My weight loss journey before

6 39
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Blog, Truth, Blogging

December of last year I started to monitor what I was eating. I kept track of my weight but I didn't exercise. You might probably be wondering why. I think it was in 2018 when I tried to jog when I suddenly felt that I was going to collapse. It was less than 2 minutes when I felt that weird feeling and so I decided to stop and sit for awhile. I had cold sweat even when I was already sitting so I decided to lay down. It was very alarming but I didn't take any action to change my lifestyle. 

Months have passed and it was only late last year when I decided to lose weight. I watched what I eat. I removed carbohydrates from my diet and just have protein, fruits and/or vegetables. 

Anyone familiar with a yoyo diet? It is a cycle of losing weight then gaining it back again which is a never ending cycle. I think I can describe my diet as like that although it takes year/s before I go back to my chubby state. LOL. 

Growing up I wasn't really chubby. I started becoming fat when I was already in high school upto college. After college, that is when I started to lose all those fats and weight. I think it was after 4 years when I became chubby again. Then lose few weights again after 6 years. Then after a year and a half I'm back to my chubby state again. See the pattern? Although I gained weight fast after the last one. 

First time to lose weight after college

Going back to now, because of my sedentary lifestyle, I keep gaining weight especially when we were under lockdown. My reason to my parents was that we needed to boost our immune system and not think of diet because of the virus. Such a lame excuse for me wanting to eat what I want whenever I want right? 

Chubby again after few years

So what happened to my diet late last year? I did last for months just before the pandemic started. I took pictures of what I eat in a day and posted it on Kiki. And January of this year I decided to start jogging for few minutes in a day but I think I only survived a day. LOL. I guess I still lack that strong motivation, proper mindset, dedication and inspiration.

Late June of this year I unexpectedly had an appendectomy (surgical removal of appendix) and salpingectomy (surgical removal of one fallopian tube). I was able to eat less prior to my operation and months after. Though it isn't that big of a progress because I am still chubby but I am happy that I can now control my hunger and cravings. 

I had a diet few years back where I only had to eat protein, mostly boiled chicken and eggs and boiled vegetables. To top it all off, I wasn't allowed to have any condiments or any salt or pepper to my meals. I wasn't also allowed to drink any other liquids other than water and the shake that comes with the diet program. I was also advised to drink plenty of water so everyday I challenged myself to drink 6L of water. I see to it that before I go home, I have to finish gallon of water that I have or else I would drink the remaining water the next day. I was able to do that for months and I really frlt good inside and outside. But I'm not really sure if drinking a lot of water is really good for us. My coach said that it was ok but my mom said that she read in one article that it is not advisable to drink more than 3L per day. If I were to follow another diet, I would want it to be this strict protein diet with lots of water. 

With controlled strict diet and exercise. I loved the results

During my controlled strict diet before, I was also active with lots of exercises. I did jog, squats, dumbbells, sit-ups and planking. I don't know why but I was so motivated back then maybe because our coach was to weigh me and my parents every 7-10 days. It came to a point that my weight have already plateaued but I still continued with diet and exercise. It really feels so good when you sweat all your fats and woes away. I exercised everyday either before ot after work. My day is incomplete without working out. 

2019 – look how big I am. Imagine how much more I gained during lockdown of 2020

Whenever I see my memories on Facebook when I was a little healthier and fitter, I really can't help but to miss those days. I wish I can go back to that time and still continued to be healthy and fit. I don't want to repeat the same cycle over and over again. Someone told me before that your diet is wrong if you keep losing and gaining weight. I think it is not the diet that is wrong but the mindset. I remember I used to tell myself before that I'll be able to lose weight even if I gain it back. But now I am really having a hard time especially that my metabolism is slowing down as I age. What do you think I should do? Someone also adviced me to do blood test diet. With so many diets, I don't know which one to follow. I know the 70-30 rule in food intake and exercise. I followed that rule before. 

I am actually open in trying ketogenic but I just don't have the budget for the ingredients used with that particular diet. I also wanted to try vegan but again I don't have the budget. Other than that, I still have little knowledge with both diets. 

I am thinking about losing weight again because it is going to be a new year in few weeks. I feel like it is one of the many things that I should also focus on because health is wealth right? We should really take care of our health and watch what we eat. For now I cannot say yet that this is my day one in my weight loss journey but one day I will really be back on my feet doing what I have done before to be fit and healthy. 

Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 10.93
$ 10.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mooontivated
$ 0.01 from @wonderer
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Blog, Truth, Blogging

Comments

Thanks for sharing, and I wish you all the best in your weight management journey!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you as well. Yes to fitness goals. I really hope I'll be able to accomplish it again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When people something decide, that's it. You can turn out from his way or journey. Now when someone has so very big wish and can't resist, we can't blame him. Everything will be as he said, just that someone need to keep his health in good condition.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree. Health is really wealth. We should really take lots of care.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was a great transformation :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the tip. 😊 yes it really was and I wish to do it again but I am really having a hard time. LOL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago