Post New Year's celebration

31 34
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Journal, Life, 2022, ...

It is already the third day of the year. How was your first 2 days of 2022? What have you been up to the past couple of days?

My January 1st may not be how we used to celebrate it like before but I am happy that we have already started a new chapter. Another year that will be full of experiences and learning. Another year to set a new goal. Another year to be better, wiser and stronger.

We used to celebrate January 1 by having lunch here at home with my dad's late brother and family. It changed not only because he died but also because my godmother moved to the province wirh her siblings and her daughters are now living abroad. We still get to see each other before the pandemic especially when my cousins would visit the Philippines. Sometimes my cousin would really schedule her vacation during the holidays. I was happy when we celebrated post Christmas and pre New Year a few years back. It was the first holiday celebration that we had after her dad died. She said that she really wanted to continue the tradition that we had before and I know soon we willbe able to celebrate it like how we used to before.

This year was just like any other day. We ate the foods from my dad's friend again who owns a restaurant. He sent us Chinese kikiam, lumpiang shanghai just like last Christmas but he also sent us beef curry and bistek tagalog (beef/pork steak simmered in soy sauce) and it was already our brunch. For snack, we just ate the left over lasagna and desserts. I didn't not had dinner because I was already full.

Instead of sleeping, I used that day to be more active though not physically but virtually. I read more than 10 articles that day. I also cooked another batch of lasagna sauces because the one that I cooked during December 30 would not be able to make a lot for our snack on January 2. We found out during the first day of the year that they would visit us. Aside from reading and cooking, I also walked around 3,000 steps that day. A good start of the year don't you think?

Come January 2, my brother's family visited us for a post new year's celebration. They brought samgyupsal sets from their store and we served our helper's beef caldereta and the lumpiang shanghai that I made. After my parents and I had breakfast, I was surprised that my dad took a bath. I thought that it was because of my brother's arrival but because he was going out. I did not know about it as I have only found out about it through our helper. She said that my dad kept on telling her the night before that he was going lut the following. I guess he just wanted to go out because it was still alert level 2.

We were all wearing green except for my dad. We had our photos taken again but I feel like my face was so sore. Plus, I was not able to cover my side belge when we were seated at the couch. LOL. After we had lunch, my dad left. I thought that he will cancel his plans but I was wrong.

I was not able to take a photo of the food but we had this. I love meat.

We were not able to bond that much with my brother's family because after lunch, I started assembling the lasagna with the help of my mom. While were at the kitchen, my godson went back and forth to the kitchen and living room. He is now tall that he kept on adjusting the refrigerator's temperature. He also helped me in stirring the white sauce that I reheated.

Very easy lasagna. You can check out the recipe on my Youtube channel: The Foodist Diary

From the kitchen, I can see that my brother and sister-in-law was busy. My brother was watching Netflix while my sister-in-law was in front of the laptop. I knew right away that she was working on something for their store.

When I was about to bake the lasagna, my brother order pizza from Pizza Hut. However, when it arrived, he noticed that the other box was not what he ordered. He was so dismayed that he immediately called the hotline and told them about it.  The agent said that they will call us in 15 minutes so we waited for 30 minutes. I was telling my brother that maybe the other box was also wrong and that he should have checked the crust but he didn't. We gor to eat our snack for early dinner. We waited long enough and did not got any feedback so we started digging. Then my guess was right. The crust of the other pizza was also wrong.

After an hour and a half, we got a call back and asked for my cellphone number as the branch will call me. After a few minutes, I got a text from the manager telling me that they were already preparing the pizza. I also told them that the other box of pizza was wrong. The manager asked for our exact address. We ordered it from Grab so I think they did not have access to our contact details unlike when you order directly from their hotline.

We actually wanted to let it slide but it had already happened once before. I think it was in 2020. That time we ordered through their hotline. We did not bother complaining because it was already past dinner time as the delivery took a long time to arrive.

After 20 minutes, our pizzas arrived. I asked the delivery rider if he wanted to check for the wrong order of pizzas but he said that he need not to. I even asked the rider if it was already the correct order with a smile on my face even when I was wearing a mask and he also answered yes with a big smile on his face. I trust that the store did not do anything with our food. I have worked a long time in food industry and I together with my past workmates never did anything gross to a food.

The top photos were the correct order.

I texted the manager that we already got the right orders and thanked them for reaching out to us and for carrying out the problem smoothly. The manager told me that the cashier made a mistake in punching the orders that is why all our orders were wrong. Honestly, we do feel bad for the cashier because I know that he/she will be charged for the wrong orders but it is a way for them to be cautious and to always, always check the orders. I also did had my fair share of those wrong orders and I just charge it to experience. An experience that I needed to pay with my own salary in order to learn from my mistakes. Not only did I feel bad for the cashier because of his/her charge but also because the manager put all the blame on the cashier. Yes the cashier is the one at fault because he or she was the one who punched the orders. But there is a process. Yes he or she punched it and the one that will be seen on the order slip is the one that they have punched but do they not check the items before they serve it? In a normal restaurant set up, the staff will take the order then the cashier will punch it before the kitchen cooks it. After that the dispatcher will check the orders versus the order slip before they will pass it to the server. And the server will then check the orders if it is right and complete. From there, you would have already checked the orders so you still have time to correcr the mistake. Different restaurants, different processes, different management and I know that. But for me, one mistake is the mistake of everyone not unless it was the one receiving the order was really at fault. For example, there was an order of pineapple juice yet you wrote down mango juice. From the start the problem was with you and you are solely responsible for the wrong order. This is why repeating a customer's orders is important.

Anyway, after we got the pizzas, my brother and his family went home and they are so lucky to take home those 2 hot boxes of pizzas plus the lasagna that I baked while we were left with a few slices of pizzas that was left from the wrong orders. I do not know when they will visit us again but now that we are already in alert level 3, have 20+ thousands of positive COVID cases and our subdivision will not allow any visitor to come inside, I felt really sad. It will be our dad's birthday next month and I want us to have another beautiful family portrait again.

New year just started and we got an increase in COVID cases already. I really hope that there will be an end to this pandemic.

January 03, 2022

P.S. lead image is our family photo from yesterday.

5
$ 2.57
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Blog, Journal, Life, 2022, ...

Comments

Daming foods! Sarap ng lasagna, di ko pa na try gumawa kc parang mahirap gawin haha! Try ko e check toh.. thanks! and Happy New Year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy New Year LykeLyca. 🥳🥳 yes, yes. Try mo gawin with other people parang yung pizza na ginawa niyo before. Promise, masarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano kaya lasa ng lasagna. 🤔 Hehe hindi pa ako nakatikim niyan sis. Mag 29 nalang ako this year pero andami ko pang hindi natikman na mga pagkain..Ansarap nung pizza, nakakatakam naman

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kailan birthday mo? Tiga saan ka? Hehe. Malay mo kung malapit ka lang pwede kitang padalhan lasagna sa birthday mo.

Yes, masarap nga yung pizza at nabitin ako. Gusto ko pa ng pizza actually. Hahaha. Hindi kasi kami hinatian ni Kuya doon sa 2nd set ng pizza. Daya..😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ang layo ko sis, nasa bandang ibaba ako ng mapa ng Pilipinas, hehe. Layo pa din Birthday ko, sa November pa yun

picture pa lang nung pizza sis, nakakatakam na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ibaba ng Pilipinas? Mindanao? Saan sa Mindanao? 😊 hahaha. Oo nga pala November yun yung nameet kita dito and nagstart ako magbasa articles mo. Masarap yung pizza. Gusto ko pa nga ulit eh. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe oo sis sa Mindanao. Hehe ang layo no? Sa Lanao del Sur sis...Hehe order ka pa ulit sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaso si Kuya nagbayad last time. Hahaha. Lanao del Sur. Noted diyan. I hope I can go there someday. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Libre ba yung mga pizzas? Or binalik? Yummy naman..namiss ko mag pizza

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup libre na yung 2nd set of pizzas. Bale ang tingin ko na babayaran nung cashier is yung unang set na dineliver if magkaiba yung price sa original order namin. Mas yummy sila Kuya kasi nauwi nila yung bagong deliver na pizza. Hahaha. Sa amin natira na lang few slices. Kasi di na namin nahintay if papalitan ba nila or hindi kasi almost 2 hours bago pa sila nagsabi na papalitan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oi lasagna beke nemen meron pa 🤤🤤 daming kaganapan sa inyo din 🥳

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di naman madaming ganap. Slight lang. Guato ko yung talagang may mga pa games and all. Hehe. Lasagna? Nakooo. Wala na. Ubos na. Picture na lang ang meron ako. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dayaaaa di pa ako nakakain nyan ata. Diko rin malalasahan kasi wala na sadya akong pang lasa pero me want to try pa rin 🤤🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhuhu. Itry mo pa din minsan kapag may Greemwich ka. May lasagna sila. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing pizza hut attended your concern immediately

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Though not immediately because it still took almost 2 hours before they have sent the correct pizzas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good that you were able to celebrate with the family, unfortunately about the pizza, what I understand is that when products are returned by mistake they are thrown in the trash.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup, that is also what we do in the restaurants that I have worked with in the past. We would throw away the food that was returned whether it has a hair or anything on the food. In our case, we have already eaten the wrong order before they could have replaced it because we have waited long enough until we got a call from the store.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi sis miss you! Sarap naman ng lasagna. Last Christmas and this new year's celebration may be the sincerest and frugal way of celebrating. Thus year we didn't mind what is on the table. Pero masarap tingnan ang lasagna huhu

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have missed you too. Kumusta? Anong nangyari? Ok ba kayo? I hope walang nasaktan sa inyo sa pinsala ni Odette.

Gawa ka minsan lasagna. Nasa Youtube channel (The Foodist Diary) ko yung recipe. Promise masarap. 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear! your family is lovely u are luck u have family 😊...but I'm an unlucky because I have no father and mother ... Happy for the 3rd day of new year may Allah bless you keep happy and safe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about that Zain-Bhatti. 😔 I am sure that no matter where your parents are now, they are always looking at you. They will and always be at your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right yes my parents will always see me i hope allah my parents will be in paradise and i pray for my parents that they go to paradise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure they will. By the way, are you a Filipino?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No no,I'm from Pakistan and I'm a Muslim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see. But you know how to speak Filipino?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No i only understand Urdu and English dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see. I thought you also speak Filipino because you have used some Filipino words on some of your comments. I apologize if I assumed wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No dear it's from Google translator I write and it convert

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. That is one of the positive effects of the internet. We get to communicate even more thanks to Google translator. Yes some may speak English but there are those who still have a hard time speaking and understanding it and the Google translator is our saviour. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah my dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago