Happy birthday, Mom

23 46
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Finally! After being stressed on what cake to give to my mom, I was able to make up my mind. I have shared before that one of my mom's favorite cake is Crema de Fruta from Goldilocks. Next to that is Conti's Mango Bravo. But before I have decided on the cake, I had missed my chance of the Php360 (almost $8) off discount from Grab yesterday. I was suppose to buy from one restaurant that we have eaten days before the pandemic started last year but I guess it was not meant to be.

So this morning I decided to buy from Conti's. Good thing that my mom was fixing herself when the cake was delivered. We immediately placed it on the freezer and I continued cooking the pancit canton. When my mom had finished, she kept on opening the refrigerator and I was afraid that she might find out my surprise but thankfully she did not.

Since my brother and his family would not be joining us because of the ECQ (Enhanced Community Quarantine), we have decided to have ala boodle fight themed party. We just ordered the food from one restaurant near our place. We found out about this through my cousin's wife. They have ordered from them a few months ago in their ParaΓ±aque branch. She told my mom that they have a branch in Quezon City and upon hearing that, she really wanted to try it right away for the next occasion. 2 occasions have passed and this time we were able to have ala boodle fight celebration.

What is a boodle fight? Boodle fight is what they say like a military style of eating. The food are arranged on top of the banana leaves with rice on the center and the dishes surrounding it. Most of the dishes are grilled, fried or boiled. If in case the food has broth, it has to be placed on a bowl. Here comes the best part, all are to eat with their bare hands or "kamayan" style. No utensils.

But because we were only 4 who celebrated my mom's birthday, we did not laid the dishes on banana leaves. We just served it in a bilao as how it was delivered to us. For me, boodle fight is great for 8 or more people. So we just had rattan plates with banana leaves on top to have that native feels.

Bilao boodle bundle. I also uploaded this on my noise.cash account

What is a bilao? According to tagaloglang's website, aΒ bilaoΒ is a flat round-shaped rice winnower, a traditional implement in the Philippines. It is usually made from woven wood. I am not sure if you have heard of it but our bilao became famous a few months ago when Pottery Barn sell it as a wall display art at a price of $299.

Going back to my mom's birthday, it was 11AM when my dad had said that he wanted to eat already. My pancit was not yet ready as he wanted it to be saucy. It was already saucy but it was not yet to the right consistency. We had no choice but to serve it since the boss said that he was already hungry. My mom had already set the table and I asked her to stand behind the table so we can take a picture of her with her food. I grabbed my phone and I asked if all the dishes were already on the table and she said that it was all complete and I took the cake out of the freezer and sang a happy birthday song while taking a video of her.

Actually, I just only said "haaaaaappy birthday" because she was really happy when she saw the box. She was really surprised and by the tone of her voice, she was about to cry so I stopped at the word "birthday" because I also felt like I was going to cry. Our helper and I sang when I was able to hand over the cake to her. Good thing I had that on video but I only started at the part when I came out with the cake. It could have been nice if I was able to capture the part where I asked her if all the dishes were complete. After we have eaten, my mom, our helper and I were talking about the surprise because it was like how some vloggers do when they surprise their loved ones. Plus the video really came out really good that I sent it right away to her sisters.

Noticed my mom's reaction? Priceless.

The reason why my mom did not expected the cake because she knew that the crema de fruta was temporarily phased out because of the ECQ. I mentioned it to her last Friday that I did not see her favorite cake in a lot of their branches since Wednesday. She called the branch near us and I called their delivery hotline. We both found out the reason why the product was unavailable. It made her sad and it made me stressed. LOL. I am just glad that I still bought her the cake even if it was thrice the price of what I should have been my gift. Nevertheless, it was really a good idea to buy her a cake.

After dinner, I asked my mom if she was happy and she said that she was. My heart melted.

Thank you, Lord for this day. To all the people behind read.cash and noise.cash, a big thank you. To all who reads, comments and upvotes my articles, thank you. Thank you also to those who greeted my mom. You all made me and most especially my mom so happy.

P.S. lead image was from today's event.

5
$ 3.88
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 4
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Wow so dami ng foods, hapi hapi birthday πŸŽ‚ to ur mom.. Natikman q n nga yang contis at masarap tlga so mahal lng dito kc inaangkat paπŸŽ‚πŸ²

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Baka after pandemic magkaron na din diyan. Noon kasi nung sila Conti pa yung owner ang gusto nila konti lang mga branches. Pero ngayon na iba na owner, nagbbranch out na sila kung saan-saan.

Pero gaano kamahal? Per slice or whole ba bentahan? Kasi mahal na siya talaga kahit dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun small size pa ata yun nsa 1,3 na kc inaangkat ng isang seller

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal nga. Parang konti na lang yung big size na. Pero ok na din kasi hirap din siya ibyahe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your mom! I also love Crema de Fruta and glad that you got one despite of the restrictions. She really look so happy in the photo! Priceless!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the birthday greeting. I got her a different cake because the Crema de Fruta was still out of stock. Priceless right? I am so glad that I got it on video even if it was a little blurry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We found out about this through my wife's cousin.

I didn't know you're married. I might have missed it in one of your posts or I wasn't paying attention lol!

Anyway, your mom's expression is priceless. Once can tell how happy she was even though it's blurred. Might be good ad for Conti's :D There are shops here who resells Conti's cakes but I haven't tried. Super belated happy birthday to your mom :D

I saw that news by Pottery Barn and me and my friends had a good laugh about that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. Natawa ako sa my wife's cousin. Epekto ata ng migraine. Baliktad. "My cousin's wife". Will edit later. Thanks for noticing about that. πŸ˜‰

Nagauto focus sa box ng cake kaya blurred siya. Kaya sa video blurred din. Nung di ko na hawak yung cake doon na hindi nagblur. In ehalf of my mom, thank you for the birthday greeting. You have to try thier cakes. It's really good.

Sa atin matatawa talaga tayo sa bilao kasi magkano lang yun. Pero in fairness ang ganda din naman nung kinalabasan. Kaso lang $299. Bibili na lang ako pancit may libre pang bilao. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Binalikan ko pa talaga un mga About You na articles mo pero wala talaga ako makita haha!

Okay nga sana kung un cake mismo at wala ung box. Kasi clear pa din naman na happy un expression ni mother.

Ah wait. Na try ko na pala haha! Nag order kami one time pala pero parang di nagregister sa akin un taste. Ma try nga ulit :D

True! Nakakatuwa na lang na maging ganun ka pricey un hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko rin naman napansin nung pinroof read ko.

Masarap din yung Limoncello Torte ng Contis. Parang naghahalong tamis at asim.

Ang dami tuloy meme nung bilao wall art. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your Mom. I saw how happy she was with your surprise. What a loving daughter you are.

Now it made me want to buy that cream de fruta cake. I haven't tasted that yet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sa pagbati Ate Judith. 😚 ang sarap nga iplay ng iplay yung video. Kaso nagaauto focus sa box ng cake kaya blurred siya. Pero yung expression talaga yun yung nakapagpatigil sa akin sa pagkanta. Hahaha. Muntikan na talaga ako maiyak nun.

Crema de fruta masarap siya. Sponge cake na may fruits and filling. Yung filling niya yung parang pastry cream sa mga cream puff at eclair. Baka meron sa inyo crema de fruta. Dito sa amin wala pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to your mom. And what a sweet kid you are. Your mom is blessed to have you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. 😊 yeah, ibbrag ko talaga na sweet ako. Hehe. Lalo sa taong hindi ako mahal. Chaaaar. Noon yun. Hahaha. Sweet nga ako pero hirap na hirap ako magsabi mga "I love you" sa magulang ko lalo kung kaharap. Hahaha. Sa text pwede pa. In person naku napakahirap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku. Hahaha practice na pero sabi nga nila, Action speaks louder than words

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ewan ko bakit parang napipipi ako. Pero kapag sa ibang tao or sa friends ko naman ang dali-dali ko lang sabihin. Yung bang walang awkwardness. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cheers to making our moms happy on their birthday! happy birthday!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the greeting. Cheers. πŸ₯° ang sarap sa feeling ng nakakapagpasaya ng tao lalo na ng magulang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true dear...keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, late akong babati peri HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR MOM πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ”₯πŸ’™πŸ€©. Halata ang saya nyaaa diko nakita poat mo kahapon sana naka lipad ako papunta jan para makikain ng handa huehue 🀧.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sa pagbati Ruffa. 😚 sana nga lumipad ka na lang kasi yung natira sa boodle bilao pwede pa pang isang tao tapos pancit meron pa din umabot pa hanggang Wednesday. Hehe. Pwede ka pa din lumipad ngayon kasi may cake pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday po sa mami mo. Na mimiss ko na mag boodlefight eh. Di kami makpag boodle dito sa amin haahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sa pagbati. πŸ₯° nakakatakot magboodle fight sa panahon ngayon. Saka na lang kapag wala na si COVID. Kasi paano kung asymptomtic? Hirap sumugal. Pero isa yang boodle fight na gusto gawin ng mga tita ko kapag magbalikbayan daw sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago