Rain

4 19
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

After months of extreme heat, we have already experienced light rain here in the Philippines for hours. Although Mr. Sun tried to peek in a few times but I was happy when it will still continue to rain.

Back in the days, June was considered to be the rainy season here. But because of climate change, I have felt that rain starts later than the usual. Have you also notice the changes in our weather? From hot to hottest and coldest to cold? As far as I know, currently there is a tropical storm named Dante in the Philippines although it is more felt in the Visayas region so we are only experiencing light rains here in our area.

FUN FACT: I am a pluviophile or a person who loves the rain or as defined in Kaplan International website, it is someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy days.

I am not a fan of the sun because it is so hot and sometimes the heat of the sun hurts our skin. That's why we should always put sunscreen so as to protect us from the harmful UV rays brought about the sun. Also extreme heat can also cause heat stroke and migraine for some people. Yesterday as I was updating my goals and wallets, I looked at our window and saw how bright the sun around past 2PM. I said to myself that I was ok looking at it since I was wearing my shades. But an hour and a half after, I felt that something is already knocking on my brain. Migraine was waving and he let himself in and ruined my night that's why I slept early.

I like it when it is sunny because we get to do a lot of things compared to when it is raining. We all know that too much is not really good. But because of climate change, we are all affected. I love rain when I am just at home lying on my bef or on the couch. However I don't like it when I am out because it ruins my outfit, transportation is even harder and a lot of flooded areas. We can also get sick or a disease during rainy season. I am absolutely ok if the weather is just right just like how it is during the Christmas season. Which do you prefer? Sunny or rainy? Why?

This morning my mom woke me up and told me that there will be a scheduled power interruption. 2 years ago it was water shortage and now it is power shortage. Again I am not only blaming the pandemic but the usage of electricity has increased because of online classes and work from home set ups. You can add the use of electric fans and airconditions during this summer because it was actually like we were in a pre-heated oven during the past few months. One electric fan is not enough to keep us cool and sometimes even when the aircon is turned on, it is still not enough.

So when my mom told me to charge my phone and our power banks, I instantly checked my battery and I saw that I still have enough. Then the next thing that came to my mind is how are we going to survive the extreme heat if there's going to be a blackout? I know we can manually cool ourselves by using hand fans or eating and drinking something cold. But what if this rotational brownout will go on for days or years during the summer season? Let's not forget our problem with the supply of water during dry season. How about the people who will be badly affected by the brownout especially the people who relies more on electricity?

Before when there was still no pandemic, we would sometimes go to the mall to cool ourselves. But things are different now that it is pandemic and I believe that it will also be different in the coming years but I hope it is for the better and not for the worse. As people living on Earth, how can you help with our environment? How can you help stop global warming? How can you prevent climate change? Although our help wouldn't happen overnight but it will surely help our future generations.

We all know that this is the result of the actions of our older generations that has been passed on to us but if we would all care about what is happening around us, we can have a much better environment. Simple acts like unplugging the appliances when not in use or even using energy-efficient bulbs or appliances can help conserve energy. Collecting and using gray water can help in conserving water. Using glasses or other packaging rather than plastic is a big help to our environment. Even more so if we could plant more trees rather than concretes. Like I have said, small acts can make a huge difference.

Before I end this article, I want to ask you and I hope you can give me your honest answer, are you bothered about what's happening in our environment or are you most worried about what's going to happen to you in the future? As much as we want to worry more about our future, I hope that you will still have the time to also think and care about our environment.

4
$ 12.77
$ 12.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Kung, nandito ka sa amin, siguradong nag enjoy ka. An lakas ng ulan mula nung Lunes ng gabi hangang kahapon ng Umaga. Dumaan kasi si Dante eh. 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pluviophile din yata ako hehe! In fairness, I love this new vocabulary I learned today, heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i guess i am also a pluviophile , i love the cold weather too..it was raining very hard here in Bohol the past two days, today was better, only a little sun and a few sprinkles...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

June is raining Season, @bbyblacksheep the heat is much over here also. Can't wait for the cold weather the comes with the rain

$ 0.00
2 years ago