Job hunting (part 1)

10 38
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

When I was reading some of @Bjorn's articles this morning, I can't help but to look back on my past working experiences especially my struggles in looking for one. Since I have already talked about my fear of job interviews, panel meetings and public speaking, I might as well share with you my life after college.

Growing up, we have never experienced any hard labor as it was my dad who provided for our needs. I know I have already shared with you before that I did try selling pastillas when I was in elementary but it was only for a month since I also had a competitor after a week of doing business and our classmates were already fed up of eating pastillas everyday. After that, I didn't try to sell something else. That time I can already call it as hardwork because after school, I have to make pastillas to bring to class the following day. It was a labor of love especially I have to roll each pastillas and wrap them in cellophane papers individually. But of course I also had to cut each paper to make 100-200 pieces. My mom would help me but majority of the work was all mine.

Honestly when I was still a student, I cannot wait to grow up and find a job so that I can earn some money. But now I actually want to go back to being a student however not during this time of pandemic since I am not so techie anymore. I only know the basics when using a computer or a laptop and that is for Microsoft 98, 00, XP/Vista (I even forgot what Windows my laptop is. LOL). But yeah, I cannot wait for me to be out of school. Though after I have graduated from college, I didn't look for a job right away. Technically I finished school early because I was able to complete my practicum training in 2 months but we just requested the hotel if they can still allow us to go to our training even if we have already completed our training hours and they said yes. We were able to train for another month.

Some of our classmates waited for our graduation before they applied to work. Since most of us were able to finish our practicum training early, we waited 3 months for our graduation. 3 months is already enough to be idled right? I have one friend who was a bum for a year but he has been with his first company for more than 10 years. I admire people who stays longer in a company unlike me who tends to switch companies. That's why it was even harder to justify it with employers since I have been into 5 companies already. Though I was able to turn it into a positive especially my years of stay with the company was a year and more.

Well as for me just like the others, I applied right after I have graduated. That time it was not like how it was back in the days that you would go to each establishment to apply although you still can do walk in and go to job fairs but during our time it was already the days of online job board. I forgot who exactly introduced Jobstreet to me but I am pretty sure it was my college friends since our high school friends graduated a year after us. Perks of being on a trimestral. However I didn't get a call right away even if I have already applied to most of the positions on Jobstreet that was related to my field.

Not receiving a call or an invitation for interview means a lot of things and we shouldn't take it to heart. On my part honestly I was depressed especially when my classmates have already started with their requirements. I even asked them what restaurant or company they applied to and what questions were asked because I also wanted to apply there. It was actually more pressuring when one by one your classmates have already started working. Some of my friends have been absorbed in the hotel where they have had their practicum. No, they didn't have any backer. The chefs just liked how they work and luckily there were open positions that was available. So my friend A and I wouldn't tell our moms about our friends because we know that they will put more pressure on us.

Were you able to work right away after you've graduated? Or did you also decide to take a break because working is for the rest of our life and you deserve to take a rest before working? How many months did you rest? How were you able to deal when your friends have started working? Did your parents pressured you after you've graduated?

Anyhow, I think this is probably getting a little longer so I would have to continue this on my next article. Will try to remember more of my job hunting experiences.

P.S. my lead image is a screenshot from one of Jobstreet's random emails to me, some job recommendations. I have been getting emails from Lina since I registered through their portal years ago. I know there was even a joke regarding Lina especially when you feel like quitting your job. I forgot what it is but Lina as said in Jobstreet's website is a personal career agent who helps jobseekers in assisting them with their careers. I think majority of my emails were from Lina. LOL.

9
$ 23.55
$ 23.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Hmmm, after graduated, I waited for my classmates in Cebu to get hired first and they referred me. I was just making sure that everything is settled when I go there. It did but I resigned after almost a year. Di ko kinaya ang graveyard shift. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Minsan ganun talaga noh pinapauna mga friends. Ang saya kasi kapag kasama mo mga friends mo sa work. Parang lang nasa school pa din kayo iba nga lang set up. Hehe. Nangyari yan sa mga friends ko nung nagtayo ng business prof namin sa college. Kinuha yung ibang friends namin to handle the restaurant. Hindi ko pa naexperience working with my friends under 1 company. Ano feeling? 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masaya. May karamay ka. Di ka op sa ibang empleyado. Hahaha. Di ka rin aligaga. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Biglang nagflashback yung mga first day ko sa work. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow you just made an amazing post here that impressed the robot. thanks for the mention. Keep the spirit in writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should be the one to thank you kasi if not for you hindi ako makakaisip article. So thank you. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang makakasulat yata ako ng buong article sa mga tanong mo hahah! Anyway, sister ko mahilig rin mag switch2x ng company, ako kc pang matagalan hahah! Mahaba lang cguro pasensya ko. Kya sabi ko sa kanya, at least sana mka tagal nmn sya ng 2 years bago mag quit. Nung nkahanap na sya company na gusto nya nag pandemic nmn at un nag force resign kc hirap din sa manila ng walang pamilya at pandemic pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Yan din sinasabi sa akin nung isang college friend ko na sana naman daw makatagal ako ng 2 years or more. Pero in fairness meron ako napasukan na nakalagpas ako ng 2. Yun nga lang from franchised naging company owned na nirotate na ako sa ibang stores. Masaya kasi mas lalo ako nakilala at naging kaibigan kaso iba yung naging samahan namin nung franchised store pa.

Sana ako din nakakatagal sa company. Hehe. Kasi minsan kapag may nakikita na ako na mali, inaayawan ko na lalo kung from the upper management tapos dehado nga empleyado. Nyay. No way. Thank you na lang. Awww. Ok lang yan makakahanap din ulit kapatid mo ng company na magugustuhan niya kapag natapos na itong pandemya. Same goes for me. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ai uu ako rin nmn naiinis sa mga opportunistang kompanya but God is protecting me for sure kasi usually late ko na nalalaman or late na nangyayari, ung mga tipong nka 5 years na ako haha! Anyway, lets pray for that sana nga mkahanap na ulit kau but first sana matapos na si covid soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sana nga matapos na si COVID. Ako maaga namulat sa mga kalakaran sa food industry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago