mas mahaba siya compared sa Marlboro. Hahaha. Parang nakakacool kasi talaga kapag may makitaan na nagyoyosi eh. Tapos kahit sa TV ipapakita may nagyoyosi. Pero dati yun ngayon bibihira na ang meron. Kaya nga yung Stik-O noon feel na feel natin na hithitin. 🀣

Totoo. Maaaring nakakatanggal nga ng stress ang panandaliang paninigarilyo pero maraming ibang paraan para matanggal ang stress natin. Unang-una na ang pagdarasal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yan talaga ee kaya ako nag try kasi tingin ko talaga ang cool pag ganon hahahaha. Stick o nalang tulog ang pinaglalaruan ahahahaha.

Yes to prayer 😍, jan nalang ibaling sana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ipagpray na natin ang ating magiging jowa. Hahaha. Di ba ang cool kasi kaya dapat hindi talaga pinapakita sa mga bata ang paninigarilyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, hanggang wish nalang ata tayo, walang ganap huehue hahaha. Sa totoo din, dahil kay mommy bat ako na curious jan ee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magkakatotoo din ang ating mga hiling. 😊 eh ano nga pala ang gusto mo sa isang jowa? Di ba? Out of curiousity talaga bakit nagagawa ang isang bagay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the day when my childhood friends(frenemy pala)πŸ˜… taught me that, I don't even use it in my life. πŸ˜… it's like dirty smoke and it didn't feel good too. Why others can do that? Cigarettes to lessen the stress is it true? but what about the health?πŸ˜…

I'm glad you stopped it na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang sa stress eating lang na imbis sa food, sa yosi nadadivert yung stress mo. Kaya some people are chain smokers. Pero siguro ang ok na healthy alternative would be meditating kapag stress. Maginhale/exhale na lang kesa magyosi. But you are right, we smoke to lessen the stress but in the long run, we would be stress because of the after effect if smoking.

Thank you. 😊 I am also glad that I have quit that habit of mine. Nakakamiss lang. Kaso sabi ng tito ko na anaesthesiologist, mas magiging matindi tama sa baga ko if manigarilyo daw ako ulit lalo nagquit na ako. Kaya kapag nagquit talaga, dapat yung talagang decided na wala ng balikan. Para siya hindi na niya ako binalikan. Hahahaha. #hugot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung hugot ang nagdala sis.πŸ’šπŸ’š Ganun pala yun,kaya much better na tumigil na talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun ang sabi niya. Meron din sa noise.cash nagsabi sa akin na wag na nga daw ako babalik kasi nga kahit papano ay nakakarecover na lungs ko. Winner ng hugot noh? πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, kaya huwag kana babalik sa bad habits 😁😁nice one sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never expected that I would learn that you were smoker from reading your title. I thought it is just sort of a rant or a warning perhaps how you are annoyed because of your smoking neighbors. Haha but good for you for making the right decision. Abrupt removing of that habit is really hard huh. Some people would want to take it slowly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga yung biglaan kaso iba na kasi yung sakit ng pag ubo at lalamunan na hindi na kakayanin magyosi pa. Pero kapag nagyoyosi yung mga kakilala ko, shoooocks. Bangong-bango ako. Hahaha. Tapos nakikisinghot ako nung usok. Hahaha. Nakakamiss kasi magyosi lalo yung amoy sa kamay. πŸ˜†

But I am really happy that I have already quit that habit. Kaya ang next na kailangan ko towards a good health and better future ay ang eating habits naman. Mahirap at mahal ang magkasakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago